We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great litttle traditional pub very friendly.”
Review of The Dolphin Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Dolphin Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Kingston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Stayed here on business for one night. Very friendly staff and friendly pub atmosphere that you don't get that in a Brewers Fayre or other larger pub chain. Food was reasonably good value, excellent breakfast (all cooked to order, not out of a bag like some of the larger pub co. ,as already mentioned). Accommodation was clean but quirky, what else do you expect when you are in the sticks. It was nice to stay somewhere different than a Travel Lodge or Premier Inn. Local beers were really nice, Ijust wish I could remember what they were. The atmosphere in the pub was great and really good crowd in for a quiz night. Recommend a visit to support a great local pub.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FarmerGiles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited this place with high hopes. The pub is cosy and the welcome was warm and friendly. Beer was very good. Unfortunately the food was a big disappointment. The chef recommended their pie of the week, which was chicken and ham and we greatly looked forward to trying it.

The pie was average and far too dry. The chips were frozen ones and also served with frozen peas!

A bit more thought and effort in presentation would produce happier customers.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank extra_strong_mint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed here and i was not happy with my stay i was expecting a nice modern, clean flat but it was far from it. Do not believe everything you see in picture. I stayed in flat 3 and it stated we had a dvd player but it was broke when we got here the flat was dirty and falling to pieces. If your going to stay here. Ask for flat 1 as it looks modern and clean. But on the upper hand their was two good points. We got a warm welcoming and it is close to everything you need. All it needs is a bit TLC

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keethsmeeth12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Dolphin Inn is an old, original Devonshire Inn. It has very friendly locals, welcoming hosts and a superb chef.
It is very small but cute! There are three double B and B rooms (all en suite). The rooms are clean and have everything you would need including very comfy beds.
The food in the Inn is superb. Full English breakfasts with locally sourced ingredients and a very extensive Dinner menu which is more a la carte than pub!
Kingston is a small village and the narrow lanes can be a challenge but for peace and tranquility you can't beat it.
We visited Dartmouth, Salcombe and Totnes during our four day stay and enjoyed all these very diverse towns.
I will definitely be paying a return visit.

Room Tip: Only three to choose from so doesn't really apply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foreveryoung62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently stayed overnight while working in the area. Excellent food, good priced room, lovely traditional feel and very friendly locals. Room had character and was immaculately clean. Would definitely stay here for pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Always one of the best spots in the South Hams, quiet garden, good pub grub, sensibly priced and whenever we've been, quiet or busy, the staff are genuinely friendly and chatty.
A good start or end to one of the many walks in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank henspeckled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

My husband, lab Roxy and I visit Kingston once or twice every year and have been going for the last 8 yrs. On our very first visit we were warmly welcomed as was Roxy. It is a very traditional English pub with low door ways, beams and fireplaces. A wide selection of Ales and local brews and amazing food. For such a tiny kitchen they really do manage to produce some outstanding dishes. The moules mariniere are some of the best we have had and the numerous fish dishes we have had there have been fresh and tasty. We feel like regulars after so many years and are always greeted warmly by the land lord and lady and the local people, some who are now friends. Though we normally rent a cottage in the village as we prefer the freedom it offers, I would definitely consider staying at the Dolphin for a long weekend break. There is a pleasant pub garden to enjoy sunshine whilst supper a cold cider. Roxy gets spoilt as much as us with the locals petting and making a fuss of her. Hoping to go back again later this year, our week in June already seems a distant memory.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexDontony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Inn

Address: Kingsbridge Road | near Kingsbridge south devon, Kingston TQ7 4QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Kingston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range: £80 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dolphin Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
16TH Century Inn nestled in the village of Kingston near the Erme Estuary and Bigbury Bay an area of outstanding natural beauty, with walking, golf and surfing. The Dolphin Inn accommodation comprises of four letting rooms all ensuite, with wireless connectionall very comfortable offering tranquility. Staff and owners are very warm and welcoming. offering home cooked food using local produce when possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Dolphin Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dolphin Inn Kingston, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing