We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Evening!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Memorable Evening!”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The George Hotel was completely rebuilt after total destruction by fire five years ago. It is now a superb reconstruction of the original circa circa 1450 thatched building so that, although it has all the appearance of a very old building with lovely old timbers, flagstones etc, it actually has beautifully fitted modern rooms and facilities but still in the old style.

A group of seven of us stayed at the George Hotel for a night in the middle of cycling The Tarka Trail. The weather was appalling and we arrived very wet and very dirty. The staff could not have been more accomodating and didn't blink an eye at this crowd of battered, filthy men arriving to stay with them!

The bar was lively from mid afternoon until closing time and we had a splendid and merry stay at The Gerge. The rooms are very comfortable and very well appointed with lovely modern showers, very comfortable beds, underfloor heating, tea making facilities and large modern Television. I think that it is fair to rate the rooms as 'Luxury', which is the description given by the hotel themselves.

We ate both lunch, dinner and breakfast in the hotel and I would rate this food as good pub food, with breakfast being the best of the three meals. A really good 'Full English'.

The staff at The George were all friendly and helpful and it was a real pleasure to stay at the George. We will stay there again if we make another assault across North Devon on our bicycles!

This would be a very good place to stay for a short romantic break!!

Room Tip: The rooms in the 'Old' part of the hotel are more spacious than the 'New' wings but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gadfly2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    95
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
49
257
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Had this on a deal so happy with what we got. However, for over £100 per night normal rate would have been left a little underwhelmed.
We were in room 8, which unfortunately has a sloping roof - getting out of bed I managed to bang my head and now have a nice little lump, but fortunately learnt from my mistake! Unless you are under 5ft, don't ask for this room. Lovely bathroom with large shower, but they need to sort their plumbing out with an horrendous belching noise when you flush. Apart from this the room was very nice, but no bedside table one side so ended up using the stool for the dressing table. Lovely biscuits on first day - but not replaced the following day, nor was the bottled water.
Staff were welcoming when we arrived and friendly and helpful during our stay.
Breakfast was fine - but if you don't want a cooked breakfast you won't have much to eat. At a "Boutique Hotel" I would expect a reasonable selection of cold buffet options - at the least a yoghurt or piece of fruit. But all that was on offer was cereal and croissants.
We did enjoy our stay and for the price paid a 4 rating is well deserved. Would we stay if paying full price? As we only experienced room 8 I can't comment if the other rooms are small and have sloping ceilings, but based on what we experienced I wouldn't return if paying full price.

Room Tip: don't chose 8 unless you're under 5 foot
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PompomUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Had a stay here on a military mums get together for a weekend, my room was beautiful and was en suite, with tv & coffee/tea making facilities. Beds were very comfy & shower was great! The food for our meal & buffet was delicious both nights and the staff could not have been more welcoming and accommodating! Even made us a banner welcoming all the military families. For such an emotional weekend, this was the perfect place! I recommend this place to anyone for a nice weekend break, or longer stay! Once again I can not thank the staff enough for the wonderful service we all received, they could not have been more helpful!!
Will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We could not fault the hotel, it was so friendly the staff was great, food was great,hotel was lovely and clean. All the staff never stopped working. and even the customers made you welcome, it was so relaxing sitting in the bar in your slippers and no one said any thing!. and a bonus winning top prize on the meet hamper on the sunday! Thankyou all.

Room Tip: one/ two/ three / and four/ but dont tell all
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

This was a 2 night break with " Wowcher " which was excellent value for money . We did spend a little extra up-grading our room which was well worth the extra . We had a lovely 6' bed & a roll-top bath in the room , plus a super wet-room , fluffy white towels , lovely biscuits & toiletries included . We had dinner included the first night . Starters of Tempura Prawns and a leek & potato soup were excellent , however the Loin of Pork off the special board was disappointing as it was barely warm & very dry , however the veg was nice & hot . We were compensated by free desserts . The second night we made our choice off the pub menu choosing things that had to be cooked fresh & hence had a piping hot meal ! Breakfast was also included & this was also very good . All the staff were very friendly & made us welcome . We would definitely recommend , even if it is a bit off the beaten track .

Room Tip: Worth paying to up-grade to a superior room , you'll love it !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Went to a private function at the George stayed two nights and honestly could not fault a thing. Definitely would love to return. Also the beds were amazing . Well done The George . It isn't often that I bother writing reviews but felt I had to on this occasion because I loved everything about this place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jogoode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Bought a two night B & B stay for two with a two course dinner on one night via Kbg!
We expected a little local pub but on arriving we were very pleasantly surprised to note that its only similarity with a pub is that it has a bar, but it is much more to do with having a good restaurant and a very well appointed Hotel.

The room that we occupied was of a good size, had a very nicely appointed en suite plus TV and Coffee making facilities all as you would expect in a good quality/up market Bijoux Hotel! The staff were welcoming and professional and I would whole heartedly recommend anyone to stay there!
Hatherleigh itself is very small and can be viewed in its entirety in a half-hour stroll. That said it is a very good jumping off point for the Bude to Barnstaple Coastline on the one hand and the other way to Exmouth and the Jurassic Coast. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherleigh
6.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Okehampton
177 reviews
9.7 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
13.3 mi away
Gidleigh Park Hotel
Gidleigh Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Fox and Hounds Country Hotel
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Sourton Cross
10.2 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: 5 Market Street, Hatherleigh EX20 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Hatherleigh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hatherleigh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is located in Devon's smallest town, Hatherleigh. The pub is famous for its lively and welcoming atmosphere, and provides great freshly cooked food, drink and effortless service. Soft modern furnishings complement the traditional and historic building features, creating a warm, inviting feel. A pub with pub values offered with style, charisma and personality. Our menu is a mix of great pub classics and modern English dishes, with sharing plates for informal dining and a great range of mains. We take pride in sourcing our produce locally where possible, and are proud of the sensational food we offer. We offer 13 delightful ensuite rooms, some of which have four poster beds and feature baths. One of our rooms is fully accessible for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Hotel Hatherleigh, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing