We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will NOT be back”
Review of Hotel Villa Carona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Carona
Ranked #1 of 3 Carona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Unaccomodating receptionist (male), although there was plenty of availablity inflexible to change rooms. Close to the road, no view of the valley or the lake, old house squeking and shaking floors, paper thin walls, can hear all conversations and bathroom flush from next door and upstairs to keep you awake. Terrible quality thin beds to give you backache. Long way from Lugano..Good breakfast is not enough to justify the high cost for what little get out of it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lks50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2011

We feel sorry that you were feeling uncomfortable staying with us. The man at the reception was me, Mr. Deubner, the owner and manager of the hotel. I did my best in trying to find a solution for a room change. Unfortunately it was impossible which is not unusual as we were fully booked. The Hotel Villa Carona is a Swiss Historic Hotel and the house is 200 years old. It is situated in Carona, a lovely 1000 years old village in the mountains with a nice view to the mountain Monte Generoso. We are proud of our historic hotel and are taking care of it with all our heart and passion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2010

A very nice little hotel, well run and very peaceful. A lovely garden where you can eat a sumptuous plentiful breakfast. We had a lovely romantic weekend here, Carona is very pretty. Would certainly return. Didnt see any ants like a previous review said, maybe we were there at a different time of year?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tresadla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
villacarona, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Carona, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2011

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2006

Superb! very delightful...

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank schwarzerPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank simu_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rhabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Donkey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Serina-777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Villa Carona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Carona

Address: Piazza Noseed, Carona 6914, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Carona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Carona
Price Range: £124 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Carona 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 200 year old patrician estate with a lot of history, is bordered by an attractive quaint village, where Herrman Hesse spent many precious hours. The 40 bed hotel is managed and owned by the family Deuber-Marty. Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.All our rooms are non-smoking rooms.Our garden is a small paradise, in which one may enjoy breakfast outside; lounge around in the sun or shady spots and play table tennis. It also features a grape pergola and a restaurant for healthy meals Each room is individually decorated and furnished with antique pieces.We wish our guests a Buon Appetito in our newly renovated Ristorante La Sosta. The Villa Carona service team cordially welcomes you!We would like to spoil you in the cozy and romantic ambience with a light, mediterranen cuisine - based on original Italian cooking style. Our chef Mr. Hendrik Wurst and his team use only fresh and choose ingredients from the region. A drop of fine wine from our wine cellar completes the culinary experience.We are pleased to welcome you for lunch, dinner or an aperitif on our terraces or under the pergola. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., MyHotelShop and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Carona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing