We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - bad food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varca Palms Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Varca
Reviewed 18 May 2014

the hotel is right on a fantastic stretch of beach. really beautiful - no tourists, clean and with lifeguard, all to yourself. Hotel is spread over a large area. good pool, tennis, badminton, volleyball, cricket. only downside is the food. bad breakfast and insipid lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Pool villas are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayDeePune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

The only saving grace for this resort was the staff who were very cordial and accommodating specially the reception, room cleaners and bell boy.

Firstly we were in for a rude shock when we were told that the booking made via yatra.com was not confirmed at their end and that there was no availability for one of the four days we had booked. The staff were kind enough to work this out and uphold our reservation.

We had to change 2 rooms before settling in to the third room, first because there were cockroaches and second because the air conditioner was not working.

Not sure why food and alcohol was not served across the property, specially near the swimming pool and near the beach though they have provided place to chill and relax at these parts of the property. You can get alcohol and food only in the restaurant or in the room.

They have a fairly large property with a private beach (clean) which is great.

The food over was good, specially breakfast and had variety on all days.

I rated my overall hotel experience as 3 on 5 because i expected more from an ambiance, upkeep, cleanliness stand point but was happy with the food and staff attitude. The cleaners and bell boys are very well mannered and offer to help.

The tea/coffee maker was so stained that i did not use it for my 4N/5D stay... though i love drinking coffee.

Fridge was there in 2 of the 3 rooms we booked. TV remote did not work for 1 of the 3 rooms

Room Tip: I suggest you see the room and convince yourself before taking the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacobmeril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

My husband and I stayed to this hotel for four day on our first wedding anniversary. The hotel had its very own private beach, calm and quite... devoid of any crowd. I great place to laze on the beach with a book to read. Not for the lovers of wild side of Goa though. The food was to our liking. Our package included a sumptuous complimentary breakfast and lunch which was quite delicious. They also arranged a cake and fresh flowers as we requested for the occassion. Our package also included a half-day city tour which was quite well-paced and not hurried... and was thoroughly enjoyed. Overall we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank forvijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Last visit was in 2012, this time - 27th to 30th March 2014, with 5 families -18 members group.
However,were very disappointed this time. In detail, here goes :-
Pro's :- Proximity to beach; Solitude; Not over-crowded ;Staff reasonably good and helpful ;
Con's :- The 3N/4D AP package (Rs.34,000/- with extra bed, for a family of 4), was a rip-off ; we could have got a better deal at this rate ; resort too far from anywhere ; rooms not well -maintained, going to seed,with broken latches/door-knobs/flooring etc; Buffet food at the restaurant not satisfactory , limited non-veg options; DO NOT TAKE THEIR FREE OFFER OF HALF DAY SIGHT-SEEING TOUR WITH RIVER CRUISE -- The resort is so far that you'll spend an hour just reaching Panjim; Then the River cruise itself is a joke - Stand in line to get onto the ferry (Hah,on a holiday, you want to stand in a queue ??), then squeeze yourself into the Over-crowded ferry --- Not worth it. Instead, ask for full Spa treatment , at least one masseur is good.
Taxis fleece you;Nearest Casino was Zuri Sands, and we paid 400/- for a taxi one-way ; Then we found that we could walk back via the beach in only 20 min's ; YES, The casino was only walking distance via the beach, but the hotel staff did not tell us that, instead suggested taxi. So their priority is earning from the tourists at all costs (not healthy work ethics at all.)
Summation - Look for other options.

Room Tip: Pool-facing villas are 2 side-by-side with another inter-connected room with 2 beds ; so opt for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anit a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The rooms are very stinky with uncomfortable bed and broken main door / chairs. The staff is not helpful even not guiding the guests for basic facilities like Bike on rent / Taxi etc . They have Taxi mafia outside their hotel as they don't allow other taxi to enter into hotel, even bike rental people are scared of this hotel in particular as the taxi mafia can get violent , Rental Bikes are available nearby ( Club Mahindra ) but hotel staff is not guiding any guests about that and it seems they get commission from Taxi union.The room service was bad and had to call multiple times even to clean the room.The housekeeping guys have master keys and they open room anytime without guests permission.Not much options available in drinks.Rooms do not have refrigerator and had very small LCD.Try to avoid this hotel as this hotel is really in bad condition with not so helpful staff.

Room Tip: Book a Pools Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank himanshumalik81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Booked 2 Garden Villas for 1 night. The rooms are very bad...in fact the main door to 1 room was broken to the extent that we thought the someone could just kick the door and enter at night. The towels and mattresses were so bad that we could not use it at all. To add to the miserable experience the food was pathetic.
Would recommend that you please try and avoid the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Vidsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was my second visit to Varca Palms Beach Resort and we stayed there for 3 days, we selected this resort because of the location of the property. When we visited first time we got the free upgrade to Pool Villa from Garden Villa, we did not mind the service as we did not have food there and we were happy with the location. Both the times we reached the resort after 1:30 PM and had to wait for at least 1/2 hour in the reception lobby to check-in as rooms were not ready. Once you reach and do all the formalities you need to wait for 15 minutes to get your so called welcome drink.

Location and Property : The property is located at a very good location and a bit secluded and calm place. This is a pretty old property and not well maintained. If someone do not care about food and service, and just want to relax, than its a good property.

Rooms : Rooms/Villas are badly maintained. Even in similar room types (Garden Villas) you will not find the same setup, we took two Villas in one room there was LCD, Refrigerator and some extra space, where in another room of same room type, there was old styled TV, no refrigerator and very congested with old furniture. Even they call it as Villas, they are three in a row with common entry and no privacy, you can here the voice of people coming from connected Villa. The towels in the room given to us were dirty and smelly, we didn't use them. The room service was okay, we got everything on time.

Food and Drinks : This is one of the terrible experience, we checked-in at 1:30 and since we were tired and hungry, so we decided not to go out and have our lunch there only. We ordered Dal Tadka and Paneer Kabab, and up to our surprise we found a House Fly (almost fried) in the dal and get Paneer Tikka instead of Paneer Kabab, the waiter very innocently (He was innocent, I must admit :) ) said "Sir, the fly must have fallen at the table only and I told chef to make Paneer Kabab but he made Paneer Tikka so I brought it". I mean what kind of explanation is this. They don't have many option in drinks, only kingfisher and Budweiser and when you ask for anything else he simply says "Sir, you will get it in outside Shack" like he was an agent for the Shack. Free Breakfast are Okay, but could be better.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhattvishal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Varca
0.5 mi away
Caravela Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Regenta Resort Varca Beach
0.4 mi away
Club Mahindra Varca Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Goa Cavelossim Beach
1.2 mi away
Goa La Vida Varca, A Sterling Holidays
0.8 mi away
Colonia Jose' Menino Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varca Palms Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varca Palms Beach Resort

Address: Teen Murti,Atrade, Varca 403721, India
Region: India > Goa > South Goa District > Varca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Varca
#7 Spa Hotel in Varca
Price Range: £139 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Varca Palms Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Varca Palms Beach Resort, Goa is located on one of the most magnificent beaches in Goa with 27 kilometers of golden sand, just 45 minutes from the Dabolim airport and within reach of every major tourist attraction. Located on a sprawling 14-acre property off the splendid Varca beach, the Resort is a lush tropical paradise that promises you a picture-perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varca Palms Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varca Palms Beach Hotel Varca
Varca Palms Beach Resort Goa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing