We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice property but badly requires maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Varca Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Varca
goa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“nice property but badly requires maintenance”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We were allotted villas and the first impression was a bit off a let down, the main door required a coat of paint, once inside the rooms were nice but in dire need of maintenance, the fan regulator came in my hand, paint stains on all the furniture, teh room over all was great, the service staff were excellent and handled all situations with a smile, overall it was a great stay, I guess probably because of the heavy monsoons the wear and tear of the property could be the reason.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilovearpora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    85
    45
    34
    26
See reviews for
90
66
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

great stay with great property,one of best place for honemoon...food is awesome but littlebit costly...but value for money....only thing you should have your own vehicle as to move around in margaon city whic is 8km away,no public transport avaialble....hotel cars are costly aprox 800 irs for 8km....beach is completly neat n clean...good for couple...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmed c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pondicherry
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

If you thought Goa was only for the beaches,booze and parties,check it out in the rains.And for that purpose,this resort is just perfect.I also researched a lot before our monsoon trip to Goa,and was rather apprehensive about staying at this hotel since it is so far from town and poorly connected.But if one wants to stay put and just enjoy getting soaked,nothing could be better.

The resort is right on the beach,with a long stretch of private beach with clean firm white sand,and though swimming in the sea is not a good idea in the rainy season,walking along the seashore is a beautiful experience in itself;there are interesting formations in the sand made by small rivers that flow into the sea,and lovely seashells to collect!

We had booked a standard room but got upgraded to poolside villa because of the off season.The staff are courteous and helpful-minor problems with the rooms-water,flush,A/C,TV,etc. were sorted out quickly.Room service is fair.But guests are encouraged to visit the beachside restaurant-the menu is wide with a good choice of drinks;the dishes are well-cooked and substantial in quantity.The dogs,cats,etc.may be annoying but given the lack of tourists in the monsoon,the animal life was most welcome!

Beach walks,village walks,swimming pool,spa and small shopping gallery(which also stocks swimsuits,shorts,T-shirts for emergency purchase)are enough to keep one busy.A children's park would be a good idea too-swings,slides,etc.And better connectivity-bus,auto,etc. at regular intervals-would be great.Cabs are on the pricier side,and hiring a two-wheeler or bicycle is not feasible.

Would definitely want to go back-to enjoy the summer,and again to enjoy Christmas,but it gets crowded during peak season,and first impressions are always the best,so who knows?

Room Tip: The poolside villas offer great views of the gardens and beachside,and it's nice to just hop acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravel749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Stayed two nights in the cottage here. Clean rooms and toilets.Prompt service. Beautiful gentle beech. Very quiet. It started raining while we were in the restaurant. Umbrellas were immediately sent there so that we could get back to the cottage after dinner. Food too is fine except for the dogs that are at the entrance of the dining space.

Room Tip: The cottages near the pool are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajithsimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Stayed there over New Years. Restful, food was fine and the beach location among the trees was just beautiful. Hotel staff service was mixed but couldn't let that impact the overall wonderful experience. Did need some help with room issues - finally worked out. It IS a long trip in a taxi but if you want clean beach access within a two minute walk, this is it. Would NOT recommend the parasailing - no dock and had to have a crew member up there with you.. Also, dolphin watching trip was ok except for getting in and out of boat and over first three waves. Make sure your camera is waterproof. Would go back if ever got chance. Stayed in main building - not sure how it compares with the small self-contained rooms around the pool. It was all so pretty and colorful as well..

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paydayfp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shimoga, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Just returned from this place after staying here for a 2D/1N stay at pool cottage.Had a mixed experience since I had booked it through goibibo.com at the last minute,I just have the feeling that I was charged more for the stay.Place is nice and the complete setup is beautiful with good green garden,a beautiful pool and the vast private beach.The entire staff was co-operative and even the front office staff were good and supportive.I have complaint's regarding the food.The complimentary breakfast was okay sort of and nothing special for the amount they have charged.The restaurant area is clean and huge but I was taken aback seeing the Menu-tariff list.Its very expensive considering the star rating of the resort.We had both our lunch & dinner at a place very nearby called" tangies joint,fatrade".I would also advice my review readers to go for the AP plan at this place and have food elsewhere.I came to know from other fellow traveller's at this place that there was nothing special about their buffet lunch & dinner.A walk on their beach in the morning is an activity not to be missed.I just think that for the amount they are charging they need to have atleast complimentary activities like a boat ride on a beach or some beach activity.Overall I liked this place but would think twice before planning once again since I am sure I have many good places in close proximity were I would be offered more for the same package.Way to go varaca palms!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chats1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is a reasonably medium size resort at Varca. It has cottage style rooms. I also found that they have regular rooms in small building near the reception. The room that I got was one of the premium rooms they have. It was small and cozy. Good enough for 1 or 2 people. The swimming pool was right in front. The restaurant was pretty close from the room. A small walk would take you to the beach. There are couple of shacks on beach close to the resort. The restaurant serves decent food. I ordered food couple of times in the room and it was reasonably good. The resort is quiet away from the main road so you'll have to depend on some vehicle to go out. There's nothing on the road till you come out on the main road that's bit far from main gate of the resort. So that's the only disadvantage. Therefore it's a nice place if you want to relax and spend time in resort or beach. Like all hotels in goa they also have taxi drivers seating at the gate who have fixed rates. Some of them are pretty arrogant to Indian guests if you try to bargain. I have been to goa many times and most of the times i experience that people here behave very different when they are dealing with indian tourists. They are more interested in foreigners. I could manage to convince a guy and got a reasonable deal. But overall they charge too much. I really don't understand why government is not doing something about this.
The spa is also very good.
The housekeeping was very prompt and kept my room clean and welcoming every day.

Room Tip: Would definitely suggest the rooms near the pool. They are very conveniently located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIPS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
0.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
1.2 mi away
Regenta Resort Varca Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Beleza...by the beach
Beleza...by the beach
#2 of 6 in Betalbatim
768 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baywatch Beach Resort
18.4 mi away
Cidade de Goa
Cidade de Goa
#1 of 10 in Dona Paula
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varca Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varca Palms Beach Resort

Property: Varca Palms Beach Resort
Address: Teen Murti,Atrade, Varca 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#6 Spa Hotel in Varca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Varca Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varca Palms Beach Resort, Goa is located on one of the most magnificent beaches in Goa with 27 kilometers of golden sand, just 45 minutes from the Dabolim airport and within reach of every major tourist attraction. Located on a sprawling 14-acre property off the splendid Varca beach, the Resort is a lush tropical paradise that promises you a picture-perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varca Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varca Palms Beach Hotel Varca
Varca Palms Beach Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing