We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed in April 2012 for our honeymoon. Ill start with the positive feedback.First impressions of the resort are great. The staff were amazing, helpful and so friendly. We loved the swim up bar and the whole pool area was fantastic. Our honeymoon room was lovely and nicely decorated. The view from our room was perfect. The welcome plate and fruit platter was yummy and so nice. However, the animals in the roof kept us up at night, the deck was very weak and eaten away (very unsafe) and we needed techs to fix the beautiful spa bath (killed the romance a little). Please be prepared to pay a lot of money for food and drinks. It is extreamly overpriced. Regardless of needing to import food and compared to other resorts (in response to feedback to other peoples comments) it is still very expensive. The food was nice and the cocktails were nice but we ran out of money just eating and had no money left for fun stuff. I would rather stay at an all inclusive resort next time where you have pre paid the food and drink. A part from needing A LOT of renovations and upgrades, better offers on food and safer decking it was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RyLou S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback on this platform.

It gives us pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly acknowledging our newly-renovated rooms, our friendly staff, great beaches and the swimming pools.

Regarding the price of the food and drinks, we would like to bring to your notice that Bintan as an island imports the food ingredients & beverages from Singapore. However, we still strive to keep the prices of the food lower, and standards similar to what guests find in Singapore. Furthermore, our prices are, if not lower, on par with what other five star resorts in Bintan charge.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 2,704 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2012

As a family with 2 small boys staying for the recent triathlon, we found this hotel over priced and had a monopoly. We want to warn people about hidden costs for food and drinks before you book - this was more expensive than most we have ever been to.

Examples include (add ++ = 17% to these prices): 1 glass of cheapest house wine - $15, 1 bottle cheapest house wine $75, sandwiches from $11, 1 x 500ml water $5, pizzas from $24, buffet lunches from $28, wi-fi connection $20, 1 latte coffee $6...and so it goes on. The only drinking water we could get during the day were the $5 bottles for 500mls = thirsty children and poorer mum and dad!

The service in evenings was slow - took 1.5 hours for us to be served and kids had fallen asleep at the table - pictures to prove it!

Concierge service didn't put our bags on ferry (but did put the bike on), so we had to wait another hour in Singapore for next ferry to deliver our luggage (with different names on the tags!)

However great beach and pools and rooms were pretty comfortable with good bathrooms and we did manage to have good swim times.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank furrysporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback on this platform.

It gives us pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly acknowledging our newly-renovated rooms, great beaches and the swimming pools.

Regarding the price of the food and drinks, we would like to bring to your notice that Bintan as an island imports the food ingredients & beverages from Singapore. However, we still strive to keep the prices of the food lower, and standards similar to what guests find in Singapore. Furthermore, our prices are, if not lower, on par with what other five star resorts in Bintan charge.

We apologise for the inconvenience caused with regards to the delay luggage delivery. This experience of yours is definitely not an indicative of the standards that abound our resort. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback seriously for appropriate action.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

We spent 3D2N there. Overall feeling is this place is ok but overpriced. We total spend 1800+SGD there (spa in 2 days, couple cocktails in 2 days and one paid meal per day). It is enough for go away somewhere pretty far away.
 
Room: -
We stayed in a deluxe sea view room where you can see a bit sea from the room, but not too impressive. The soundproof of the room was awful. People talking/running or stuff push a cart, you can hear it all. Be careful if you are a light sleeper. The disposable items in bathroom will not be refilled. We also have a small gecko and a crazy shape/size insect as our roommates.
 
Facility: -
Spa was nice but expensive. It is hard to believe that its double price as Singapore star hotel. A 55-minute massage is 90-99SGD. A spa with bath and massage is over 200SGD/pax. I have been to the spa in Nirwan Garden. The room is way nicer but price was more competitive.
 
We had dinner in Japanese restaurant for teppanyaki. Chef was professional and entertaining. One disappointing thing was it seems sake is the only Japanese drink they have in the Japanese restaurant. The drink menu is just normal western bar menu.
We also went the beach front restaurant for cocktail and dinner. The view there was good. The sky color was very pretty during the nightfall, you can also see a sky full of stars later. Steak there was tasty.

Pool was nice. But ants went crazy when they smelled the mango coolers we ordered.
 
Staffs: -
Friendly, they stopped what they were doing and greet us everything we passed them.
 
I probably won’t specially recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piaoApril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your feedback on this platform.

It gives us pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Thank you for particularly acknowledging the ‘positive service-mind-set’ of our staff and the good food at our restaurants.

Your comments on the “room for improvement” are being considered by our management for appropriate action. Having said that, we would also like to clarify that the charges of our Spa and other services are, if not lower, reasonable and on par with what other five star resorts in Bintan charge.


Thank you once again for your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I stayed in Bintan Lagoon for 2d/1n. I was really amazed as we enter the place.

The room where we stayed was really great though it was quite far coz we stayed at the far east wing of the hotel.

What sucks is you have to pay for everything including wifi! It is so costly like $8++/hour. This sucks and this is the only hotel i know wherein you have to pay for the wifi.

We checked the bathroom and it was good except that there is no dental kit (toothbrush,toothpaste) and that you can only have it upon request. So we did. But what's worst is that you have to wait for years before you can have it. The service is not really good at all.

We went to the beach to check out the area and to swim as well. But... It's almost empty. We tried to swim but got out of the water after a few minutes because the water is kinda itchy. We moved to the pool. The water is clean
But the tiles are kinda dirty as i don't wanna step on it. We just enjoyed our time talking to the bar tender-Simatupang who made good drinks for us and entertained us well.

Nothing much to say! Only one thing, i dont want to go back to that place anymore. Everything in there costs an arm and a leg yet they don't give good service to their guests!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hopNhop_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at our hotel on this platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we have not been able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. However, we would like to clarify that our charges for other services including for the wi-fi are reasonable and on par with what other five star resorts in Bintan charge.

On the other hand, we are glad that you took a fair stand by acknowledging the other good aspects of your stay such as our newly-renovated rooms and positive-mindset of our staff

Thank you once again for your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Firstly, i would like to start off with DO NOT BOOK WITH NDB TOUR & TRAVEL! PM me if you'd like to know more details regarding why i DO NOT recommend this agency at all...

Back to the hotel... We got a Deluxe room, which was pretty nice. Large, comfy bed with a raised 'stage' area (see pic) which would be suitable for couples who would like to have a drinks over some card games at night, perhaps? or in-room massages maybe. There was also a balcony, and our room had an interlinking door to the next room. Toilet was clean and with bathroom amenities. NOTE: they do not provide toothbrushes (not sure if they do upon request, we bought our own) There were quite a number of channels available, the usual SG channels, HBO etc. We went down to check out the beach, it was pretty empty, though the staff down at the beach said that throughout the year it has been unusually quiet so far.

Beach activities were quite pricey. Jetski was sgd$55 for 15min, and we had the "go-cart-like" atv which was $110 for 30min.

Food: the breakfast buffet was not bad, my bf liked it the most among all the countries we've been to (including europe, hows that possible?! :P) but there was an omelette station, indonesian items, porridge, salads & fruits etc. we enjoyed it

Cons: The room was super NOT-soundproof. Unfortunately for us, our neighbours were a noisy bunch who were perhaps having a drinking party through the night, we could hear everything, and you could also hear footsteps & voices of people & housekeeping staff walking/talking along the corridors.

Overall, except for the soundproofing problem, we were satisfied with our stay. The room was spacey and we liked the decor. every staff greeted you along the corridors & by the pool. Only the reception staff were quite aloof. not polite or friendly at all. so much for a welcoming first impression eh? (they were the same upon check-out)

TIP: Head to nearby Pasar Oleh Oleh for a stroll. there's a seafood restaurant there that's cheaper than the hotel's food, massage parlours, a minimart that sells everything including alcohol etc (cheaper too!), and some souvenir shops, clothes boutiques. A small place it is, but there's nothing much to do in the hotel at night anyway.
The taxi fare from the hotel to Pasar Oleh Oleh is priced at $22 one-way, $35 two-way. But opt for the 1-way trip at $22. When you get to Pasar Oleh Oleh, the first seafood restaurant at the entrance & the massage parlours offer free-transport back to the hotels if you patronise their store. i managed to get some price lists during our stay, check pics for details :)

Room Tip: try not to get rooms with interlinking doors to the next room just in case you have dreadfully noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank miss_imperfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at our hotel on this platform.
Inspite of the inconvenience caused to you by the Travel Agent, we are glad that you have taken a fair stand in reviewing our resort.

Thank you for acknowledging and mentioning the good aspects of your stay such as our spacious rooms, positive mind-set of our staff and other facilities of the resort.

Please be assured that we are taking your feedback seriously for due consideration and appropriate action.

Thank you once again for your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

In fairness,the room is excellent but!!!!service is terrible!!every help you ask,you need to pay..and services are so expensive!!this is the only hotel that you need to pay for wifi!!in my country,even a NO STAR hotel, the wifi is free..the only staff that made my day during my stay there is their bartender Gunawan..keep up the good work..

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dcommentator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at our hotel on this platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we have not been able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused during your stay. However, we would like to clarify that our charges for other services including for the wi-fi are reasonable and on par with what other five star resorts in Bintan charge.

On the other hand, we are glad that you took a fair stand by acknowledging the other good aspects of your stay such as our newly-renovated rooms and positive-mindset of our staff

Thank you once again for your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Rented a villa between 10 of us. Found lots of cockroaches, droppings in fridge, holes in window frames, dirty bathrooms, kitchen work surface collapsing. If u are offered villa especially 16-01 check it first. We were charged 800 sing $ per night for the privilege.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken-Bowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BLR_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at our hotel on this platform.

We are disappointed to learn that we have not been able to make your stay a pleasant one.

Our Executive Housekeeper, Ahmed, joins me in apologizing for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We would like to share with you that what you experienced at our resort is definitely not an indicative of the standards that abound our resort. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback seriously for due consideration and appropriate action.

Thank you once again for your feedback

We look forward to welcoming you again at our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,648 reviews
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#1 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
619 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
397 reviews
4 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#2 of 8 in Lagoi
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £62 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing