We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst resort ever stayed! Total rip off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Beijing
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Worst resort ever stayed! Total rip off!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

the experience feels like a total rip off, horrible room, super slow logistics, over charged activities and super outdated pool facilities and dirty towers.

1. Horrible room: the room looks dirty and outdated. The pillow feels dirty and the shower facilities design was so terrible that the water keep spilling out. The washroom facilities look as if they only rinsed it. We saw a couple of mattress lay around out side of some of the rooms and one of it has piss mark on it. The bed is so hard that it hurts when waking up.

2. super slow logistics: check in one person takes 10min! Imagine the ferry seat 100+ ppl and how long it takes to check in...we waited 40min at least to finally get served. I couldn't imagine why it take this long. The back end system must be super dated.

3. over charged activities: this is Singapore price with worse equipment! It is not an all in resort and almost everything you do, except for hanging out in the pool or beach, come with a hefty price tag! They price things in Singapore dollars but charge your credit card in Indonesian rupiah with the exchange rate set by them!!!

4. Pool is outdated: the pool is worse than most condo pools in Singapore! The tower looks dirty with all kinds of marks on it! With 400-500 rooms they only have two pools...and can you imagine a beach resort with no decent beach benches by the beach?

All in all this is our worse resort experience and we came back to Singapore early. Don't be fool by the direct ferry service, that leads to a terrible resort experience.

Only thing didn't disappoint was service; the crew were helpful.

Booked the resort given the trip advisor rating is high; thought people should made aware and make own informed decision.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
11 Thank cassway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments of your recent stay and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience and left early, I have shared your comments with my team and appreciate your feed back.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    534
    913
    648
    294
    221
See reviews for
951
757
74
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Our stay at Bintan lagoon was greatly enhanced by the variety of activities available and the friendly staff. For each of the different activities we participated in, (four Wheel drives, jet skiing, archery lessons), there were warm and helpful staff, like Renaldi. All in all, it's a great place to go with family or friends, but be prepared to spend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wai Yin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay in the resort and utilised our wide variety of activities as you mentioned.

I will pass your comments to my team and thank you for identifying a member of my team who you found to be most helpful.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I would recommend this resort to every family with kids. We experienced excellent service - airport pick up at Singapore, transfer to the ferry terminal, and from ferry terminal to the check-in desk. Staff was pleasant and very helpful wherever we moved during our stay. Rooms are a bit tired but we were overall happy because the room offered everything we needed for a comfortable holiday for a family with a little kid. Restaurants offered great service and even cooked specially required food for our little boy. Make sure to visit RICE restaurant on the beach, the food is amazing there!! The leisure facilities are amazing. The swimming pools and beach are great and very clean. We will definitely return back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kviki80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and I am pleased you and your family had a wonderful stay with us, I will share your comments with my team and look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the future.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Overall our stay at Bintan Lagoon Resort was good.
However, there are some things worth pointing out. the resort is not new. So don't expect brand new luxury standard.
We arrived with ferry from Singapore and were bus from resort waited. Old noisy bus. We returned with ferry from their own ferry terminal. Recommend to use the direct ferry.
Check-in : Very slow check in process, took more than an hour to get wi-fi coupons. Slow process is Indonesian style.

Staff: the staff were in general very friendly and service minded. Probably the best asset of the resort.
WiFi : It was more expensive to buy wifi access for 24 hours that it costs to pay for free roaming on cell network. Fee wifi in Terrace Bar only.
Food: Food at the restaurants was good. Japanese, Italian and Indonesian food can be recommended.
Activities: a lot of activities available, we only used the pool and the beach.

The beach within the resort parameters was nice. The resort could easily have cleaned p the beach adjacent (outside their limits) to make a better impression.

Room Tip: Not always wifi in rooms at East Wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bergen75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for your review and comments during your stay, and I am pleased you had a great stay.

I have taken note of your comments and we are working hard to address the issues raised. We do have WI FI in our outlets which is free for guests to log into the hot spots from the main hotel to the beach RICE restaurant and even at the Golf Club.

I am pleased you enjoyed the direct ferry service on your way back to Singapore as we are the only resort with our own direct service.

I will share your comments about the good service from the team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The resort is OK but it desperately needs a renovation.

Our room and bathroom were just fine but looked old and there was a high smell of humidity in the room. The worst thing of all was the food as it is very expensive and one doesn't have any other option than eating at the resort. One night we went to the Japanese restaurant and the fish was not fresh and the wine by the glass was the worse wine I ever had for SGD 18 the glass (it seemed it came from packed wine other than a bottle). Next day we had dinner at the beach restaurant. We asked for a sandwich in the menu that came with olive focaccia bread but the it was served with plain white bread with some pesto sauce. When we complained to the waiter he said it was the same. Another dish that was supposed to come with guacamole it was served without because they had ran out of it but we were not told about it until we complained. Every bill came up to over a 100 SGD for a very simple, low quality food. In Singapore you can get many better options for the same or lower price.

The best of all it's undoubtedly the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annablascocardona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed the beach which is unique to our property in terms of size and depth and ideal for swimming with shallow water.

My team and I are currently going through a soft renovation process in the resort public areas and guest rooms in order to address some of the issues you raised.

I have shared your comments on our restaurants with my Food and Beverage Director and will reviewing what occurred during your stay, I do hope that you will come back to the resort to allow us to show you the changes we are making on property.

Thank you for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit.


Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We booked 2 villa for our retreat and were treated extremely well. The service was quick and courteous. There was very little waiting time. The restaurants food is good, especially the japanese restaurant. Plenty of beach activity and really good off site activities. Well worth a try.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review of your recent stay and I am pleased my team provided you with wonderful service, and you enjoyed the Japanese restaurant which is one of our speciality restaurants on site.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope you get additional time to enjoy this wonderful resort and our on site activities

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during a recent trip to Singapore. I had read mixed reviews regarding the resort, so I was not sure what to expect.

The beach is beautiful and clean and the grounds well maintained. The direct ferry service was very handy.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the rooms are a bit tired, however, they were clean and comfortable.

Compared to other resorts we stayed in during our travels in Asia, the food and drinks were not cheap. However, considering our room rate was $150AUD per night, our overall stay was quite reasonable. Compared to what you can expect to pay in Australia, food and beverage prices are pretty average ($12-15AUD for a cocktail). We ate at both Rice and the buffet style Kopi cafe. We thought the value and the food were better at the buffet.

Tips: we had to pay for an Indonesian holiday Visa upon arrival. Luckily we had just enough SD$ to cover as there were no EFTPOS facilities.

Overall: this resort would be a great place to vacation with a family. As a young couple, we had a relaxing time but glad we only stayed the two nights.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mozaic H, General Manager at Bintan Lagoon Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear jess2021,

Thank you for your comments and I am pleased you enjoyed your 2 days stay, we have noted your comments, and thank you for your comments on the beach, and cleanliness of the property.

I will pass on your comments to my operations team as they work hard on the cleanliness issues.

The property is currently undergoing soft refurbishment of our public areas and rooms and thank you for your comments as we constantly strive for improvement in the hotel.

We do look forward to your return visit to Bintan and thank you for your comments which are most helpful.

Regards

David A. Hill
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
7.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
5.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,540 reviews
19.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,499 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
4.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Lagoon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Lagoon Resort

Property: Bintan Lagoon Resort
Address: Jl. Indera Segara site A12, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Lagoon Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 470
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Lagoon Resort an Indonesian style resort with 470 rooms, villas and suites. A tropical paradise, only 75 minutes by our own private high speed ferry from Singapore direct to the resort. The resort has its own immigration terminal and fast track service. Sitting on the magnificent Pasir Panjang Beach, overlooking the South China Sea the 1.5Km beach is tranquil and unspoilt. Bintan Lagoon Resort is a tropical haven with over 300 hectares (766 acres)and includes 2 stunning championship golf course designed by Jack Nicholas, and Ian Baker Finch. The resort provides excellent meeting, incentive and team building facilities catering to groups from 10 to 1,000 people. Whether it is a family holiday, weekend break, romantic spa indulged getaway, a golfing break, or a company event in Paradise we are waiting to assist you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Bintan Lagoon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Lagoon Hotel Lagoi
Bintan Lagoon Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing