We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more!”
Review of Hotel Aurora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Aurora
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Alba di Canazei
Certificate of Excellence
Velika Gorica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expected more!”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We just came back from Canazei, where my girls competed in figure skating competition. After reading reviews I expected far more from the hotel. It is is 3 star, but I would give it 2 star. First, we were supposed to get a better rate due to competition, and that is what lady in the hotel through mail promised. But then when we checked the price that was stated in the room, we realized we got charged the full rate, or they did not update the list in the room. Then, the towels in the room were so old, and all different. We had 4 bedroom and the room was small, with twin bunk bed pulled from the wall. The top bed had a barrier against fall, and it was not stable, it fell once. As far as breakfast, there was only meats, cheeses, bread, and hard boiled eggs, nothing amazing. Coffee is from the Nescaffe machine. Also, the parking has only few spaces, not enough for entire hotel. Another thing that was annoying is that walls are so thin, that you can hear someone knocking to the room few rooms away. The room for the skiis is a great plus, and bus stop to Canazei ski place is close by, but then Alba is so small, that all bus stops are near by. I plan to go there again, since ski place is absolutely amazing, but will not stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms facing road, since it is very loud late at night and in the morning if you like s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teresa C, Proprietario at Hotel Aurora, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Miss Roberta,
we thank you for your feedback that you left for our hotel.
I find myself disagreeing though with some comments that you made .
Ours is NOT a 3 star hotel as maybe you were searching for. We are actually a 2 star hotel with many features and services that you find in a 3 star hotel. I am sorry that you were expecting more . Usually our guests are very satisfied with what we offer . Our buffet breakfast, besides what you mentioned, offers also 4 different kinds of cereal, yogurt, homemade cakes, cookies, juice, milk jam, chocolate and fresh fruit.
As far as price is concerned , your rate was preferential due to Skating Competition. You paid an average of 36 euro a day bed and breakfast while normal price , considering the Easter weekend is of 45. I also offered dinner for the small difference of only euro 13.50 per person a day which included a 3 course meal with salad buffet and dessert (which you denied) . It is hard to find elsewhere a complete dinner and of very good quality for that price!
I am sorry that our hotel wasn't up to your level and expectations . Our main objective is to provide a clean, homely atmosphere , kindness and very good food ! Best regards. Teresa Rosa - Manager Hotel Aurora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    142
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
199
149
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Krakow, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed there one week in march 2013.
Advantages:
1. Good location - about 1,5km from center of Canazei, next to free skibus stop.
2. Very nice and helpful staff.
3. Fantastic local food !!
4. Rooms are well equipped and clean but not modern.
5. Sauna and wellness area
6. Boxes for ski equipment

We strongly recommend this place ! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcinKrakow_Poland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed in Aurora hotel for one week at the end of February. The hotel is perfectly located, away from Canazei of 2-3km, right in front of hotel there is a ski bus which will take you whereever you want in Val di Fassa. Ski region is perfect! We had a nice room with balcony and beautiful mountain view. The owners treated us very well, they were present at all times, and were pleased to help with everything. Also very friendly staff. The food was amazing, every day we had a choice of various,local, delicious meals. There was a sauna and steem room. Every room has dedicated locker for ski equipment. There is a small car park next to hotel, but a minute walk you can also park your car for free. In general I recommend this hotel because definitely you will rest there and forget about daily duties.

Room Tip: It's better to get the room at 1st or 2nd floor because the elevator works only at these floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexAndriA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La California, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We spent a week at Hotel Aurora in early September for a cycling trip. The owners, Terry and Ugo and their lovely children, made us feel like we were at our home away from home. Our room was clean, quiet, and well maintained and offered a breath-taking view of the mountains. The food was excellent and plentiful, and we were even treated to a special Ladin dinner one night! The hotel is ideally located just outside of Canazei, which is an easy walk along a beautiful pedestrian walkway. For cyclists, the hotel offers all the amenities of a "bike hotel": secure storage, laundry, and most importantly, local knowledge from Terry and Ugo who are both avid cyclists and outdoorsmen. All of our concerns and questions were addressed immediately in a friendly and helpful manner. All the family speaks excellent English but they are also quite patient if you want to practice your Italian.

Room Tip: Upper story with balcony and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brucken, de
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Both my wife and I sneezed and coughed all night from dust or lint or ??? In and around the bed. I am asthmatic and couldn't stay there again.

The breakfast was good, dinner not so good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank mrkip1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

If you are looking for a simple, clean hotel in the Dolomites with very friendly service, then I strongly recommend Hotel Aurora. It is also a great location if you have come for hiking in the Dolomites. There are two lifts within an easy (less than 15 minute) walk and there are also local bus stops close by. Those lifts, which I highly recommend you use, will get you up to great spots from which you can undertake a variety of hikes. The owners of the hotel, Terry and Ugo, gave us great advice every evening or morning on what our next hike should be and they can supply you with a decent map. Terry also gave us great advice on buying a discount pass for the lifts and local bus service and supplied us with the bus schedule. Good maps are also available at the local TIs or at rifugios along the hiking trails, and I recommend you get one (but the one from Hotel Aurora was sufficient). The rooms and beds are simple, so some people might want a higher level of luxury, but I thought it was just fine for a retreat in a European mountain village. The bathroom and shower were new and everything works just fine. Also had a tiny balcony with a place to dry clothes. We took the halfboard arrangement, which supplies breakfast and dinner every day. I thought that was the smart choice. After a tough day on the hiking trails, going out to find a restaurant was not very appealing. The meals give you plenty to eat and the food was pretty good -- I'm a pretty tough food critic and I would say the dishes ranged from mediocre to excellent and generally pretty good. The food was especially good on their special Ladin dinner, which they do once a week. (For you foodies/hikers or bikers out there, the best I had was at Rifugio Frederich August which is near where the Campitello lift lets you out -- time it to have lunch there). Also, the servers in the hotel dining room are very nice and the owners of the hotel will come and chat with you during the mealtimes -- very nice and welcoming. They have parking right there at the hotel although I think I used the car only once or twice during five days there because of the nearby lifts and bus pass.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerBobDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We were lucky enough to be able to travel to Hotel Aurora in May this year after staying there 2 years ago. We were once again made so welcome by the staff and enjoyed our stay immensely. We were travelling in a party of eight and appreciated having such a gourmet restaurant with non-gourmet prices at the hotel after a long day of site-seeing. We stayed for 3 days but wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: We have requested both times a room with a balcony which has been great and we choose to stay in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alba di Canazei
0.1 mi away
Albergo Villa Adria
Albergo Villa Adria
#6 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Wellness
Hotel Villa Rosella Park & Welln...
#10 of 14 in Alba di Canazei
113 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alla Rosa
Hotel Alla Rosa
#2 of 51 in Canazei
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Al Sole Hotel Club Residence
1.9 mi away
Wellness Hotel Lupo Bianco
1.2 mi away
Hotel Cristallo
Hotel Cristallo
#12 of 51 in Canazei
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aurora

Property: Hotel Aurora
Address: Via Costa 240, 38030 Alba di Canazei, Canazei, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Canazei > Alba di Canazei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#2 Family Hotel in Alba di Canazei
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alba di Canazei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aurora 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Aurora is located in the heart of the Dolomites and is a perfect location for winter and summer sports and outdoor activities. We provide a family atmosphere with warm and friendly staff, excellent food and rooms with all necessary comforts. Small but cozy wellness with steambath and sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Aurora Alba Di Canazei
Hotel Aurora Canazei, Italy - Alba Di Canazei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing