We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yes, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Des Horlogers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Des Horlogers
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plan Les Ouates
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The hotel is located on the busy main road in Plan-les-Ouates. There is a bus and tram service nearby if you are heading into town. The hotel is newly refurbished and clean. In relation to its name the hotel is decorated with watchmakers’ utensils in showcases throughout the hotel. The receptionist on arrival was welcoming, friendly and knowledgeable. Our rooms were on the third floor under the roof with the disadvantage of slanted ceilings which in this case are especially inconvenient because the room is already very small. One had to bend over double to reach the night table on the far end of the bed and I did not even try to sit in the armchair provided. There was no wardrobe but simply a curtained off area to hide the clothes hangers and a small safe. There are only 9 TV programmes in the room. The breakfast room is in the basement and has a low ceiling. Despite the windows with mock daylight the room feels oppressing and it is definitely overstuffed as tables and chairs are too close for comfort. Breakfast service was done by a young Asian girl who did not know what soft boiled eggs were. She offered to heat up the hard boiled eggs in the microwave instead. It appears that their kitchen lacks the facility to boil or let alone fry eggs. Considering the above I would say that the value for money is not too well balanced. The rooms we had were OK for one night but would not do for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room on the back on 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muireall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
11
27
16
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I stayed at this hotel last night on a business meeting in Plan les Ouates. Its a great little hotel - the lady on reception was exceptionally nice, friendly and helpful. The room I had was 1020 and it was very big and spacious. It was a little warm during the night because of the high temperatures and humidity however I had an uninterrupted nights sleep.
I would definitely recommend it and I will use it the next time I am at Plan les Ouates. (fab restaurant around the corner also.."La Place")
Its a boutique style hotel and provided a lovely surrounding in the middle of a 2 days business meeting.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 1020 and it was a great room - spacious and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RnRLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

The "hotel des horlogers" is a small pleasant hotel in the suburb town of Plan-Les-Outes in Geneva. The lady at check-in was very friendly and had a big smile on her face. You don't get that too often these days. I had my room in the top floor just beneath the roof. You need to be careful when walking within the room, in order not to bang your head. The biggest problem was, though, that it was incredibly hot. There was a tiny mobile climate machine that made a lot of noise and had almost no effect on the high temperatures in the room. Opening the window was no solution as well, as it was as also hot outside. There was no other room available and so I was sweating myself through the night, without getting much sleep. I was not at all relaxed in the morning. The breakfast was good and the lady at the reception still smiled and was very sorry for the inconvenience.
It's a pity, the hotel is nice, but the lack of a climatisation is sadly a minus point in the overall impression.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlehampton
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2008

Nice and clean hotel, friendly and helpful staff. Terrific hotel theme of "watch craft", I suggest though that they put clocks in their hotel rooms or along hallways, I ended up reaching for my mob. phone to check the time, as there was'nt any clocks hanged on the walls.....Definitely, I will stay in this same hotel on the next visit.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank esprit07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plan Les Ouates
Cité
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#47 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Lake Geneva Hotel
#1 of 2 in Versoix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Les Nations
#53 of 106 in Geneva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Saint-Gervais Temple
Hotel St-Gervais
Hotel St-Gervais
#79 of 106 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Des Horlogers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Des Horlogers

Property: Hotel Des Horlogers
Address: route de Saint-Julien 135, Plan Les Ouates, Geneva 1228, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Geneva > Geneva > Plan Les Ouates
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Plan Les Ouates
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Des Horlogers 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 32 rooms and junior suites, the Hotel des Horlogers was entirely renovated in 2008 to resemble a small museum reflecting the long history of watch-making in Switzerland. The interior design plays on the theme of watch-making, allowing you to discover and admire a collection of over 250 tools dating back to the 18th and 19th century. All the rooms benefit from quality bedding, a minibar, complimentary tea and a coffee, free Wi-Fi and an LCD television set with a wide selection of international channels. Breakfast is served in the form of a cold buffet, and the hotel has a garden graced by a beautiful weeping willow. Located in the centre of Plan-les-Ouates, the building is less than 3 minutes away from the main Swiss watch-making district and the Geneva stadium. The Geneva International Airport and Geneva Palexpo are a 10-minute car ride away; the city centre and lake are 15 minutes away and accessible by public transportation (bus and tram). A large public park and numerous shops surround the hotel, and a variety of restaurants can be found nearby.  Parking is available on “route des Chevaliers de Malte”, and a complimentary public transportation card will be given to you upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Des Horlogers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Des Horlogers Canton Of Geneva/Plan Les Ouates, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing