We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view but deserted area”
Review of Hotel Seeburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Seeburg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ringgenberg
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking view but deserted area”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

we were here for 3 nights. We got down at Interlaken OST and then took a bus n reached ringgenberg post in next 7-10mins. there is a board guiding down d slope for the hotel. It was 10mins walking on downhill. Very deserted even in the evening. However, on reaching there we were taken aback with the view. Simply heaven. We recieved a very warm welcome by a young lady. We prefererred to spend our eve their itself. Was bit dissapointed with the bed as i had requested for large double bed wherein they gave us two single beds and could not upgrade us. apart from that room was spacious n clean. Loo was very small, which is quite common in europe. Everyday our room was cleaned. Bfast was rich and we enjoyed it. However, the only problem with this hotel was that since we had to go to interlaken during the day, so we had to be very particular about the timing of the bus or train which brings you to ringgenberg. If u miss one then waiting can be for another hour(which happened with us) and u wont feel safe coming at night to the hotel as its too deserted and ltl graveyard on the way can give u creeps. However, the staff was very warm and used to chit chat with us. We used to spend late eve sitting in front of lake, which used to be very relaxing. somebody who can spend more can go for lake view(and those rooms are bigger as well with tv). While going back we had to carry our luggage up the slope which was really challenging n left us breathless. So i would suggest this hotel for ppl with not too much of luggage and who would prefer serenity over the hustle bustles of interlaken. Aslo food at the hotel is very expensive, however they allow u to use the kitchen for heating your ready to eat foods.

Room Tip: Room with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaibhav24_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    23
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
39
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We chose this hotel based on reviews and because the hotel we stayed in in town didn't have three night available, so we stayed here for our third night.

Getting there: getting to Ringgenberg is easy - there is the train, bus, and boat stop. During the day, the train stops every 30 minutes, though, and at night, it's every hour. We tried to make a quick run into Interlaken to get some last minute gifts, but that turned into a 2-hour ordeal. Then later, we started dinner later in Interlaken at 8, but didn't get out until 10:00, which means we missed the train, so we had to wait until 11:05. I would not recommend arriving into Ringgenberg at night, especially if you are by yourself. The path is dark and mostly unlit and it was seriously something out of a horror movie. Luckily, we had our flashlight on us. So, just bring a flashflight and know your train or bus schedules, for sure.

The walk to the hotel is not easy. There was a steep gravel path and some stairs, so if you have heavy luggage, it's not happening. We just had backpacks and carry-on's and that proved challenging enough. If you have knee problems or other mobility issues, I would not recommend this place.

The bathroom is down the hall and the shower is further. There is a sink in the room, so that was nice.

We saw maybe half a dozen people in the town - everything just seemed deserted. The view is definately pretty, but it was a similar view from in Interlaken or other nearby towns, so it didn't really seem that different. It was also cold and rainy, so I'm sure that didn't enhance our viewing pleasure.

We had to leave at 6:15 in the morning and no one was working the desk, but didn't read anything in any documents about when they were working, so we left a note and our key and hoped they got it. Breakfast is included in the price and starts at 7 am.

Perhaps under different circumstances, this would be a different experience for us and some of our issues were not the fault of the hotel - it just revolved around the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This is our second visit and it has lived in our memory since the first visit in 2009. Its like coming to visit a close family member as that is how you are treated. On both occasions we booked a double lakeside room with ensuite the room is large with a view to die for, a comfy double bed and a 2 seater lounge a work desk and a small table and chair. There is no fridge and the ensuite is small but functional the toiletries provided are basic (no tissues or hairdryer or coffee or tea making facilities). The restaurant provides good food at reasonable prices and I recommend the horse steak as it is one of the best steaks I have had beef, lamb or otherwise, breakfast is also fresh but basic. Just outside the hotel is the ferry stop which goes in either direction every hour and a day ticket hop on hop off is a nice way to spend the day but not cheap. A 10 min walk will get you to the train station (cheapest way) and trains run also as the buses every hour.
The staff are simply great and so helpful, this hotel is just one of those rare places were you arrive and immediately feel relaxed whenever we are in Switzerland we will make a point of staying at the Seeburg.

Room Tip: Spend the extra you wont regret it a lakeside double room with ensuite 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Charming out of the way hotel with amazing lake views if you have a lakeside room. Peaceful location for relaxing break. 5-10 minutes from Ringenberg railway station and/or bus stop. Check boat times times to see if they stop at the berth outside the hotel when you're there. Helpful hotel staff and good quality continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Book a room with a lakeside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We booked this hotel on April 24, 2013 through the hotel's online booking website for a stay in mid-June 2013. We got a reservation confirmation online as well as by email.

On May 30th, we got a call from the hotel that they confirmed our reservation in error and they don't have a room for us and they are sorry about the error [the owner himself called]. We have to cancel our vacation to Interlaken now as we can't get any other hotel at such a short notice.

While we got this information 13 days before our arrival, we are baffled by this result and wonder why this happened. I did not expect this from a European / Swiss hotel.

Really disappointed.

Room Tip: Double check your bookings !
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rahul_Bhushan_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter M, Inhaber at Hotel Seeburg, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. Before the day of the booking ( 24.04.2013) you phoned to our reception to ask if the rooms are available. My wife answered (fully booked). We recommended you to choose an other date or to change one roome type.
At the 24.04.2013 you made a booking over internet . The rooms were still not available but because of a software problem the rooms were still availabe online (only on the hotel website). At the same day we sent you the first of 5 e-mails, to cancel your reservation without any fee. But we never received any answer. So you would have enough time to book another room in Interlaken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

This hotel and destination became the highlight of our Switzerland trip. This property has a great advantage of being bang on the lake. Its an heritage hotel with an history of over 120 years still its well maintained. The food is decent but the experience of restaurant is delightful as its by lake. Rooms are not very big but comfortable. Overall due to the breath taking views you would probably spend more time outside by the lake.

Room Tip: Try for the rooms with a lake view, however they may turn out to be a bit expensive. Even if don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel_for_Couples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Spent four days in this lakeside small, family -run hotel. (Note; We used Bookings and you must be very careful reading all info about the cancellation policies for each hotel.) This hotel was not hard to find, just outside of Interlaken (do NOT stay there...very congested). Narrow road down to the hotel which lies along Lake Brienz, colorfully turquoise, complete with ducks & swans swimming by. Booked a lakeside room with a balcony and knew there would be a small shower. Oh my. Postage size shower with the toilet adjacent and I mean adjacent. Otherwise, room was neat, the bedding was very clean...and then that picture window onto the lake. The hotel public rooms were retro charming. It is not a Swiss chalet but it is very comfortable. The boat landing right outside is very convenient for touring the lake. Enjoyed having afternoon outstanding cake andvcoffee after touring. Two dinners were delicious...one was an autumnal regional speciality. The second meal of the local fish was very good. Every meal was prepared and presented with loving care. We did try other restaurants in the area, in the village of Iseltwald and if you have a car, that is a good way to sample other meals. The waitress and I spoke German together and she was delightful. In fact, the entire hotel staff was more than nice. It is wonderful to visit a loving family so involved with their hotel. Their gardens were well kept and beautiful to sit in the morning as well as the evening....and the quiet was perfect for enjoying the Swiss scenery. Used this hotel for a base of visitng the Schlosses in Spies, Thun, and Oberdorf one day. Also went to Grindelwald and enjoyed Sunday there. Remember almost everything is closed on Sunday as well as Monday so keep that in your travel plans. By far, the highlight for us was spending an entire day in Ballenberg Museum which is so close. One note is that it's all about being outside in Switzerland enjoying the scenery and we were very lucky...save your cloudyish days for visiting the castles. It was magical and then to return here after a long day of touring was like returning home.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lakeside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ringgenberg
0.9 mi away
Hotel Seiler au Lac
Hotel Seiler au Lac
#1 of 5 in Boenigen
132 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Beausite
Hotel Beausite
#1 of 8 in Unterseen
667 reviews
3.6 mi away
Landhotel Golf
Landhotel Golf
#5 of 8 in Unterseen
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Grandhotel Giessbach
Grandhotel Giessbach
#1 of 1 in Giessbach
522 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Roessli
Hotel Roessli
#2 of 8 in Unterseen
2,230 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Royal St. Georges Interlaken - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seeburg

Property: Hotel Seeburg
Address: Seeburg 55, Ringgenberg 3852, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Ringgenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ringgenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Seeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to warmly welcome you in our Hotel - a home with a warm and cosy touch embedded in an incredibly beautiful and quiet setting directly facing the turquoise waters of the Lake Brienz. Our Hotel offers 24 rooms, a magnificent park with a private, direct access to the lake. In addition, the cruise boats of the Lake Brienz conveniently stop just in front of the Hotel. Of course, it also worthwile mentionning the Hotel's renowned cuisine with its exquisite meat and fresh fish specials. Eventually, the central location in the Bernese Oberland - with its breathtaking and unique view of the lake and the alps - allow you to quickly and conveniently reach destinations like Interlaken, Wengen, Grindelwald, Murren, Lauterbrunnen and the Jungfraujoch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Seeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seeburg Hotel Ringgenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing