We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Varca
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed here for our 2 week honeymoon in mid October and we had a fantastic time. We had never travelled to India before but we would love to visit again. The food at the hotel was beautiful, so fresh & tasty we were very impressed. The chefs made a point of coming out of the kitchens each evening to talk to the guests & they genuinely seemed to care what the feedback was. We adored the Indian food that we were served.
The pool was large and clean, the rooms were also really clean & the bed very comfortable.
All the staff we met were very professional and helpful.
The hotel is located in a quite village, about a 10 minute drive from the next village Colva. There are no bars / places to wander out to from the hotel but taxis are safe / cheap if you wanted to venture further. It depends what kind of break you want! We just wanted to relax so it was great for us, Colva had plenty of gift shops / stalls for stocking up before we left. We didn't visit the beach properly, there were a few stray dogs wandering around which put us off, (remember we are 1st time visitors to India so it wasn't what we were used to!) however the beach itself is huge & really quiet compared to Colva.
The grounds are immaculate and staff are constantly around working hard, gardening, cleaning etc.
We were really impressed we found the place very relaxing & we adored India, the people are so lovely we really want to go back. Please don't be put off by any bad reviews on here, I was pregnant when we travelled so we were extra cautious & we never had a single issue, mozzy protection is essential but we escaped bite free!
We're still waiting for our postcards to make it to the uk but other than that it was perfect :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seashimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    613
    204
    91
    101
See reviews for
696
470
25
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
US
Level Contributor
75 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

The Zuri white sands has evolved over the last couple of years as a exceptional property... The pool chiseled as a lagoon is easily reached from all rooms on the ground floor giving an advantage compared to a private pool. The beach is very clean and less populated compared to the other beaches in Goa. There is a big lawn and play area for recreation. Worth a visit with family. The staff is courteous and always have a smile up their sleeve, however the timeliness of the service needs improvement.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

Back from Goa after a lovely stay at Zuri White Sands. This trip started all wrong but ended right, thanks to some great time we had at the resort!

The wrong beginning:
It was meant to be a family vacation and to avoid last minute issues, we had done booking well in advance through a travel agent known to us (Sal Tours). We made all the payments (LARGE sum) well in advance and were looking forward to family holiday. But due to some unavoidable reasons we had to cancel the trip and when we asked the agent for refund, they shocked us by informing that the booking was non-refundable. They had not mentioned about the booking being non-refundable in any of their communication to us. And to top it all, when we spoke of cancellation, with an exception of one person, the other agent staff were extremely rude. It is quite evident that these people are not trained on how to speak to customers and are probably only forced to meet their sales targets. They simply were not interested to help. We contacted the hotel at Goa directly and requested cancellation, and on their part they were very kind and acknowledged our genuine problem and were willing to give refund after nominal deduction, but we were made to go round and round in circles for many days by the agent and hotel representative of Mumbai (for obvious reasons) and completely frustrated us! Despite the hotel agreeing verbally to allow cancellation, the agent maintained the booking cannot be canceled and as if they were doing a big favor on us, they told they will allow us to transfer the bookings if we find some takers. Finally some friends agreed to come with their families after we gave them massive- massive discounted rates. So we were finally ready to take this literally forced trip!

But things were good after that:
We reached Goa and were pleasantly surprised by the resort. Its a beautiful well kept property with HUGE swimming pool, large green lawns and direct access to very beautiful white sand beach!
Checking in was easy and rooms were quite nice. We had superior and deluxe rooms and they were on the first floor. The deluxe rooms are bigger than superior with view of lush green lawns... otherwise there's not much difference between the two. Barring some issues with housekeeping (regarding not providing fresh towels and bottled water etc in one of our rooms), our entire stay at Zuri was very pleasant.

Our activities at the resort:
Morning buffet breakfast was good with large spread (from dosa's to omeletts to sausages to breads and pastries to juices and milkshakes and a lot more!). The live counter guys did their jobs well.

Next was the pool. A VERY large meandering pool (one of the largest in Goa) with children pool and very clean water. We had great time here. Evenings were spent on the beach that had excellent white sands. Kids just loved the pool and the beach. There's also a kids room with plenty of activities for kids and paid activities like cycling, shooting, archery, Plus free use of steam and jacuzzi.

Food: Except for breakfast, we didn't eat at the hotel. We love to try local food so we would try out different joints. The one right outside the hotel serves good chinese but OK OK goan food. A trip to "Martins Corner" at Betalbatim beach is a MUST for food and for the experience.
We also discovered 2 unknown gems very close to Zuri sands. One called Kinara (located a little before Haathi Mahal, on the way to Leela) and other called Garden Court (close to the neighboring Club Mahendra resort). Both serve excellent Goan as well as other type of food.

We stayed 4 nights and believe me, we all wanted to stay more!

The only negative I would like to point out about Zuri sands is the compulsory Xmas gala dinner. There was lot of food, live music, performances but no free wine or liquor. For 7k per person that they charged, the least they could have done was keep a free bottle of wine on tables.

But on the whole we really enjoyed and will surely stay at Zuri Sands again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdesai71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Arrived at Zuri on Dec. 21, stayed 3 nights. Provided with pool-side room, excellent check-in service by Nishant, Duty Manager. We faced some challenges with service. We brought it to immediate attention of General Manager Franco. He acted immediately and from then onwards it was a perfect service and holidays. The management needs to impose strict swimwear rules for the pools -- found some of Indian guests were inside pools with undergarments !
Will recommend friends to visit this hidden secret in Goa !! Well done Nishant and Franco.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mitra_jayeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed at the Zuri in November for our family holiday as well as the venue for hosting our wedding at the wedding. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the service and hospitality displayed by the staff was exceptional. We had bulk booked pool facing rooms for family coming for the wedding and these were arranged next to each other.

One of our family members is a coeliac, so had a lot of dietary requirement. This was not a problem for Zuri. Vinod, the chef, met with her every day taking her through the gluten free food options on the menu. If the choice was limited any particular night, he would went prepare a 3 course meal for her. He and the rest of the staff were very attentive and couldn’t do enough. It definelty made it a good holiday for us.

For the wedding arrangements Prem and Erlic were fantastic in arranging and co-coordinating everything with us and our planners and made the whole process very easy. Meetings were arranged promptly with the different departments feeding into the wedding and the staff from each of these departments instilled confidence, which was reassuring in the days leading up to the wedding. On the day everything came together perfectly. Our guests had a fantastic time and loved the food and snacks served. The main feature of the night though was the beautiful cake that exceeded our expectations in looks and taste. Our wedding guests who stayed at the hotel also couldn’t say enough good things about the wedding and they all had a fantastic stay.

Overall we had a brilliant stay and will definitely be returning to the Zuri on our next trip to Goa.

Room Tip: Room 111 was fantastic. Pool facing but quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essex_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

I visited zuri resort with one of my friend not so gr8 experience though we recommened hotel to our friend vikas and rahul they going to check in 1 feb hope you donn let us down hope hotel guys feel them like they have really come to 5 star give them good room

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vikas10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 26 December 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review and thank you for recommending us to your friends. We shall indeed give them a wonderful vacation. Our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay in October. Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2011

We stayed at the Zuri White Sands in the month of May.
The airport pick up did not turn up, and there began our mis-vacation. The check in to the hotel took a record 2 hours, with the main lobby resembling a busy Indian railway station! With the filth and crowds intact.
The food, when available, was pathetic. Clearly, zuri could not manage the package tour crowds that had descended there.
The pool saw fully clothed women lounging in the water with naked babies in tow. The food, a buffet spread, ran out at every meal, and room service was non existent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank preekay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZuriHotels, Manager at The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino, responded to this review, 20 December 2011
Dear guest
Thank you for your feedback,
Please accept our profound apologies for the misfortunate series of events which made your vacation unpleasant. There were many guests who were staying at the same time and had truly enjoyed themselves and were raving about our hospitality. While we cannot erase your bad experience, we sincerely apologize for the same and invite you to stay with us again and experience true Zuri hospitality. Please do contact us for your next visit and we shall ensure a memorable experience and that is our promise.

Warm Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
1.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,148 reviews
19.8 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
21.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
23.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#8 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino

Property: The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino
Address: Pedda, Varca 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#3 Spa Hotel in Varca
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Zuri White Sands Goa Hotel Varca
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort And Casino
The Zuri White Sands Goa Resort & Casino Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing