We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good view, great food and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seehotel Sternen Horw
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights with my 91 year old father in law. We made sure he had a room with a view over the lake which he appreciated. The food was good and although we thought it was expensive, when we looked at other restaurant menus in Horw it didn't seem so bad. The hotel is a bit out of Lucerne but if you are fit and able, a 10 minute walk will take you to the bus which takes you to the city. However our 91 year old could not do that so taxis were required which at 30 SF a go each way, made this an expensive place to stay.

Our rooms were fine but totally lacking in any local ambience. You could have been in any hotel room anywhere in the world. Bathrooms are small with towels to match. Housekeeping is disappointing in that bottled water was not replaced each day, towels were not rehung tidily and a dirty wine glass was not removed.

Restaurant staff deserve a special mention for being really friendly and efficient and meals were really very good although we couldn't really manage more than one course such were the portion sizes.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank PerthshireClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
There are newer reviews for Seehotel Sternen Horw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2013

The hotel is very Swiss and has a gorgeous view of the lake and the mountains. If your goal is to visit Luzern (city center) you're better off staying in the city. Otherwise the staff was friendly and is very clean.

Room Tip: The rooms were too hot. Maybe putting the air conditioning
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acm0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Not the best location if your goal is to visit Lucerne without spending too much time traveling back and forth to the center of the city. Typically swiss hotel with traditionnal service and very friendly staff. Very quiet. The breakfast was also excellent. Just one piece of advice: spend the extra money to get a room with view on the lake. We did not and got a room with view on a roof and ventialtion stuff.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Almoni06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

We stooped for one night in this calm and cool hotel, Location of he hotel is perfect all main attractions was in a short ride
The girls in the reception was extremely Polite and serving us without getting bored
The hotel offers free car parking and WiFi
Rooms are comfort relaxing with a new furniture
View is amazing kind of view you which you never go away
Restaurant was one of the best in this area a bit expensive but worth every penny
Strongly recommend this hotel for families and couples

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aboaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The hotel is a great celebration of Swiss quality: cleanliness of room, competenece of (traditional) Swiss food and a brilliantly fresh breakfast with no shortcuts. The view of the lake and mountains from our balcony was stunning.

Room Tip: Chose a room with a lake view: wonderful balconies.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canvazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel whilst travelling through Switzerland. Fantastic location, excellent room, fantastic restaurant. Would DEFINITELY stay here again. Very friendly staff who even provided with us with bottled water and mints for our onward journey. Our meal in the restaurant was excellent. There were 5 of us travelling and each had something different and one of my friends (who eats in top hotels a lot) was impressed. Would even recommend the local white wine.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We selected this hotel based on recommendations from Trip Advisor. It far surpassed our expectations. Nice rooms, wonderful location, staff spoke English and were very courteous and helpful. Beautiful bike ride along the lake, into Lucerne, on nice bikes provided by the hotel. Very nice restaurant, with outstanding complimentary breakfast. Our stay could not have been better.

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with a view of the lake and a balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonCouple4748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horw
1.2 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seehotel Pilatus
Seehotel Pilatus
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
215 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Felmis
2.4 mi away
CASCADA Hotel
CASCADA Hotel
#7 of 67 in Lucerne
934 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Roggerli
Hotel Roggerli
#2 of 3 in Hergiswil
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Sternen Horw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Sternen Horw

Address: Winkelstrasse 46, Horw 6048, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Horw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Price Range: £132 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Sternen Horw 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HRS, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Seehotel Sternen Horw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Sternen Horw Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing