We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat
Ranked #1 of 6 Kalavasos B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We visited the Library Hotel for our anniversary and chose the hotel because of it's high score on booking.com and the spectacular images listed. With thoughts of a luxury 5* spa retreat, we were quickly disappointed when shown our 'superior' double room. There was nothing superior about it. The floor rugs were dirty, the room itself was average and the A/C didn't work. The bathroom was nice but the towels and gowns were old, faded and hard and there was absolutely no hot water. Outside the pool was dirty and uncared for. The water level was below the whirlpool jets. There was only one member of staff when we arrived and the poor girl was juggling reception,porter and waitressing work all by herself. For a 'wellness retreat' there was minimal information about spa treatments and facilities. Considering the room was such a letdown we weren't prepared to spend €40+ on a massage that we half expected would be performed by the only staff member present. However, the atmosphere in the mountainous village of Kalovassos gave the hotel a tranquil, relaxing feel. The hotel restaurant served us a beautifully presented 3 course meal which, including drinks only cost 36€ for two of us. The food definitely improved our feelings toward the hotel. Overall though, with a bit more TLC the Library Hotel could easily be what it's made out to be online as right now the score of 9.0 is far from the truth.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomibro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    44
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
13
133
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The library is in a beautiful village called Kalavasos. The rooms are usual, having names of authors. We stayed in the Oscar Wilde , it has a fireplace, and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food ,breakfast, lunch and dinner are extremely delicous. The atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. The lounge with all the books is a restful place to sit and browse. Go and relax there and enjoy !

Room Tip: The Oscar Wilde room is spacious , relaxing and different, especially the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Very quiet village location. Nice and very friendly atmosphere. Lobby arranged like library with nice fireplace. Room very comfortable, nicely decorated and spacious. Breakfast was great. Lunch and dinner at the hotel's restaurant "Mitos" were fantastic. The hotel is very attractive and clean, location very close to the village center with cafe and restaurants, one in particular with a nice 'kleftigo' (Cypriot brick-oven) in front, making excellent lamb dish.

Room Tip: Only 12 rooms in this hotel, three of them with with spa-tub. Rooms are arranged in two adjacent bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziv l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel for an overnight stay. We arrived at the Hotel in the afternoon and were greeted by Katerina at the reception. We were given a lovely room, nice and cosy, over looking the garden area at one side of the room and looking at the village church at the other side of the room. Nicely decorated rooms all round and very clean everywhere. Had a walk around the village and went to the local church to take part in the evening service, and later on in the evening had a lovely dinner back at the Hotel restaurant where we were taken very good care of by our waitress Lydia who is Katerinas sister...two very polite young ladies who are a credit to the hotel. Food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Its a lovely place to have a relaxing weekend and I believe whether its winter or summer you will enjoy yourselves! xxxx :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEONIKANARIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This place is a real gem in Kalavassos. Tucked away in a side street it is a beautifully restored property with a gorgeous courtyard, resembling something you'd expect to see in ..'fair Verona'. Charming staff. My husband and I just visited for dinner, but found the atmosphere and welcome, second to none. The restaurant was full, but clients were serviced courteously and in good time. The menu wasn't haute cuisine, but plentiful food, well cooked and very fresh. If we didn't have our own apartment, we'd certainly stay here too! Thank you staff of The Library Hotel x

Room Tip: Didn't stay, just came for dinner so can't comment on the rooms/room service etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RACHEL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I Stayed at the hotel for a week in September for our honeymoon. Our stay was such a good experience, that we had to write a review in spite of the monyhs that have passed. We were greeted by Anna-maria, who was a huge help during our stay: both her and her sister were happy to recommend restaurants and attractions, so we were always well-informed. Our room was beautiful and luxurious, and we felt very much at home thanks to the staff. Not only will we return for a visit, but there is already talk about a more permenant stay in Kalavasos :-)
Thank you Library Hotel, and see you again soon!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AdvaTEmori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Very nice hotel with friendly and professional staff. The restaurant is of very high standard but reasonable priced. We had relaxing hours next to the fire place in the library. We also enjoyed our Rasul (mud Therapy).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalavasos
10.2 mi away
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,781 reviews
10.4 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Limassol
Crowne Plaza Limassol
#9 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
12.4 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat

Property: The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat
Address: Anexartisias Street 3, Kalavasos 7733, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Kalavasos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kalavasos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Library Hotel Wellness Retreat Cyprus/Kalavasos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing