We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge villa but run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at this 3 bedroom Villa with my family of 5 adults and 1 toddler. The villa is huge with our private swimming pool. However, the furnishings are dated and in need of renovation to keep up with time. Villa also have a musty smell and the orange lighting used made the villa very dark. There is a buggy for us to self drive around the entire Nirwana resort. Breakfast place will be abit far without villa especially when we have a toddler and our parents. The price we paid was not worth the money. For the same amount of money paid, we could be able to stay 2 nights at a similar sized but much.modern villa in Bali. Would not stay here again if the Villa is not updated with a lower pricing.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Charlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team (Marketing Communications) at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Hi Charlene O,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were rather troubled to read your feedback and we apologize that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. We have escalated your feedback regarding the villa housekeeping and pricing to our Resort Manager and relevant Department Heads to review and improve on accordingly.

Our resort is going through gradual phases of refurbishment, with the recent completions being our new Deluxe and Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel and also our Garden and Sea View rooms at Mayang Sari Beach Resort. We hope that your recent experience with us will not put us in your permanent disfavour as we would love to have the second opportunity to serve you again.

We hope that you had still managed to experience the various recreational and dining facilities we have to offer within Nirwana Gardens, during your stay. Please feel free to contact us directly should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Four of us rented a Pool Villa at this resort (2 Adults & 2 kids aged 11 & 8)...AWESOME!

THE VILLA: We had such a great time, the Villas are huge...ours had a view of the sea but not of the beach as our Villa was high up looking down on the bay...which at first I thought was a bummer, but once the humid heat kicks in...it's the only place to catch the sea breeze. Even when it rained for a few hours, on the odd day we still swam in the pool (20x10ft 6x3m). The pool is shallow ,only 5ft/1.5m so kinda good for the little ones...
THE DECOR is a bit 80's /90's 'Mediterranean villa' with terracotta tiled floors but it's all clean (villas are serviced everyday), everything works and two flat screens are there to show you as much terrible Indo TV as you want :-) They have a water feature between the outside door and the main door of our villa which was a really nice authentic Indo touch. We had an outside shower and tub too..perfect in humid 30 degree heat.The villas lack any washing lines or washing machine. There's a space and plumbing for a machine but it wasn't there which is poor IMO. Ceiling fans in every main room and AC too, great mattresses, firm with a good med/soft topper & very good cotton sheets with a heavy duvet ..handy if you crank up the AC :-)
TRANSPORT: Each Villa comes with a complementary golf buggy/cart which the kids loved!..little driving lessons were a daily occurrence..really fun! :-)
FOOD...APART FROM TWO INCIDENTS OF HAIRS IN OUR RICE :-(! The food was fantastic!..great Thai restaurant with a v good Wine list...the main Hotel has a couple of restaurants too but lousy Veggie options so we only ate there once...my Pizza :-( was actually really nice..bit thick but good tasting.
The head chef at the Indra Maya building is a Malaysian guy who was fantastic and made some great ROTI's every morning as part of a good breakfast spread...breakfast is a bit short and finishes at 10:00..not great for people resting on holiday IMO.
THE BEACH at Indra Maya building is beautiful and great for kids too.BRING YOUR SNORKELS!!
THE MAIN HOTEL POOL at the main Hotel building is fantastic for everyone.
THE ELEPHANTS..hmmm not sure, kinda of a circus thing really..not for me. I'd prefer seeing them roam about in the beautiful grounds they have there..the guys riding them (yeah riding them) had bull hooks too..Their enclosure is huge though and the hooks were used but only for taps..still not good in 2014 tho eh?
THE BOWLING ALLEY ..good..could do with some music every night but some nights there was none..we often go in London and LA too..almost the same but dated..take your socks with you to save a few $$
THE GUN RANGE.. The guys running it were fantastic and really helped my two kids get the best out of their little BB GUN ..safety was pretty good too.The guys gave my kids about 50% more pellets than we paid for.
RUN DOWN N DIRTY.??
Nah! We did see some room for improvements but we also saw several teams of workers repairing/replacing stuff too..for,the price the place is great..I think people should remember that the place is wet and humid almost all the time so stuff does rot, need repainted, repaired or replaced and we saw plenty of this going on but the works weren't so big that it was like staying in a construction site.
The place is a '4 star local resort' rather than a '4/5 star international' one if this makes sense?
Would we stay there again...YES!

Room Tip: Get a Villa and embrace one that's not 'on' the beach..your reward is a cooling breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TigerandScruffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team (Marketing Communications) at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hi TigerandScruffy,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to know that you and your family had enjoyed your stay in our Indra Maya Pool Villas and also your time spent at the beach and our various recreational facilities. We have duly noted your feedback on the dining options, and will share them with the relevant Department Heads to review.

We are also pleased to share that we are going through gradual phases of refurbishment, the most recent being our new Deluxe and Deluxe Premier rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel and our Garden and Sea View rooms at Mayang Sari Beach Resort. Perhaps you would like to experience them on your return vacation.

Do feel free to share your holiday photos with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan as well. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise on the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We rented the 2 bedroom seafront villa for 2 night. We totally enjoyed it. The pool is great. clean water, facing the south china sea, a view to die for. I could soak there all day. My girls were thrilled.

There is a tiny court yard with a simple, mossy fountain. Both living room and bedrooms could be wide open toward the pool. We open all the doors in the late afternoon to enjoy the evening breeze. But being in the tropic and surrounded by lush greens, they need to be closed at night because of mosquitoes.
Beds and furniture in the villa are nice and clean. I can see the curtains are new but furniture shows wear.

With a one year old on the toll we love the buggy immensely, went out and about so much without having to walk under the scorching sun.

Beach in the resort is great. White as snow, fine as flour. Maybe we came at the right time - we did not see the tar that was written about so much in other reviews, nor jelly fish. We found lots of hermit crabs on the beach in the morning, each with a peculiar shell - that was so much fun!

Finally let me mind you, we are not talking about uber modern, 5-starish luxury. This place is not Four Season for sure. It is more of a rustic, quiet, lay back cottage. So you have to decide if this is your dish - for us, it is every dollar worth spending for a wonderful short stay.

Breakfast at the Spice restaurant is mediocre at most. Kelong seafood is OK.

Room Tip: Villa BlowFish 2 has one of the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charly999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team (Marketing Communications) at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Hi charly999,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were delighted to read that you and you family had enjoyed your stay in the sea-front Indra Maya Pool Villa. We hope you had also managed to experience the various dining and recreational facilities within Nirwana Gardens, made more convenient with your personal buggy to explore our grounds with.

Our beaches, especially the one at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, are our highlight and we were glad to know you had fun during your time spent there. We have duly noted your feedback on the breakfast spread at Spice Restaurant and will share them with our Executive Chef to review and improve on accordingly.

Do feel free to share your holidays photos with us on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan as well. We hope to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise soon, should you be seeking another hideaway on the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Marketed as the best accommodation, the Indra Maya Pool villas seek to impress with its fusion of exotic Indonesia, Thai and Chinese architectural elements. However, I feel that the the villas are long past their prime and cannot be considered luxurious unless something is done to spruce them up to bring them back to their old glory.

The best thing about the villa, to me, is its location. Overlooking the north-western coast of Bintan Island, the 3-bedroom villa that I stayed in had dazzling views of the tranquil sea complete with a tiny island in the distance. The beautiful image alone is enough to capture one's heart and take one's breath away. The private pool gives one the opportunity to while one's time away, and have one's eyes feast on the natural scenery. It is something stressed-up individuals can do with, to rejuvenate the soul. For yoga practitioners, do remember to bring your mat and practise at the courtyard next to the pool. I did just that for two mornings facing the sea, and the experience was awesome! The best part of my stay, in fact.

Unfortunately, our villa does not seem to have direct access to the clean inviting beach. We could see the beach but just could not get down to it from where we were. For those who desire direct access to the beach, perhaps the beach-front individual Mayang Sari Resort chalets (next to Indra Maya Villas) would be more appealing.

The villa itself is nothing to rave about. There are three bedrooms. The master bedroom with a king size bed and very huge bathroom. The other two rooms (one with a queen and the other with a twin) both have attached bathrooms. Quality toiletries are provided as well as freshly laundered clean whilte fluffy towels. There was another bathroom/toilet next to the kitchen which is supposedly fully equipped although the microwave oven in our villa was not functioning. Cooking is possible for those who find eating out at one of the numerous eating outlets more troublesome than fixing their own meals. As we were on holiday, none of us felt like cooking so we ate at Kelong restaurant (very near the villa), Makan-makan foodcourt (at the Nirwana Centre), Dino Bistro(at Nirwana Hotel) as well as at Idola Cafe&Resto (at Pasar Oleh-Oleh).

The 6-seater buggy that was provided not only gave us freedom to move about easily but also provided much thrill as the designated driver of our all-girls group manoeuvred over humps, went down slopes, and tackled sharp turns. The buggy is painfully slow most of the time but fun nevertheless. Do remember to charge it whenever possible though.

Those who intend to go to Pasar Oleh-Oleh can save on transportation cost by having a meal at Idola Cafe&Resto (+62 770 691 997). Quality of food is pretty good and the price reasonable. Plus they provide complimentary transportation to-and-fro with a minimum spent of S$50. Just call them to arrange for a pick-up time.

The spa at Nirwana Centre is good and relatively inexpensive (S$38 for an hour massage:S$48 for 1.5 hour). There is another outlet (under the same management) nearer the villa but much more expensive as it is marketed as a more exclusive establishment.

All-in-all, the Indra Maya villas are for those seeking to escape from the hustle-and-bustle of city life and would not be suitable for those looking for adventure and excitement. It is a good for a short and quick get-away from urban Singapore if one can manage to book a villa at a drastically discounted price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AlicePng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We rented the four room villa for our company's event. The staff were helpful with organizing the Barbecue and arranging for the food. We had a great time there. But the place is in need of a renovation. The rooms were serviced, but the furnishings and bathrooms are in need of a make-over. Golf buggies were provided for transportation for the villa as it was quite far from the beac. The villa had its own security personnel. The best thing was the view of the beach out of our windows. It is a great view one should wake up to!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aswathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi Aswathy S,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We are pleased to read that you had enjoyed your company event with us – we do our best to ensure that guests have an enjoyable experience with us, whether it is for business or leisure. We hope you managed to have some time to yourself to experience the activities we have to offer as well. The view of the beach is definitely a great one to wake up to!

We have taken note of your feedback on our rooms and have shared them with our Management for review. We are also pleased to inform that we are currently going through phases of refurbishment in our Resort, in our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better and to ensure that they have an enjoyable experience with us. We hope you’ll have the chance to return, perhaps on a leisure trip, to experience our newly refurbished rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel and Mayang Sari Beach Resort.

Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It was a great experience, it took 45 min's for Singapore via Ferry. Place is huge and will all the facilities requires. Food @ Spice Restaurant is great. Chef is a nice person and makes food as per your choice. Staff are nice and helpful.

Spa service not so good.

Over all a very nice place for a family vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlodha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear Vlodha,

Warm greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking time to write us your review and feedback on your stay in Nirwana Gardens.

We were delighted to know that you had a comfortable and relaxing stay with us and enjoyed the facilities provided within Nirwana Gardens. Your kind comments on the food at Spice Restaurant will also be shared with our Head Chef – we’re sure he’d be glad to read them!

We have taken note of your feedback on Anindya Spa. Your comments will be shared with the spa management to improve on accordingly. It’d be great if you could email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg so we can assist to investigate and rectify in detail.

Do feel free to share your holiday photos with us on our official Facebook page /nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan for another relaxing holiday.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you are used to staying at 5 star resorts this is not the place for you. It is rather old and worn. They have not done a good job of keeping the place up. Paint is peeling on buildings, the furniture in the pool villas is old and would not be something I would have in my own home. We were a group of 8 adults in 2 Villa's. Both kitchens had ants. We had to have them come spray. In one of the Villa's the phone was not working upon arrival & 1 of the toliets was not functioning properly. We spent the first 2 hours with workmen in & out fixing all the problems. The pool area had only 2 chair around the outside table and only 3 chaise lounges. This villa could sleep 6 people. We had to ask for more outside chairs.

We were charged $860 SGD a night for a very worn and broken down villa that did not have a sea view. We were charged $2.42 twice for ice & $1.21 the 3nd time. I have never been charged for ice by a hotel/resort! The Gold card gives a 10% discount at some places and excludes 3 places to eat. Whenever we tried to book massages, 8 in total they kept trying to "up sell" us longer more expensive treatments at the "new" Anindya Spa. We were totally happy with the service & massages at the Health Club.

The food at the Thai Restaurant was good as was the breakfast at Spice Restaurant. On Saturday morning the service at breakfast was terrible. On Sunday it was a different crew and they were so kind and helpful.

Having the golf cart was a must as it is a large resort & spread out. If you go know that you will pay Singapore prices for little value or quality. These villas would be good for families or adults that don't mind a more "camping" type experience. If you are used to up to date facilities then look somewhere else.

Note: the entire resort quotes in Singapore dollars and will take SGD so there is little need to change money.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom Sea View Villa's are not sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MamaCassExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Hi MamaCassExpat,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for taking time to write your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We would like to firstly apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay in our Indra Maya Pool Villas. Such lapses in maintenance are unacceptable and your feedback will be highlighted to our Resort Manager to review and ensure necessary rectifications are taken to improve the maintenance of our villas.

We were glad that you enjoyed the massage services at Anindya Health Club. We will forward your other comments on their spa outlet to the Spa Management to review and improve on accordingly.

We are pleased to inform that we are currently going through phases of refurbishment in our Resort, in our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better and to ensure that they have an enjoyable experience with us.

We hope that the unpleasant incidents during your recent stay would not put us in your permanent disfavour, as we would like to welcome you back – perhaps to try our other properties, such as Nirwana Resort Hotel and Mayang Sari Beach Resort. Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
2.1 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,658 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,626 reviews
0.8 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Banyu Biru Villa
25.7 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £426 - £786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of 14 exclusive and beautiful pool villas, Indra Maya Pool Villas is exemplary of its name - exuding dream-like quality and extravagant beauty. Facing the South China Sea and overlooking the north-western coast of Bintan, the dazzling views are yours to relish in the luxurious comforts of your opulent suite or courtyard. Each villa is an exquisite fusion of exotic Indonesian, Thai and Chinese architectural elements. Step into the living room and the stunning view of the ocean will take your breath away. Elegantly furnished, each villa boasts of private pool, spacious living area and courtyard. *Indra Maya Pool Villa guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Villas Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Indra Maya Pool Villa Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing