We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic hotel on the beach”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saquarema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort
Ranked #1 of 36 Saquarema B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“fantastic hotel on the beach”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

After a week in Rio we decided to seek somewhere more relaxed and found this hotel. An email to them confirmed they could accommodate us and arranged a local taxi to collect us. The journey was just under 2 hours from Rio city centre and a great drive and cost less that our original airport transfer!

It had a nice pool, good restaurant, bar area, lounge area and most of all the beach. The staff were very friendly. The rooms were nicely decorated, air conditioned.

Of particular note was the cleanliness of the hotel and grounds. The staff were constantly keeping the area clean and tidy.

We had a fantastic week and would go again in an instant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graeme J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    47
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
50
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is a very nice place with a family-friendly, upmarket feel, right on Itauna beach with its own bar, restaurant and pool. The rooms were clean and tidy, bed v comfortable, and there were absolutely charming staff who booked bus tickets for us, and patiently let us talk in our terrible Portuguese (even though their English was excellent)hnd made us feel welcome and at home.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 64Travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My wife and I have stayed in numerous small, privately-owned hotels around the state of Rio de Janeiro over the last decade and this one is by far our favorite. From the moment you pass through the front gate, you feel like you have stepped into a peaceful, cool oasis. The property is lushly landscaped, with buildings done in a soothing mix of whitewashed walls, dark-stained woods and dark grey paving stones. The reception area and lounge are cool and breezy, opening onto a raised, grassy area in front of the beach with tables and chairs which is bookended by the restaurant and bar. Our room, on the second floor of the garden wing, continued the white, dark brown, and dark grey themes, with a vaulted ceiling and a skylit bathroom. The furnishings are simple but tasteful, with modern fixtures in the bathroom. There was a quiet split-style air conditioner, an adjustable ceiling fan, and a flat-screen television with DVD player. Dark brown shuttered doors opened onto a balcony overlooking the lushly landscaped swimming pool area ands its soothing waterfall. One of our favorite things to do at the Maasai is to sit on the deck by the bar sipping a caipirinha while watching the the sun set over the beach, with its striking vista of the colonial church perched on a rocky promontory extending out into the ocean. At night, the grounds are tastefully lighted to permit continued enjoyment of the landscaping. The food in the hotel restaurant is good and the menu surprisingly diverse, and there are also several other decent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel (our favorite being Casa da Praia, a converted beach-front house featuring grilled fresh seafood about 2 blocks away). The staff are friendly and helpful, though Portuguese is a must. The Maasai is not a Club Med or a Park Hyatt -- it is, though, unlike most small, privately-owned hotels around Rio, a place where the owners work hard to get the details right and provide a comprehensive hotel experience. Note, as well, that Saquarema is not Buzios with a chic shopping/dining downtown area and dozens of beaches to choose from -- it's just a quiet, small beach town with surfer's vibe, in our minds, the perfect place to spend a few days just relaxing and enjoying the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wwpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Stay here if u want a good standard hotel right by the beach in Saquarema, for surfing, sun, or just some nice not-so-crowded time off busteling Rio. A safe choice you wont regret but a bit pricy. Unless your all about location - then it`s definitely worth every penny.

Maasai is probably one of the best choices in Saquarema. nicely decorated in African (Maasai style). The most expensive rooms face the beach and the cheeper ones the pool and parking-lot area (a quite nice parking-lot though) Mind - though it sounds very nice with beach front balcony they also face the restaurant and bar, so it might be just a bit noisy, especially during the weekends in high season, but things tend to close up not to late.

The hotel have a smal and nice pool where you can lie in the sun, but the beach should be the preferred choice when in Saquarema. At least for sun bading. For swimming or a chill cool of the pool is the best choice due to the big waves and following currents. And thats one of the main reasons to go to Saquarema and stay at the Maasai. It`s location is at one of the prime surf-spots in Saquarema. Sun, beach and surfing is all what Saquarema is about. The hotel have a few sun-beds at the beach, not many so bring a something to lie on if u wanna tan on the beach. For the size of the hotel it has a quite big reception area where it`s cosy to hang out in the evening.

All rooms come with A/C, toilet, shower hot and cold water, TV, and a small minibar/refrig. so that u can cool of your own water (beer) if u like.

Though Maasai mostly hosts locals its run by a swede. The local staff speak little english so that might be a bit of a challenge but this is the way in most hotels, bars, stores, et.c in Saquarema. But dont worry, it works out well.

The breakfast is simple, but it`s not to bad. Always a good choice of fresh fruits. The restaurant is good. And the menues are now also translated into english.

How to get here:
You can reach it by a 20-30 min walk from the busstation along the Av.Oceanica. It`s almost at the end of the road and not very hard to find.

Maasai accept most major credit cards.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank torddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We are from Amsterdam the Netherlands and we have been going to brasil since 1988 and are staying each and every year from december till january and the last weak from april and the first weak of may at this hotel.
It is splendid relaxing you have got everything.
As you know this is an warm country witch causes to have a problem with muscitos.
But you have got an remedy for it.
The last time we have been there was last year in april/may and we have got the pleasure in buying an house but still visiting the people who work there and laying on the beach at the Maasai.
You can do everything at this hotel during the year.
If you want to relax you can do that but if you want it to have a lot of fun you can do the same but in Februari then it is carnaval and this is great.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank porto980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

This review covers our experience at Hotel Maasai and Saquarema in general. My husband and I spent 3 nights at Pousada Maasai in September 2010 during our honeymoon in Brazil. We prepaid for all of our accommodations. Upon arriving to the hotel we were shown a selection of rooms and told we could have our choice. After choosing our room, we settled in. We were surprised to open the fridge in our room to find old food and a half eaten chocolate popsicle. There were many bugs in the room. The TV broke the first night. At 5 AM in the morning fireworks were going off right outside our room. They lasted an hour. It was so loud it sounded like gunfire right outside our window. Because of our TV breaking, the staff moved us to another room, where we spent the next two nights. The new room also had many bugs. The waterfall at the pool was out of service. The sauna was not working and the internet was down. Our last evening at Maasai we were heading out to dinner when the front desk girl told us we needed to check out. We were handed a bill for 400 Real and told that we were upgraded at a cost. We were never told in advance that the room they put us in was more than what we prepaid for. After my husband was on the phone with an engish speaking manager for over an hour, we missed our dinner (the restaurant has closed). The manager threatened us and told us that if we didn't pay that they had "different ways of handling things in Brazil." We eventually checked out without an upcharge, hungry and unsettled. I spent the night scared we were going to be murdered, not an exaggeration.

Also, as a warning to travelers to Saquarema in September, the town is dead. There were two beach restaurants open. Most hotels were closed and we were the only people staying at our hotel. The beach is very dirty and there are dead penguins washing up all over the place. There is graffiti everywhere in the town. The water is too rough for swimming and very cold. And if you came to surf, good luck finding a surf shop. The surf school was empty and abandoned. This is NOT the "surfing capital of Brazil" as lonely planet quotes. If you are looking for good waves, head to Itacare. We had an amazing time there and the town was lively and fun even in the off season with a great culture for surfing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAYULITASALIDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Chilled out....lovely people.......good food......shame about not having a menu in english!!
Atmosphere is nice and relaxed...views are out of this world!
Its definitely a day place....beach...surf....walks....at nite its quiet!!

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mabel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saquarema hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel & Pousada Laje de Itauna
0.8 mi away
Pousada das Garcas
Pousada das Garcas
#2 of 36 in Saquarema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Itauna Hostel
Itauna Hostel
#3 of 38 in Saquarema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Pousada Catavento
Pousada Catavento
#3 of 36 in Saquarema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Fazenda Sitio Nosso Paraiso
4.1 mi away
Pousada Pratagy
Pousada Pratagy
#9 of 36 in Saquarema
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort

Property: Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort
Address: Travessa Itauna 17 | Praia de Itaúna, Saquarema, State of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Saquarema
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Saquarema
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Maasai Hotel Beach & Resort Saquarema, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing