We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great accommodation, beautiful location, very...”
other travellers have booked this property
A Sulana exterior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A Sulana exterior
Big French windows and a southerly aspect make for a light-filled sitting room! A peek behind the kitchen counter showing just a few aspects of our attention to detail
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
A Sulana exterior
Big French windows and a southerly aspect make for a light-filled sitting room!
A peek behind the kitchen counter showing just a few aspects of our attention to detail
Our wonderful hot tub: good-looking, beautifully scented (red cedar), lovely to be in
Bedroom two: very relaxing, the twin beds can be transformed into an XL kingsize double
Bedroom one again: the decor is very restful.  Both bedrooms have ensuite shower rooms
Another behind the scenes in the open-plan kitchen
The dining area and open-plan kitchen
Fragrant herbs to pick, pool and spa in the distance
Shower-room, bedroom 2
Shower room, bedroom 1
Pool cascade, sundeck and hot tub
Sunflowers and cypresses on the edge of our village, Moussoulens
5 minutes' drive away is Montolieu, the picturesque 'book and art' village
The renowned medieval citadel of Carcassonne,  a World Heritage site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Moussoulens, Carcassonne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Lisa P
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great accommodation, beautiful location, very relaxing”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We had a fabulous week in an beautiful area. The apartment was excellent and perfectly suited a family with two older children. The pool and hot tub added that extra bit of luxury and made the stay so very relaxing. You could obtain fresh bread and pastries each morning in the village.Nothing was too much trouble for Sue who even arranged opportunities for our daughter to converes in French at a market with a friend of hers.
This was a perfect location to visit Carcassone which is a fantastic place. We even had a trouble free trip to the med coast.
This is a little gem of a place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob345367
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in September 2014

A wonderful gite, well laid out and furnished. Far enough from Carcassonne to be tranquil but close enough to go for an evening meal or Leclerc. The pool and garden are a lovely place to relax. Sue is a great host, with advice when we asked (she recommended an excellent wine merchant in Montolieu) but otherwise letting us get on with it.

We took our bikes, and the area was ideal for cycling with miles of quiet roads all around, and the possibility of cycling along the Canal du Midi to Carcassonne for an ice cream or cool beer. We also found some tougher cycling in the hills to the north, with some wonderful long climbs through the woods.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“a fantastic gite with an excellent location”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

We have visited this gite twice and have booked third return trip for August 2015. The property is really well appointed, with a lovely pool and hot tub. It is well set up for families and two bathrooms is great asset.
The location is really handy for Carcassonne and the Autoroute is close by for day trips. The village has a bakery, grocery shop and local bar that also serves meals. Susan can even book you a table!
We are most definitely looking forward to our next visit.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LePatioDo...
France
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great location for Carcassonne”
Reviewed 3 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in September when visiting Carcassonne and its surrounding vineyards and castles and we had a fabulous time. Sue is friendly and helpful but lets you get on with it. There is a folder with all the information you will need in the Gite. We booked the smallest one just for the two of us and it was really well laid out with a smart bathroom and kitchen, and very private patio area. There is a lovely pool and Japanese Hot Tub in the garden, private secure parking and the small village has a fantastic Bakery, small shop and restaurant a short walk away. This is the first Gite we have stayed in a we loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo B
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous - exactly what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 31 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We needed accommodation while visiting friends in the area and were extremely happy with all the facilities at A Sulana - it is beautifully furnished and decor is clean and contemporary and very well equipped. We enjoyed relaxing on our own spacious terrace and using the swimming pool. Sue was extremely friendly and attentive - greeting us on arrival and never too busy to answer questions. There was lots of useful local information for us to browse through in the gite.
The surrounding area is beautiful and we went walking and cycling in some gorgeous countryside - shame the weather wasn't quite as good as we had hoped but then that's life!
This place is a real gem - definitely worth a stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandRH
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“High quality self-catering accomodation”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My husband and I, with our teenage daughter, stayed at A Sulana for 10 nights in July 14. Sue is to be congratulated for the quality of the accomodation, site and pool. A Sulana has two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a kitchen/lounge. All were spotless. The kitchen was well equipped and of a high standard. NIce patio area; garden and pool south-facing and immaculate. Sue was very friendly and helpful; a good source of local knowledge. The village is very pleasant, with some good local walks and convenient boulangerie and grocers shop. Carcasonne was about 15 mins away, with a large Leclerc supermarket about 10 mins distant.
We really enjoyed our stay and will visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the general ambience - very relaxing and very clean
Liked least: no criticisms
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenlisa...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“French idyll”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Just spent 2 weeks staying at A Sulana-beautifully restored French gite. Location ideal for local cafe, boulangerie and mini-market and a lovely pool and a hot-tub on site so you can do as we did and do completely nothing. If you want to go further afield wineries, chateaux, walks, historic cities are all within easy reach! Sue can provide you with as much or as little information as you need.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing