We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmmm....alright I Spose”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bikers Loft Groenedijk
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mmmmm....alright I Spose”
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Ok maybe once or twice. Bloody expensive if you have one of the rooms but ok if you have one of the dorm beds. About E23 - night. Ok for a overnight stop off but don't expect too much. The "look and cook" concept is crap. Basically take food from the fridge and put it in the microwave. Also expensive. Trading on the "Bikers" hotel concept but having travelled a lot throughout Europe there are much better about and at a fraction of the cost. Could be much better with not a lot of effort.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SPCK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    12
    3
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Bikers Loft Groenedijk is a great place for bikers (but not only them). The accommodation is simple, without private facilities. There are a couple of toilets (in the morning there are a few short) and some showers. The rooms are clean, beds okay, thin-walled (so you could hear the neighbour snore!). The bar is a great meeting place where you can have a good beer, food is available but you have to cook it yourself in the microwave. Breakfast is a buffet were you can fry your egg. Because of the lack of private facilities and the cook-your-self formula I think it is a bit overpriced. But it was a nice experience staying there for one night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have wanted to stop here from the first moment we were told about it, quite a long time ago and missed out in 2011 when we broke down en-route (thats another story), so this year at the start of our Motorcycle tour from the UK to Germany, we made sure this was the first place we headed too from the Channel tunnel.

The little bridge was up which is the usual way there, however with our lovely new sat nav and the signs by the road we made it. We went to the back entrance which leads to the inside parking for the accommodation - as it was pouring down it was great to unpack the bike in the dry and in such a quirky place.

I am always baffled that people comment badly on stuff here on tripadvsior that are blatantly mentioned on the hosts websites or with a little help form google maps, such as that the place is in a remote area, the rooms are basic and you cook your own food.

To reply to those gripes, yes the rooms are basic - (I think thats the whole point) surely its that you are stopping in a place aimed at Bikers, with a great bar and atmosphere, where you can park your bike in view of your room (and inside). For the Look and Cook food where you choose from the fridges and then cook yourself, which I am sure is a little strange to some people as they expect to order from a menu and then be served. Ivan (the owner) has gone with this idea as it means that he can provide food at any time, rather than rely on chefs/staff and to be honest its of a very high quality - best pizza Ive had in years. Plus, you cook your own breakfast, on the hot plates, so if you are fussy about how you like your eggs - perfect as you just do them yourself. My fella loved it - he thought he was running his own American diner!

We met a few people from the UK, Dutch, Germans and locals and chewed the proverbial Bikers fat with them - as you do... surely what travel is all about.

Loved the showers, which are in a 'rock Flintstone style area', with the left for the ladies and right side for the men, with separate cubicles.

We went to the Oldtimer Motorcycle Museum Groenedijk attached, packed full of lots of interesting bikes and memorabilia, with a very interesting talk from the passionate Johan. I have been to quite a few museums and never seen some of the stuff in here anywhere else.

Highly recommended as a place to stop for any Biker... in fact it should be on any Bikers top 10 of things to do!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agreeklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I stayed at the Bikers Loft a few times last year and always found Ivan and his staff happy and friendly. The atmosphere is brilliant and have met some fantastic people there. Living on the south east coast of England it's location is ideal for weekends away and not just a stop over point. Yes the rooms are basic and a little pricey but your bikes are safe and secure, parked inside, close to your room. Food is self service and so almost no time restrictions on when you have to eat. Looking forward to a few more weekends there again this year.
Well done Ivan and the team.
Billy

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyA316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed at Bikers loft on route to the nurburgring. The atmosphere and unique character make this B&B but if you’re not a biker I don’t think you’ll appreciate the unique charm. When we stay all the other guest where bikers with made for a great atmosphere.

Accommodation, Ok its basic a bed and a sink, the rooms are accessible via a large hall which is where you park your bikes (inside), knowing your bike & kit is safe and dry are the real benefits to this place. The toilets and showers are also accessed from the hall and are basic but clean.

The bar at the front serves continental beers reasonably priced, they have bands on every weekend but we went mid week and made our own entertainment. On arrival the owners greeted us with complimentary nibbles and shared a beer or two with us in the evening.

Food, there’s microwave meals available in the evening which I thought were a bit pricy but fairly tasty. The breakfast in the morning is self cooked but the full choice of continental/English is available.

In summary if you want a bikers accommodation with bags of character & charm look no further, if you want value for money B&B you can probably find better ones out there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heacham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We spent 2 nights there this month, that was my fifth visit over many years. As always I found the place clean and welcoming, Ivan, the owner, is a great bloke. Yes, the place is basic but that's the point! It's a biker hotel and it's completely nuts! You can park your bike inside the building, right outside your room. The new smoking area is a very large ventillated green house in the bar area! Smokers don't have to go outside. There are always other bikers coming and going and the locals visit during the evening. If you go when they've got a live band playing, the atmosphere there is fantastic. The bar sells a great selection of Belgian beers. The new 'Look & Cook' means that you are not tied to meal times, there's loads of stuff for beakfast and in summer the Barbeque is great.
I suppose this hotel is a little bit like Marmite........ I love it!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CoastRoadBiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2009

Your bike is parked inside next to or at least very near your room. The bar is great as were the people (other bikers / motorbike enthusiasts) The place is off the beaten track so check where it is on the map before you get there. OK, the rooms are somewhat more basic than a fancy hotel but I didn’t expect anything different and the three of us thought the prices were OK . The beds were comfortable, your kit and bike are safe, dry and close to where you are - bar or bed. If you love bikes and want somewhere to stay which suits both them and you, then I would recommend this place whole heartedly. All this and its close to Dunkirk and Calais ;-)

Yes one of the rooms may have smelled a little bit damp, but it didn’t spoil our stay and everything else more than made up for it. If you want the luxury of a Hilton then go stay at one. If you want somewhere you can chill with your bike and other bikers, then choose this place. Ivan (the owner) and his staff were great and very helpful.

Many Thanks

SteveW (UK)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oudenburg
2.7 mi away
Hotel De Stokerij
Hotel De Stokerij
#22 of 97 in Bruges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hi-Hostel De Ploate
Hi-Hostel De Ploate
#1 of 14 in Ostend
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
't Wit Reigertje
#1 of 1 in Oudenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bikers Loft Groenedijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bikers Loft Groenedijk

Property: Bikers Loft Groenedijk
Address: Groenedijkstraat 5a, Oudenburg 8460, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Oudenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Oudenburg
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bikers Loft Groenedijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bikers Loft Groenedijk Belgium/Oudenburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing