We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good place but lots to be done to make it excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Caravela Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Good place but lots to be done to make it excellent”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Trip Details:

Check in : 01st June 2014
Check Out : 05th June 2014
Room No: 241
Vacation Type : Family

To begin with, i was skeptical about what other co-travellers had written. Normally when we talk about a 5 star resort, we imagine a surreal and serene place of relaxation and well being. My stay in ramada was with ups and downs.

Reception: the ladies are really hard working, but they can still be warm,a smile makes a very big difference

Formalities : check in & check out was very prompt

Room : Very beautiful room, with pool view , a decent balcony to sit out( though we were informed, we are not supposed to open the balcony door)

Bathroom : Big & spacious, some rework required.

Staff: Again the same thing, they dont look enthusiastic, its like yes we are here thats why we are working. I noticed this in the restaurant as well(discussed later)

Pool : it was nice, but there was sand inside the pool and after bringing it in the notice, i was told we cant do much about it.But kudos to the pool attendants who chat and try to take the stress away. Pool towards the left corner is 6 feet deep and trust me it is DEEP. Properly marked areas good to go.

Lawns: Very beautiful lawns.

Problem Areas:

Restaurant : Buffet breakfast is served outside, so we have flies and also dogs coming inside the eating area. I saw this twice, once inside the eating area and second time, a dog was licking plates outside a villa.Not appreciated

Staff: Staff in restaurant was very disinterested, no smile, no warmth. U go and sit, then one has to ask for water, and other things. And then to be told, we are busy, really not good. Restaurants are meant to be busy, this cant be used as an escape. And secondly its your duty to make the customer feel comfortable. No one is seen happy, you ask for something, it will come when they want to get it.

Live counter for omlette, is open from the top, which means people walking towards the restaurant will be greeted by the smell of omlette being cooked. A chimney inside a small covered area would keep the area fresh.It was good to see Jain counters as well. Over all it is a very good place, but just the management needs to be more keen in handling their staff.

Full Marks to Room Service, they were up and running, greeting with a warm hello, giving ideas for food. Helpful in whatever way they can. Menu has only 4 vegetarian dishes which should be looked into. As there is nothing around the resort, it is difficult to manage in just 4 dishes.

So all in all good trip. and a must visit, few flaws which can be corrected easily. I would request the management to look into these things, as it has been pointed out by many guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schaturvedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Sir

Greetings from Ramada Caravela Beach Resort Goa

We thank you for taking your time to post your valueable feedback about your stay at the resort.

We are thankfull for the appreciation and as well as your critical comments about the services

It is our endevaour to ensure that we take all the feedbacks in a positive way and all corrective measures taken and not repeated again


Thanking you once again and look forward to welcome you back at the resort once again

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    578
    215
    96
    84
See reviews for
760
506
38
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I booked superior room at Ramada Caravela for my honeymoon from 25th May 2014 to 31st May 2014. It was amazing experince at Ramada. Clean beach, delicious food(Both veg and nonveg), Great pool. Yes and one more Away from crowd!!!
Everything was perfect!! Room cleaning was excellent!! Free WiFi in lobby area has a good data spped. Even for single moment we didnt felt to go out of this beutiful property.
Definately we would like to visit this AWESOME resort again in future!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raj_dol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Raj_Dol


We are very delighted to learn that your stay at our resort was a veery memorable one

We are thankfull for posting such an excellent review of your stay with us

It delights us to strive and better our service standards

Thanking you once again and look forward to wecome you back

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Our stay at the Ramada Caravela Beach resort was simply wonderful. The property is magnificent and situated right along a beautiful white sand beach. Service was great and so was the food. Pool, golf, beach, and so much more. We will surely be back at this hotel for another awesome holiday.This hotel also organizes themed Nights. If you guys ever book a stay in this Hotel then Please don't miss these themed nights. Specially BBQ Themed Night Dinner. we enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ravbhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Ravbhardwaj

Thank you for your excellent feedback about the reosrt and services

We are truly thankful for taking your time and posting such wonderful review

Your comments about theporperty, food and theme nights are a delight to us and are shared with our team members

Thanking you once again

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was looking for a serene, peaceful and clean beach hotel in goa away from the bustling city life. This place is exactly what I asked for. The commute from the city is about 45 mins. The rooms are very well appointed and the staff is excellent. Some improvement can be done in the food department.

Also its is a HUGE property, huge lawns with a minute's commute to the beach. There is a huge lawn between the beach and and the hotel. So if you re expecting a sea view from you room thats not gonna happen.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would love to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anandpatel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Anand Patel

Many thanks for taking your time to post a wonderfull review of your stay at our resort.

We are truly thankful for the appeciation of the resort and the staff

Your comments about the improvement in Food and Beverage is ben noted and appropriate training is been imparted


Thanking you once again

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights for a business event. The resort is well designed, spacious and despite the old property, kept quite well. The check in and check out process was a little cumbersome. But overall the resort is comfortable, provides the typical Goa experience and has good access to the beach. Will be a good choice for a Goa vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AashishC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Ashish C

We appreciate your vauleable feedback and are thankfull for the time taken to post a nice review of the resort.

Your comments about the check in and check out procedure being cumbersome, we shall take adequate care to ensure that staff is trained to minimise the time taken to do the process

We look forward to welcome you back once again some time later

Thanking you

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Navi Mumbai, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our family stayed at the “Oriental Villa” at Ramada Caravela Beach Resort from 18.05.2014 to 21.05.2014. At the outset the ambience of the foyer, lobby was a refreshing change in the heat of Goa at the time. Add to it the welcome we received by the Guest Relations and then the Villa itself. Transported entirely in the Orient was the villa with a fabulous décor, setting, location and a perfect environment which made us feel instantly at home.

The food at the restaurants were an appetizing spread with a caring fraternity and a superb dining area. The spread – multi cuisine and with everything to cater to, right from kids to the health conscious was a treat in itself.

Thank you Ramada for a fantastic holiday experience. We will surely come back for more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Anita K

Greetings from Ramada Caravela Beach Resort Goa

We thank you for your wonderfull feedback and your time taken to post the review

Truly delighted to note your appreciation of the lobby, the villa and the food and the services

Your appreciation entrusts and motivates us to enhance and exceed our level of services

We look forward to welcome you back some time later again

Thanking you

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Finally i reach the place, which i booked and give a feedback “disappointment with reservation department". We went there on Feb 2014. Property is very old but well maintained. And i really like the property. We missed our flight so we reached at evening around 5.30pm. They are supposed to give some refreshment to us, but frezer(from reception) didn't provide that. We got the room which i wanted too. And main thing hotel ppl is too good. 99.9% people from hotel to know that how to take care of all the customers. As usual Mr. Singh keeps his promise for me; he gave complimentary massages to both of us against half day tour. Which was also awesome, and food is too good, only i don't like the same breakfast in those 4 days. Beach sacks are also good; beach is very clean and maintained by hotel stuff. And no doubt pool is also well maintained by stuff. The hotel disk is really dead, so please don't expect such owaooo factor from disk. Even i asked thrice to get my complimentary Goan Wine, which they are supposed to give me at the time of check in. I am not happy with room cleaning ppl. The bed very uncomfortable for us.
And i would like to thanks to Chef Adbul and other chef and the kitchen team, who really understand the need of mine. As per my instruction they made proper infant khicdi for my baby. And also would like to give best wishes to all kitchen and dine in team who has done their best job, and Mr Singh, Dhanraj and subhra who also done their job very good. i would like to give 4 star to for this property. One thing i would like suggests to Mr T. P Singh that you should take care of those Indian customers in the same way which you applied for your foreign customers. South goa is much expensive than north goa.
Anyway in these resorts i never feel that i am home away. All stuff is very friendly toward me and my family, which i really like it. Still i don't want to be connected with Mumbai reservation team, as they are pathetic.
I would like to forget every negative portion of my trip and would love to go to again until and unless they give me best packages in future.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RamadaCaravelaGoa, Manager at Caravela Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Anita K

Greetings from Ramada Caravela Beach Resort Goa

We thank you for your wonderfull feedback and your time taken to post the review

Truly delighted to note your appreciation of the lobby, the villa and the food and the services

Your appreciation entrusts and motivates us to enhance and exceed our level of services

We look forward to welcome you back some time later again

Thanking you

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
2.4 mi away
Taj Exotica Goa
Taj Exotica Goa
#1 of 14 in Benaulim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,904 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leela Goa
The Leela Goa
#1 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,205 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
Holiday Inn Resort Goa
#5 of 10 in Cavelossim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.8 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
16.8 mi away
The LaLiT Golf & Spa Resort Goa
20.8 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravela Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravela Beach Resort

Property: Caravela Beach Resort
Address: | Varca Beach, Salcete, Varca 403721, India (Formerly Ramada Caravela Beach Resort)
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Varca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#1 Spa Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Caravela Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goa’s first international beach resorts, The Caravela Beach Resort is located in South Goa on the serene, pristine white sands of Varca Beach overlooking the beautiful Arabian Sea. This luxurious 5-star deluxe resort sprawls across 24 acres of lush green landscape and offers 199 rooms - each with its own balcony overlooking either the ocean or manicured gardens and the swimming pool. The Suites and Villas are airy and lavish, and radiate a contemporary, elegant decor. The Presidential Villa is an exercise in extravagance, splendor and grandeur. It features a stunning space with a grand living room, two bedrooms and a private balcony overlooking the ocean, while the master bedroom features an outdoor rain shower and Jacuzzi. One can discern a strong presence of the old Goan architecture with Portuguese influences in the large open Atrium lobby, with its high arches and beams. The wide range of indoor, outdoor and beachfront restaurants and bars entice the guests with their distinctive culinary delicacies and exotic cocktails. The hotel has one of Goa’s largest free-form swimming pools, direct access to the soft white sand beach, its own 9 hole Par 3 golf course, an Ayurveda spa, a scenic jogging track and ocean front beach lawns, all of which make The Caravela Beach Resort a perfect destination for families and couples, and those seeking relaxation amidst the perfect Goan surroundings. With Goa’s ever-increasing popularity as a fun destination, conference and wedding venue, the resort promises to create some unique and memorable experiences. The poolside facing the inviting lush green lawns overlooking the scenic white sand beach and the elegant pillar-less banquet rooms offer an unmatched choice of locations. Besides, the flawless service and delectable cuisine at The Caravela Beach creates those perfect magical moments for a dream destination in Goa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Caravela Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Caravela Beach Hotel Varca
Ramada Salcette
Salcette Ramada
Ramada Caravela Beach Resort
Caravela Beach Resort Goa/Varca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing