We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Singapore. I had read mixed reviews regarding the resort, so I was not sure what to expect.

The beach is beautiful and clean and the grounds well maintained. The direct ferry service was very handy.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms are a bit tired, however, they were clean and comfortable.

Compared to other resorts we stayed in during our travels in Asia, the food and drinks were not cheap. However, considering our room rate was $150AUD per night, our overall stay was quite reasonable. Compared to what you can expect to pay in Australia, food and beverage prices are pretty average ($12-15AUD for a cocktail). We ate at both Rice and the buffet style Kopi cafe. We thought the value and the food were better at the buffet.

Tips: we had to pay for an Indonesian holiday Visa upon arrival. Luckily we had just enough SD$ to cover as there were no EFTPOS facilities.

Overall: this resort would be a great place to vacation with a family. As a young couple, we had a relaxing time but glad we only stayed the two nights.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jess2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear jess2021,

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your 2 days stay, we have noted your comments, and thank you for your comments on the beach, and cleanliness of the property.

I will pass on your comments to my operations team as they work hard on the cleanliness issues.

The property is currently undergoing soft refurbishment of our public areas and rooms and thank you for your comments as we constantly strive for improvement in the hotel.

We do look forward to your return visit to Bintan and thank you for your comments which are most helpful.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,675 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Currently staying here over the long weekend & writing a review while still here.

Positive
Nice location
Well maintained grounds & gardens

Negative
Pay for wifi as part of package. Yet wifi does not work most of the time in room which they admit. Constantly need to re-enter password details which are printed out on a piece of paper. Very inconvenient.

Go to bar & Bintang the national Indonesia beer has run out. "When will you have it?" "I have no idea sir"

Charged SGD1 for a glass of ice water when spending SGD130 for drinks & simple dinner at the bar

No towel attendant & towels available at 11.30am. 45 minutes & after telling two staff we still have no towels

Just charged SGD36 for 2 cans of Asahi. There is no price list with Asahi showing the price. 45 mins we are still waiting. The most I have even been charged for a can of beer in my global travels. Ordered Asahi only after Bintan was also run out

Prices of drinks & food are exhorbitant, higher than even hotels in Singapore where I live

This is an average quality family hotel providing very poor levels of customer service & unjustifiable pricing.

Save your money and avoid the bad service and go somewhere else.

Best,

Damian

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DamianPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Mr. Damien

Thank you for your comments, our location is very good as you pointed out, and hope that you did use our own high speed ferry direct to the resort, the resort grounds are well maintained and we are moving through the hotel public space and rooms with soft renovation in process.

I understand that Mr. Josef my Director of Food and Beverage has met you on property to discuss issues which you raised and I offer you my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

I am currently up dating our WI FI infra structure so that we will be able to provide consistent service of Wi Fi across the resort, currently we provide free of charge WI FI In our outlets in hotspots.

Due to issues beyond my control, there has been some interruption to some areas of the hotel for consistency of service in WI FI. I have addressed this with my operations team, who were unable to resolve your issue on first point of contact.

The unavailability of Bintan Beer was unfortunately a result of our supplier failing to deliver despite repeated follow up from our side. The lack of alternative beer has been addressed with our staff in the outlets as we do carry large stocks of alternative beverage and are currently adding additional beer lines to our selection both cans and draft . The Asahi beverage which was provided is from our Japanese Restaurant and is an imported beer.

I apologise for the challenges you experienced in the property and do hope that you will come back and visit us again in the near future, as this unfortunate set of circumstances is not normal for the resort or through my team, we will resolve these issues and address why they occurred.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family had a wonderful stay of 2 weeks in Bintan. The moment that we arrived we've been enchanted by the beautiful location, tropical view of this resort and the long sandy beach.
It was a short ride from Singapore airport to Tanah Merah Ferry terminal where we embark on Mozaic Ferry for 1 hour to take us directly to the resort.
We stayed in Buganvil and I couldn't be more happy with our choice...with a huge leavingroom down and 4 bedrooms upstairs, beautiful garden, very clean and relaxing.
This resort has more than 300 hectares and 18 hole championship golf course, although we are not golf players we had a lot of fun driving our golf buggie along the golf court and spot the monkies.
There are 12 restaurants and we choose to have lunch at Golf Club where we could experience some local tasty dishes with all the flavors of a good food and the view of the golf court surrounded by palms, dinner at Rice restaurant which is an exclusive place by the sea.I was impressed by the service, Rice restaurant was full and food came in time, high standard service and magnificent food. Sometimes my son was eating at kids club when we were at the kids swimmingpool.
In this resort you can enjoy at all ages, my son 10 years old had great time at kids club, riding the jetsky and the ATV in the jungle. My parents felt so good there, relaxing at the sandy beach and warm clear water. My husband went fishing few times. Wi-fi internet was free at all restaurants and loby. Such an exotic getaway and we'll be there again in December.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Ileana1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay, I am pleased your two week vacation was most enjoyable and you enjoyed all that the hotel and villas had to offer.

I will share with my team your comments and look forward to welcoming you back in December.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Bintan Laggon resort - If you are in Singapore, this is one best weekend getaway! :) A very relaxing atmosphere.. Beach was very close and super clean.. and the service was excellent! Our nine month old son loved the place and he enjoyed the whole stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swetha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, Asst. Guest Relation Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Swetha V ,

Greetings from Bintan Lagoon Resort !

Thank you for taking the time to give us a comments. we are pleased that you had a great time during your stay with us and Your comments have been shared with our team

we look forward to seeing you again next visit.


Regards,

Lenny
Asst. Guest Relation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We were a family of 6 , with 2 toddlers and 2 elderly folk.Really ridiculous "room service" prices for local bintanl standard food. SGD20 for a plate of Fried Rice ? If you are going to charge Singapore prices , please provide us with "Singapore standard" food. There were very little ingredients and lacking in portion size and flavor. Anyone travelling to this place , please be forewarned. Sooner or later , the word WILL get around and you will expectedly lose business because of this. Oh and another thing ....all your eating outlets charge a whopping SGD 2.50 for a pathetic bottle of local mineral water. Don't expect complimentary water people. Horrible experience. Our food bill for the 6 of us totaled a whopping SGD 700 over 4 days and 3 nights. We really don't mind paying if the quality for there. Sadly below par. However , I must say that the staff , which our hearts go out to were really polite and kind. And the cleanliness of the rooms were good. Beware of getting bites from baby crabs at the beach whilst swimming.

Room Tip: You have to choose a Deluxe Plus room. It's what's know as an upgraded room with all the fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kaptain_Karma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased that my team provided excellent service for your stay and that the room and resort cleanliness were to your expectations, I shall pass on your comments to my team, who provide Indonesian hospitality and thank you for your appreciation of their service.

I was concerned re the comments on food and beverage as we have just launched our Indian and Indonesian meals in Haskell's café located over looking the golf course, a truly spectacular view day or night.

Here meals are available from 10 SGG and we do provide complimentary bottled water in all guest rooms, in the outlets we have a selection of mineral water from local to bottled Evian and Perrier and I have noted your comments with our Food and Beverage team.

Thank you for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me before visiting us in the future and I hope you would be able to return to see the changes we are making.

Regards


David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I never knew that a place like Bintan exists. The beach is extraordinary, the surroundings are so wild and peaceful. After a week, you feel like you completely recharged your batery.
The food was great, specially the local touch.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teodorardeleanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent stay, my team and I are pleased that you found Paradise and a great place to enjoy your holiday.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed in this resort with my colleagues for 1 night. When we checked in on Aug 1 they charged 6mn IDR to my credit card as deposit. We were leaving the next day and our total expense (lunch & dinner which was charged to room) was 9mn IDR. They said they would reverse the deposit and charged the entire 9mn to my card again. We specifically enquired if the 6mn is reversed and they said yes.
Fortunately I checked my credit card bill after 4 days and shocked to see that the amount is not reversed. 4 days and they could not figure out they have double charged a guest while reconciling their accounts?

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Pinaki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your comments, I have discussed with my finance team and front office and the credit card authorisation which was taken for your stay, upon check out, the sale completion was not completed correctly and this resulted in double charge to your card.

I sincerely apologise for this mistake and assure you the card is being re credited and action taken to ensure this is not repeated.

Yours sincerely

David A. Hill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,622 reviews
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
596 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
379 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £51 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing