We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice Hotel, but middle Class”
Review of Hotel Heiden

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Heiden
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiden
Certificate of Excellence
Irdning
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice Hotel, but middle Class”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We could stay 2 days at the Hotel Weiden,
of course a nice Hotel, but for Businesstrips not the best.
Many oderly people are there for recreation and Wellness, the area Weiden
is really nice if you look for absolute SILENCE.

The rooms in first floor were very warm inside, due to the heated wellness below,
so you have to open the terasse door, and you hear the Church Bell ringing all full hours...
Dont forget, you are in the Swiss Alps!

In the room were some Spidernet on the ceiling, the rooms would need some
new touchup, but again, mostly people +70 are there for recreation.

The wellness area is absolute perfect, also the Sauna area or jaccuzi outside!

Room Tip: take higher floor, not to have a too hot room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthias L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    81
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
80
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I headed off for a two day - recover from family Christmas - break. If you are expecting luxurious surroundings , sumptuous rooms you will be disappointed but if you want a classic swiss Kur Ort experience you will love it. The place is incredible clean and yes just a bit clinical. The spa is well appointed. The restaurants are excellent and the staff are helpful and friendly. You get charged for parking but the internet is free. Value for money is a hard one. By English standards the hotel is incredibly expensive. By Swiss standards it is about what you would expect to pay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Imagine in your head, what images you think a cross between The Prisoner, a Dignitas Clinic and a sterile Heath Spa smelling of chlorine and light sulphur might conjure up in your head. Imagine the rooms, the ambience. Imagine your bedroom. And the sterility of it all. Even down to the staff.

You have probably quite accurately imagined this place...

No car park (only for VVIP, reserved by cone). You park on the street with meters parking.
Welcome like I felt I was entering a hospital.
Sterile room ( by the way, 2 star not 4)
Single bed ( I felt I was 12 all over again)
No soap (bring your own)
Minbar - all kinds of water but this is a healthy hotel so just one small bottle of beer
Minuscule pillow ( it's a Spa place, you must suffer pain for gain)
Lousy TV channels ( but it's a Spa place you should be in bed by 20.00)
Bad nights sleep
Poor breakfast
Top dollar cost
Poor value for money
Sterile staff

Your choice if you book but my view is that it's aimed at those who want Spa treatments. If you're a vacationer to see the area, or a business traveller, I suspect it is unlikely to tick many of your boxes.....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simon d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-heiden1, Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Sir
We thank you for taking the time to evaluate our hotel. We very much regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your criticism helps us improve our services. Allow us to adress some of the points of criticism:
- You stayed in a room which was renovated in January 2013. (See our website.)
- All our single beds have a width of 120cm to 160cm.
- All rooms have liquid soap, shower gel, shampoo and body milk.
- We have over 37 TV channels.
- Parking: Yes, on the day of your arrival we had a large conference and all our parking places
were occupied. This is why we had to reserve street parking for you.

As mentioned, we are taking your criticism seriously and will critically scrutinize each point.

Sincerely,
Caspar Lips, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed there for one night at the occasion of a good friend's wedding in a nearby top notch restaurant. First of all, you cannot drive up to the front desk because of some local market (they did not notably not think of raising their voice so that guests would be allowed to do so). This is totally unacceptable. My wife and I, already dressed in exclusive evening-gown, had to walk past the crowd. That is THE absolute no-go. Room: small, too hot, no A/C (and it was not summer). Curtains that do not blind. TV from the 1970s, two small beds, Phone wake-up call system that does not work. Noisy building. Staff starts to move furnitrue at 9am and start knocking on your door before 10am (ridiculous given check-out is 11am). Bathroom amenities below standard and no decent possibility to hang a evening dress and a smoking.So what would you expect to pay for this? Probalby CHF 100 for the room? No, no. You pay CHF 153.00 per Person for the room. I can go anywhere in this world, including places like Moscow or Tokyo, and get 5-star accommodation for a good discounted rate for this. Now comes the best part: they had an agreement with the restaurant where the wedding party was and, consequentially, gave us 10 francs discount. Honestly, such a tiny discount is an offense rather than a good rate. I am - as a swiss citizen - deeply disappointed that our country still has these kind of players in the tourism industry. I am sorry and feel I have to apologize for such pricing. It is outrageous and not acceptable. With such hotels, I have no more optimism for our tourism industry. Notably, their complaining is also constant but I would strongly suggest revisiting the business and pricing model together with an adequate international product benchmark might help. The fact that people compare today might not interest them either. Maybe one day, when all these places are out of business, things will change. My advise to the dear reader of this review: stay away from this place. If it is full, take a taxi to St. Gallen. Might cost nearly the same but I don't think you'll be getting worse accommodation anyhwere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel-heiden1, Manager at Hotel Heiden, responded to this review, 26 May 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. RHW,

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of the shortcomings you experienced. We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with significant aspects of your stay and sincerely apologise for this. Since we constantly strive to improve our quality, we are grateful for your feedback. We assure you that we have already implemented verifiable measures in response to your criticisms.

In terms of problems you experienced gaining acces to the hotel on the Saturday, we knew that the long-established annual market would be taking place on the acces road. We therefore informed you by e-mail 3 days before your arrival that you would only be able to acces the hotel on foot. However, I fully appreciate that this was not an agreeable experience in an evening gown.

I should like once more to express my apologies. Thanks not least to your criticisms and the measures we have implemented in response to these, we shall continue to be successful in and on the market.

Yours sincerely,
Caspar Lips, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Heiden is an Appenzeller hill town which was rebuilt in the Biedermeier style after the fire of 1838. Its white walls and red roofs seen against the Lake below are uniquely beautiful. The hotel's restaurant, lounge and northfacing rooms all have a panoramic view of a 25 mile stretch of this lake through windows that are always clean; the German 'Riviera' towns can be seen on the other side. The leafy terrace cafe is very popular especially when the cool pure evening air for which Heiden is famous takes over from summer heat. The staff are mainly Swiss, welltrained, effective and friendly; key staff speak English. The restaurants have a GaultMillau rating of 13, the half board menu changes every day. The spa facilities are modern and comprehensive; the 'thunder and lightning' shower is an amazing experience. St Gallen with its high quality fashion shops is halfanhour away on mountain roads by PostAuto: modern doubledeckers, four per hour, highly recommended: you don't have to drive or park and watching the scenery and the roads from the upper deck is very interesting...With the variety of walks in the hills around and the support from the transport system and backup from the hotel (even a free computer terminal in the lounge for Test Match scores), it is a great place to recharge your batteries. And when I compared the bill with the one I received from a similar English hotel in the countryside near a lake, I found that the Swiss bill is one third cheaper even with the Swiss franc at 1.60 to the £.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This is a wellness hotel, and therefore has unusual features such as crutch holders adjacent to most tables. Lots of people getting around on crutches. They have daily exercise programs posted in the elevator. Clearly skews old. I suspect that there is a mineral bath somewhere around, although I didn't see it myself. That said, it has exceptional views of Lake Constance (German: Bondensee) from the rooms on that side of the hotel. There is no train service there, but they do have a trolley stop within 150 meters that ends up at a train station. As for the hotel, it's pretty rudimentary. No air conditioning, which is not surprising but nevertheless was a bother on the stifling hot days we were there. I didn't pay myself as I was a guest of my hosts, but I got the feeling it was pricey. In-room TV's but while there is no in-room internet, there is a computer with internet connection in the lobby. In short, not exceptionally good, but not bad either.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Heiden
2.3 mi away
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
Hotel Schloss Wartegg
#1 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
158 reviews
4.9 mi away
Idyllhotel Appenzellerhof
9.9 mi away
Romantik Hotel Santis
Romantik Hotel Santis
#2 of 16 in Appenzell
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
Best Western Hotel Rebstock
#2 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
106 reviews
1.9 mi away
Schloss-Hotel Wartensee
Schloss-Hotel Wartensee
#3 of 3 in Rorschacherberg
77 reviews
7.6 mi away
Einstein St.Gallen Hotel Congress Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Heiden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Heiden

Property: Hotel Heiden
Address: Seeallee 8, Heiden 9410, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Appenzell > Heiden
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heiden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Heiden 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being a guest at our hotel means one thing above all – enjoyment all day long! A stay at Hotel Heiden is an experience for all senses. Enjoy the culinary highlights of our outstanding regional cuisine, the relaxing atmosphere of our hotel, the wonderful panoramic views far over Lake Constance, the stillness of each new day and the scents of the nearby forests and meadows. Immerse yourself in an Appenzellerland idyll.We look forward to welcoming you to your "home from home"! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HRS, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Heiden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing