We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morton House Inn B & B Liverpool NS”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morton House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Morton House Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Milton B&B and Inns
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Morton House Inn B & B Liverpool NS”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at the historic Morton House Inn B and B, just 2 minutes from the beautiful town of Liverpool on Nova Scotia's South Shore. Our host Martin was witty and wonderful.Our room was spacious and spotless with a very comfortable bed. The property is stunning with well kept grounds and an abundance of shrubbery and the Inn features a lovely enclosed front porch which we took advantage of to enjoy a glass of wine and good conversation. 6 last minute guests arrived late and so the following morning breakfast was complemented by their presence. And what a breakfast! It alone was worth the price of admission. A multi course feast centered around eggs Benny . I would highly recommend the Morton House Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBBluenoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at the historic Morton house Inn. Had a really nice room with ensuite and period furnishings. Sat on the porch and relaxed with a book, made ourselves at home and had a really nice breakfast in the morning. The owners were very nice. Would gladly stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

There is not a lot of choice in the Liverpool area. This is a nice historic home,situated within view of a river on a country road. It has beautiful grounds, wonderful veranda to relax on and is very quiet.
We stayed on the first floor in a room with en suite bath.
Room was a bit small but the bed was comfortable. Bathroom was ok but what stood out was that it needs renovating. It was also disappointing that the bath seemed so ordinary when situated in a historic property. A storage cupboard made of cheap particle board, low end fixtures and a noisy ineffective fan.
The breakfast was very good. Eggs Benedict were tasty!
Odd though that when it was time to leave, the owners were not there to say good bye.
We probably would not stay there again but we did have an adequate stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bda10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

This Bed and Breakfast in a restored large home from the mid-1800's is a delightful place to stay. Each of the rooms is beautifully done and evokes the time period in which the house was constructed. There's a great big front porch, as well as a riverfront with a picnic table. The hosts, Martin and Myles, are very gracious, and the breakfasts were delicious. Easy driving distance from Mahone Bay, Lunenberg and other south shore attractions.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario,
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

My wife and I stayed one night while touring the Nova Scotia South Shore on our way to Halifax, wish we could have stayed longer. Perfect location and easy to find. Martin (an old business colleague) and Myles are great hosts and made us feel totally welcome and at home. The old house is beautifully restored and the grounds and gardens were immaculate. Sharing a bottle of wine on the front porch overlooking the river was such a relaxing way to end the day. Breakfast was fabulous, muffins right out of the oven, fresh fruit and Eggs Benedict to die for (the sauce was Myles’ secret recipe).

Thank you Martin and Myles, we will return for sure.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam-from-Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponca City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

This was our second experience at a bed and breakfast and it wasn't as nice as the first one but still much better than staying in a hotel. The beds were comfortable, the room clean and large, breakfast was good, host helpful and the gardens quite nice. Its directly across the highway from the river and very quiet. But, the quality of the bedding, the fixtures in the bathroom and other minor details, it just missed something.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljw_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

We had not made reservations as we were trying to get a little farther down the road that day but when we reaching Liverpool we decided to look for a B&B. We have had wonderful luck stopping someone on the street and asking for the directions to the nearest B&B. This lady we talked to gave us directions over to Milton which is just across the bridge from Liverpool.
We were lucky they had a vacancy.The Morton House is beautifully restored. We had a large bedroom on the first floor with it's own bath. The owners are gracious hosts and fixed a lovely breakfast with fresh fruit.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milton
1.5 mi away
Lane's Privateer Inn
Lane's Privateer Inn
#2 of 2 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Liverpool Hotel & Conference Centre
7.8 mi away
The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas and Grill
The Quarterdeck Beachside Villas...
#1 of 1 in Summerville Centre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
White Point Beach Resort
White Point Beach Resort
#7 of 49 in Southwest Nova Scotia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
24.3 mi away
Bridgewater Hotel
Bridgewater Hotel
#5 of 5 in Bridgewater
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
7.6 mi away
Blueberry Bay Seaside Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morton House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morton House Inn

Property: Morton House Inn
Address: 147 Highway #8 | P.O. Box 549, Milton, Nova Scotia B0T 1P0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Milton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Morton House Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, the Morton House Inn is situated on the beautiful Mersey River,in the charming village of Milton, on Nova Scotia's South Shore. We are situated just 1.2 km (1 mile) from Liverpool and half way between Halifax and Yarmouth. The house was built in 1864 and has been recently restored to its former grandeur. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Morton House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing