We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“luxury and scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seehotel Sternen Horw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Seehotel Sternen Horw
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Certificate of Excellence
Hawalli, Kuwait
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“luxury and scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

I recently spent two night at this hotelwith my wife and 16 year old son . Room was nice, clean, and comfortable but the extra bed provided was very small and not comfortable for my son. Would definitely recommend a room with a balcony, lake and mountain view. Restaurant on site, offer great breakfast with a wide range of choices. We were able to stroll along the lake and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this beautiful town . We found all the staff, both in the hotel and restaurant, to be professional, helpful, and friendly. Would definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again

Room Tip: take a room with balcony, try the Italian resturant in town if not intersted in the hotel resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khalid4kac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    47
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
60
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saco, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently spent one night at this hotel. Room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Would definitely recommend a room with a balcony, lake and mountain view. Restaurant on site, great breakfast with a wide range of choices. We were able to stroll along the lake and enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of this beautiful town and also go into Lucerne, 4km away. We found all the staff, both in the hotel and restaurant, to be professional, helpful, and friendly. Would definitely stay at this wonderful hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rageo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bielsko-Biała, Poland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I've been on a business trip to Luzern and stayed in this hotel nearby. The hotel does not look like a hotel, in fact in resembles a really huge mountain house. When you get inside however all is clear. It is a hotel and a good one!

The rooms are excellent, the food tremendous, especially having breakfest with a magnificient lake view. Good selection of local beer but also Italian and French wines make the stay pleasent. The pricing is reasonable for Switzerland. You can borrow a bike from the hotel and use it to do some sightseeing in Luzern nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 83Maciek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and thoroughly enjoyed this hotel. Our room was facing the lake with a balcony, and was quite roomy and spacious. The bathrooms are quite small, but I found this typical in most of Europe. The bed is a little hard, again, typical of Europe, with no box spring. It did not have a/c, but a fan was supplied in the room. We had cooler nights, so it was fine for us. The location is fantastic! The hotel is directly on the water in a quiet cove. Swimming is available a few metres away, however the water is much too cold to swim in unless you are used to those temps! We are from Florida, so too cold for our blood. The restaurant had a wonderful selection for breakfast, including eggs, cheese, cold cuts, yogurts, fruits, etc and even pancakes on request. Their menu for lunch and dinner was excellent, and I had difficulty choosing which entre to choose. Although we had a car, we took the local bus into Lucerne as it was a short ride in and more convenient than trying to find parking. Lucerne is a beautiful city. The staff were always pleasant and helpful. In particular the sweet blonde young woman who works at the front desk. I did not get her name, but she was so helpful with our day to day planning. We even borrowed their bikes for a day to ride into Lucerne and wanted to note that I had read that it was a flat ride into town..... it certainly is not, but given that this is Switzerland, the hills would be considered small. We would stay here again, and found that the best feature of this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiedblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was really pleased when booking this hotel, after extensive research and lots of review reading. We got a room with view to the lake. This was indeed very nice. The room was good sized, but the bathroom was tiny, with almost no space at all to rage any toiletries. And when putting the towels on the floor for washing there was no space left to walk in.
No air conditioning, the room was too warm at night time.
Strictly correct, but not sincere service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaChristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed with my spouse at this hotel for one night. We decided to go there as Horw is a suburb of Lucerne. So you are not in the centre but close and pay far less. Good deal!
The hotel is clean, rooms big with lake view and staff is friendly too. Parking is for free. Internet as well. (This is anyway standard nowadays).
So, the first impression was good.
However, the hotel advertises with an own beach. We thought, well, must be, as it is located directly at the lake. Far from it! You have a tiny lawn which gets crowded when there are more than 8 hotel guests! And there is no beach. You access the lake over the jetty of the hotel with a ladder. Don't walk barefoot as the material is of aluminium and gets super hot in summer! I almost burned my feet seriously!
Arriving at the ladder you enter the lake close to reed so underground is very muddy.
After swimming one minute you get in deeper waters. But you basically can only swim around the jetty where boats are arriving and leaving. Dangerous and not very nice!
Better rent a bike (for free) and bicycle 10min along the lakeside to find a real beach!

So, if you are looking for a hotel where you can enter conveniently the lake and enjoy a nice beach, forget it!

Also, food quality is standard. We ordered a five course menu. Nothing surprising! Run-of-the-mill even! OK, I have a high standard and other people might have been satisfied but paying 240CHF for two persons was too much for the quality. We even could not finish the dessert as it was disgusting!

But, the brunch on Sunday is nice. Go for it. You won't regret it. You have a huge variety of food. Cold and warm. The price is more than fair.

Overall, it is a nice hotel. But do not go there for swimming and don't expect superior food.
My suggestion: Sleep there, enjoy the brunch. But go somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Although the location on the lake below a small village on the end of Lake Lucerne looked promising, the hotel (which we subsequently found out is run and owned by the local town) needs some attention....the rooms are adequate but the bathroom is extremely small, the tub/shower is very high and extremely slippery...I would definitely caution any seniors against this hotel. The hotel is evidently well known for its Sunday brunch and locals come from all around for it....they stay all afternoon and occupy the very few chairs and lounges that the hotel supplies for its guests. Although there are some small private boats moored in the lake near the hotel there is really no space allotted for guests who wish to take a swim in the lake and there is no pool. The worst it that there is no a/c and although the hotel supplies a fan and we had a terrace so we could open the door, it was too warm in the room for a comfortable sleep at night.
Although lake boats stop about two miles away you cannot take a lake cruise from the hotel...you would have to drive and park or take two long walks to do it. And although there are public buses into town, we opted to drive into Lucerne for the day since the bus schedule require waiting a half an hour each trip.. I would not recommend the property to people who expect a certain level of comfort..

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol L. W.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Horw
1.2 mi away
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
Seehotel Kastanienbaum
#1 of 1 in Kastanienbaum
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.1 mi away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
3.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.7 mi away
Seehotel Hermitage Luzern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Seeburg
Hotel Seeburg
#14 of 69 in Lucerne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant Felmis
1.8 mi away
Pilatus Hotel
Pilatus Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hergiswil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seehotel Sternen Horw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seehotel Sternen Horw

Property: Seehotel Sternen Horw
Address: Winkelstrasse 46, Horw 6048, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Horw
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Horw
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seehotel Sternen Horw 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Expedia, HRS and Odigeo so you can book your Seehotel Sternen Horw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seehotel Sternen Horw Switzerland - Canton Of Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing