We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This was our 1st trip to Goa. We stayed at the Ramada Caravela for 2 weeks from 8th January. We booked a standard room and it was a nice surprise when we arrived to be in a 'villa'. The hotel is lovely, the staff really go out of their way to give fantastic customer service. the pool Supervisor Daz and his team went that extra mile to ensure we had a great time. The food was delicious too. Our only constructive critisism would be that although you expect prices to be higher in a 5* hotel, we would have liked to see more offers like 'Happy Hour' at the pool bar to encourage hotel guests to drink in the hotel. We were usually the only customers using the swim up pool bar, which we did on a daily basis. It was 100 rupees outside the hotel for a large Smirnoff Vodka, 760 plus tax in the hotel. Our bar bill for the fortnight was £420, we spent more on drinks in the hotel than we did eating outside the hotel in 2 weeks! Our other disappointment was that although the hotel was not full when we checked out, a complimentary room was not available, unless we paid £110, as we were not leaving the hotel until 10pm. We were given use of the shower in the toilet area in the Spa but on our many trips to the Far East, we have always had a complimentary late check out room available. Having said this, it would not stop us returning or recommending this lovely hotel, set in beautiful grounds with a golf course and lovely beach facilities and Sunset Bar to sit with a cocktail and watch the gorgeous sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Joanne J
Thank you for your feedback. Yes. I am sure we can do something additional to our "Happy Hour." I will work on it with the F & B Manager.
Do accept my apologies for not giving a late check out for someone who has stayed for 2 weeks. I will investigate the matter and have some solution worked out. Do get in touch before your next visit. We shall make amends. Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,059)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,059 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

This property is recommended for all those who want to experience a great holiday in south goa. the service levels are very good and the property is very big. recommended for all families, couples, business etc. a little far from the main hubs of north goa though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShamikJoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear ShamikJoshi
Thank you for posting your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back at the Hotel again. Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Best part is its location n service is amazing too. U can jst hop onto the beach anytime bcoz d hotel is on d beach. Try n take d sea facin rooms. D place is really big wit a golf course too n many other amenities.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donbritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear donbritto
Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next trip. Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

The property is awesome
Beach is pristine
Food is very good
Rooms were a lil disappointment coz they have not been redone for years
Reasonably priced
Liked the pool side arrangement of buffet with music
Nice lobby
Staff however was very slow in their work
The hotel cab was right on time to pick us up n drop us back

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Solankirg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Solankirg
Thank you for your feedback. Every year we renovate different parts of the Hotel. One Wing was renovated last year. One the year before. It is a continuous process.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel and promise you the "Newest" room available.
Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

### AVOID RAMADA ###

We had a 4 nights stay in December 2013, we made a prior request to manager to give adjoining rooms by email and also confirmed on a call.
On reaching rooms, they were different places, and the adjoining room to us was allotted to some other person who came along with us in same coach from airport who had only single room booking.
While sharing issue with manager, he replied "We cannot build rooms over-nite for you"

Also property is not a five star at all, only running because of its name "RAMADA"

travel agents getting some good income so they fool people in this resort, Advani group of hotels need to take care of this property .....

### AVOID RAMADA ###
Gaurav / Indore
9826707710

Room Tip: always take in writing from them on email for adjoining rooms for group bookings....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Gaurav7710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear Gaurav7710
Thank you for your feedback. I regret that we were not able to give you adjacent rooms. Thank you for bringing the matter to my attention. I assure you that the matter will be thoroughly investigated and corrective action taken.
Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Quite unlike what we had expected, we ended having a memorable Goa Trip with Ramada. Right from Airport pick-up till the time we were transported back it's an amazing first-hand experience for me and my small family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank n_krishna2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear n_krishna2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel.
Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I chose this place for our 10th wedding anniversary celebration on the recommendation of a friend. And it turned out to be an absolutely perfect place in every sense right from the check in till check out. When we requested for a doctor, a doctor was organised in 20 minutes, room was good overlooking the pool.though it was a bit small for a resort. Food was outstanding and the chef and his team went out of the way to whip out a special customised 3 course wedding anniv dinner for us and the same was organised at a secluded spot by the sea away from the crowd. 3 waiters waited on us making us feel like royalty. They fulfilled every single demand from me starting from flowers, to cake etc..and the best part is the price of the package.. it was a steal for the experience we had got..

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PSPuvacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RCBRGeneralManager, General Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear PSPuvacha
Thank you for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel. And yes! We always try and accommodate special requests to make your stay memorable.
Best regards
T P Singh Uberoi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#4 of 10 in Cavelossim
1,606 reviews
16.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Grand Hyatt Goa
Grand Hyatt Goa
#1 of 3 in Bambolim
2,379 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa Goa
3.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#2 Spa Hotel in Varca
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
Price Range: £89 - £1,048 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing