We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good hotel”

Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Speicher
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a nice stay in this hotel during our trip to Switzerland. Located in a small village just outside of Saint-Gallen, it is a nice base to visit the region. The hotel might need a new coat of paint on the outside to give a better first impression but the rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. Hotel to be recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here two nights in what was probably a somewhat slack season, but loved it. The room was immaculate and charming. The attached dining room is comfortable and serves a great assortment of regional specialties: all of them good. However, it is the staff and the proprietors that really make the place special. It has a very friendly and warm atmosphere that makes an enjoyable stay, even more special. Would live to come back someday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

I've visited St Gallen twice. The first time I stayed in the city, the second time in this hotel. The great advantage of staying in the hotel is that you have some idea of the wonderful location of St Gallen, among the beautiful scenery of Appenzellerland. You can also park here and take the train into St Gallen (every 20 mins) and on the way you'll see the lake and some of the scenery. There are beautiful drives as well as a network of trains. The hotel is quite traditional and simple; the food is excellent and the wines are very interesting indeed. We really appreciated the friendliness of the hosts - it is a family-run hotel - who were welcoming, informative without being intrusive. A great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baribegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed in the hotel 3 nights while attendin a conference in St. Gallen. The hotel is an old construction with old decor, small rooms and not too many updates. My room overlooked a school yard.
The restaurant serves home style delicious meals and the staff were very friendly.

In summary: has some potential but needs renovations.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNMtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri City, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012 via mobile

My 77 year old mother with roots in the Appenzell region enjoyed a terrific stay at Hotel Appenzell. The rooms are well appointed with great marble bathrooms. Hotel has an authentic feel, with just enough comforts of home. The staff were AMAZING! They are helpful, knowledgeable, and make sure guests needs are met and expectations exceeded. The breakfast was delicious. Dining at the cafe for supper was fantastic - fresh, healthy, yet delicious choices. I would highly recommend Cafe Appenzell as the place to stay when visiting the region.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beccaboo67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Friends have offered us a discovery voucher (Smartbox-tables&saveurs). Of all the places offered, my wife picked the Appenzellerhof, because of location, and cuisine. She was right, we railed it to St.Gallen, spent the afternoon shopping and visiting the city, then hopped on the regional train to Speicher, that itself was a great ride, scenic, smooth and fast (swiss style). The hotel is 3min away from Speicher's railway station, on foot. We have been welcomed, and checkin procedure was minimal, swift and informative. We were led to one of the 19rooms, that had everything needed : comfortable beds, bathroom with shower, TV/safe, WiFi is also available (ask reception for code), you may want to ask for a room on the quiet side of the building(the road can be noisy). Our evening meal was great, everything served was local, organic, and had a real flavor. Their professionalism will include asking you if there is anything that you do not eat (in case you opt for a suprise menu), think of allergies or just stuff you do not like. Prices are within the range you would expect for the level of service and quality. The people make the difference, and all staff was really trying hard to make our stay a nice experience, with a result : we had a very nice time.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room on the other side of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyJohnNeuchatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We had a simple and clean room in the new part of the building. It was facing the main street but during that night there was not too much traffic.
We enjoyed a great dinner and the next morning a breakfast with a hugh variation of bread, cheese and jam.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank powderSnow_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Speicher
0.2 mi away
Gasthaus Krone Speicher
Gasthaus Krone Speicher
#1 of 2 in Speicher
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Heiden
Hotel Heiden
#1 of 1 in Heiden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Appenzell
Hotel Appenzell
#3 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#4 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
5.6 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
Hotel Hecht Appenzell
#1 of 16 in Appenzell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof

Property: Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
Address: Hauptstrasse 6, Speicher 9042, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Speicher
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Speicher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof Canton Of Appenzell/Speicher, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing