We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great mid point stay for the coast to coast bike ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friars Hele Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 5 Hatherleigh B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great mid point stay for the coast to coast bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the way from Plymouth on our bikes. We had a warm welcome and then cooled off in the pool after a hard days ride. They owners are really kind and helpfull, even dropping us off at the local pub. Fantastic breakfast ready for a days ride. A must for anyone doing the coast to coast!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank churchbridge22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for just one night in August 2013 and couldn't recommend it enough. Very welcoming, Kim couldn't do enough for us, superb views and idyllic location. Breakfast was very good. We hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GailT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We were two cyclists staying overnight half way through riding Plymouth to Ilfracoombe. Both our rooms were excellent - beautifully decorated with large comfortable beds and modern bathrooms, well stocked with toiletries.
A good fresh English breakfast cooked to order provided the perfect set up to our second day's ride. Sue was an attentive host and went out of her way to make our stay as pleasurable as possible.
This is probably the best value B and B I have ever stayed at - thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were a large party of cyclists cycling the sustrans route 27 from Ilfracoombe to Plymouth and this was our half way stop. Couldn't have asked for more. Tea and coffee on arrival after a hard days cycle. Fantastic showers and a bonus of a small swimming pool. Hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Substantial breakfasts. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay either in passing or as a base to explore the countryside. Local pub recommendation excellent home made food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen07Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012

I recently stayed at Friars Hele Farm and i had the most enjoyable weekend ever.! Its situated in the most beautiful of places and the views are outstanding . When we arrived we were shown to our room, which were so lovely and everything about it was very clean and tidy, the bed was so cosy and there was a nice large modern shower. There were plenty of things to do like little villages and towns close by to visit or even a nice leisurely walks across the farm land . The family were very welcoming, the food was excellent and i couldn't have wished for a nicer weekend with such a lovely family.. i will defiantly be going back there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This is a newly opened Bed and Breakfast with rooms of a very high standard in a Georgian Farm House on a fully working farm with superb views.

The hosts, Kim and Hank, who are very warm and welcoming will set aside time during their busy schedule to have a good chat and get to know their guests.

The Farm House is set on a hillside overlooking the Torridge Valley with views over Dartmoor National Park and very close to the Tarka Trail where superb horse riding, cycling and walking is available. There is also a heated swimming pool available for the use of guests.

On arrival we were shown to our room which was newly furbished, of a very good size with a king size bed and a modern en-suite with very large shower and a sumptuous variety of toiletries. The room comes with flat screen TV, hair dryer and tea & coffee making facilities. I did take a sneak peek at one of the other rooms which was up to an equally high standard.

We were asked what we would like for breakfast and were offered a choice. We opted for the full English which included bacon, sausages and eggs from a local butcher which were of a high quality and not from the “catering pack” as so often served.

This is close to Meeth, Petrocstow and Hatherleigh, where there are some very good Pubs offering excellent local dishes.

We found Meeth being fairly well situated in the West Country for drives to many known areas and towns of interest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stedders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
1.7 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hatherleigh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
7.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
7.6 mi away
Upcott House
Upcott House
#9 of 24 in Okehampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Elmfield
Elmfield
#1 of 2 in Northlew
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
2.5 mi away
Meadowland Farm
Meadowland Farm
#1 of 1 in Dolton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.1 mi away
Meadowlea Guest House
Meadowlea Guest House
#3 of 24 in Okehampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friars Hele Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friars Hele Farm B&B

Property: Friars Hele Farm B&B
Address: Station Rd, Meeth, Hatherleigh EX20 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hatherleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Friars Hele Farm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friars Hele Farm B&B Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing