We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food (evening meal)!”
Review of Tally Ho!

Tally Ho!
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hatherleigh
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tally Ho!
Ranked #1 of 5 Hatherleigh B&B and Inns
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food (evening meal)!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Popped in (on local recommendation) for an evening meal and was not disappointed.

My wife had pork in suace and I had veggie chickpea curry. Both very good (their herby potatoes are very more-ish!).

Good food at a good price in a friendly pub with good beer! What more could you want?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferret55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

small cosy proper pub serving great value for money belly busting food.
good old traditional meals and lots of it totally recommend this place if you are hungry!!!
also great if its a bit cold outside as there is a lovely fire and great atmosphere

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harold190804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We went to this pub as we were staying at The George and wanted to go somewhere to eat without driving and only 50m from George.
The Tally Ho is a old local pub with lots of character ,beams ,flag stones and a nice log burning fire with comfy seats near it so you just sit and enjoy your drink.
I had Burmese curry and this had a great kick with a big bowl of rice & big bowl of curry was a very tasty meal.Seeing what others were eating looks like all are great portions and all finished ,the rack of ribs looked fantastic as well as the deserts.This is good quality pub grub food .
The beers are also great with a very friendly Landlord ,Peter and staff, locals are also very friendly .
Yes this is a very typical relaxing olde world village pub and all the write ups below state this so cant be wrong.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukpse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adytaylor65, Owner at Tally Ho!, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review, the burmese curry was taught to me by my gran who was burmese, i am pleased that you had a lovely time.
Ady Taylor
(Owner and Landlord)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

went for a meal in the Tally Ho, not an extensive menu but beautifully cooked and served by friendly staff. I had a beef stew which was rich and tasty and just what was need on a cold rainy night. The vegetables were cooked to perfection

Room Tip: didn't stay there but have been advised by friends that the rooms are very comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We were in the area for two nights and decided to try the Tally Ho for a meal. Absolutely wonderful, plenty of choice and delicious fresh food, huge portions, did not leave room for pud unfortunately. Staff were amazing, would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were staying 2 nights at the George which is over the road from this pub, but on our second evening decided to eat here as the menu looked so good. This pub has great atmosphere and given that this is a small village it was full of locals and visitors so it had a lively atmosphere.The food was fresh and generous in portion size and extremely good value - well worth a visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeldi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for 1 night and was blown away, the room was fantastic, Evening Meal Delicious, and Breakfast to die for, The Pub itself is really lovely as are the Staff, and Locals alike, if your ever in their vicinity We Highly Recommed a Visit, 10 out of 10

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tally Ho!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho!

Property: Tally Ho!
Address: 14 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hatherleigh
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Tally Ho! Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing