We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel restriction” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hotel restriction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We are satisfied with service and comfort in the hotel, but were surprised to read in the elevator cabin restriction: it is not allowed to bring to the room meal and drinks, bought not in the hotel. We believe that this restriction is important for customers and it necessary to tell about it in the hotel description on the booking.com and hotel web portal. Possible, we choose another hotel, if knew this restriction.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valeriy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    133
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
64
183
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

but not a BAD hotel. Not perfect the cleanliness of the room. It smelled not bad, but not fresh either. The view was wonderful, if only we had seen it (too much fog!). We remember a vey nice waiter (from Portugal), clever and wise, we chatted with him after breakfast. Breakfast was nice!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank giovanni p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

That's what we found at Rovio. A very nice hotel and a very nice staff. The family Sabino was watching over us. Tutto bene? was the question we often heard from Mr. Sabino. We had a nice room with a view over Lake Lugano and we enjoyed breakfast and diner. Other facilities we used were the sauna and the swimmingpool in the beautifull subtropical garden. Monte Generoso was nearby and we made some nice trips (2000 M)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

To find this hotel could be a problem as signing is minimal and the road is very steep winding up the hillside , but well worth the trip up. Our room was on the second floor and very spacious and a large bathroom with 2 basins and shower, clean and plenty of hot water if slightly dated. Our windows looked out onto the hillside with the local sheep paying us a visit in the evening. Dinner was either a la carte or from a large buffet, but the breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice from cereals, fresh fruit, cheese, cold meat, boil your own eggs, freshly cooked bacon and eggs, omelettes if you wished. Loved the owner cooking breakfast in his suit. We had a excellent waiter who spoke English he had worked in the Four Seasons in London. Beautiful gardens looking down onto the Lake, swimming pool with cover which we hoped to use but the rain arrived with us. The village of Rovio is charming, ideal place to return to after a walking or cycling day out. All of the staff where very friendly and helpful, lots of things to do whilst staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Not at the rear overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aging_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

"Authentic charm" may be the best description for this lovely little family-run hotel. We spent two non-consecutive nights here in July while on a cycling trip in Switzerland. Located at the top of a steep hill, surrounded by mountains, and overlooking a beautiful lake, the hotel has a lovely garden and pool. Its clientele is international, with no one nationality predominating, which adds to its charm. The staff is friendly, and it is clear that they and the owners take pride in their work and the establishment they run. The rooms are all different, both in size and amenities, but the two we had were both comfortable. The furnishings are old-fashioned, but perfectly in tune with the overall ambiance.
One of the nights we were there, they had a Ticinese night, which meant live music and a buffet dinner. It was like being transported back in time, with some of the older guests taking to the floor to dance a gentle twist.
For us, the main factor standing in the way of a "5" rating was the buffet dinner...If you did not get there early, the food quickly got cold ...
The breakfast buffet on the other hand was great, with lots of choice.
The guests were mixed: families (kids of all ages) and older couples (40+).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EerlijkBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

It was such a great, absolutely relaxing week at Park Hotel Rovio in July! It felt like a total escape from the noisy New York City! Such a blessing! The views are stunning, the magnificent mountains, Alps, on the left from the hotel reminded me of the homeland, Crimean peninsula. And everything else did feel like home! Its' a family owned hotel. Mr and Mrs. Sabino were super helpful and their daughter, Daniella, was making our stay even smoother wiht her positive atitude and willingness to do things effortless for us. And drinking local wine and having apricots and peaches byt the swimming pool was one of the highlights of the stay for me in the hotel.
WE atended a wedding there- it was the gorgeous location for the wedding in the park of the hotel!

Room Tip: the third floor, the rooms facing the lake- I think number 314 and 312- have the best views in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natandrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buchs St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

I've ordered two standard double rooms but instead I was given two superior double rooms at the same price.

The WiFi costs 5 CHF a day but I also didn't have to pay for it :)

I expected a better breakfast, because Rovio is in the Italian part of Switzerland but I really can't complain about it, because it was really good. I also didn't have to pay for the espresso =]

I don't like soft mattresses so it was hard to get used to the bed for me.

To sum up, it was a really pleasant stay and it was the best spent 110 CHF for double room/day for a hotel in Switzerland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Codial C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rovio
2.2 mi away
Hotel Campione
Hotel Campione
#1 of 3 in Bissone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Palma
Hotel La Palma
#2 of 3 in Bissone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Serpiano
Hotel Serpiano
#1 of 1 in Serpiano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
2.9 mi away
Melia Campione
Melia Campione
#1 of 1 in Campione d'Italia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco

Property: Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Address: via Ronchi 8, Rovio 6821, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Rovio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rovio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel Rovio on the south side of the Monte Generoso Rovio, is located only 2 km from Lake Lugano and 15 km from Lugano. It offers an outdoor pool and free parking.A delightful park and lawn invite you to a sunbath and offer views of Lake Lugano and its surrounding mountains. There is a heated swimming pool (open from April to September) in the park.Fine regional cuisine is served in the restaurant of the Park Hotel Rovio.For children there is a little play area. The Park Hotel offers a small and simply fitness room with a sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing