We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location with beautiful staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful location with beautiful staff!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

After reading some reviews prior to my trip I went into this hotel with an open mind as there had been so many mixed reviews but I was amazed! Upon arrival we were greeted by staff who were very friendly and helpful.

The hotel pool was astonishing! Very well kept, clean and with a perfect view out over the ocean. The staff at the pool bar where very friendly and skilled and always up for a good laugh. Many other reviews mentioned black tar on the beach, but during our stay there was none.

There are many restaurants connected to the resort, our favourite being the Dino Bistro. The food there is amazing. A great selection of western and asian foods. The kitchen is sunken with glass surrounding it, so you can watch the chefs making your meal - very cool.

There are also many activities around the resort in which you can participate, including archery, riffle shooting, paint ball, bowling and there is also an elephant park. These are located just outside the resort-hotel but they provide a free shuttle bus to get you around.

Overall, an excellent resort-hotel. Will definitely be coming back in the future for another stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Megan G,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind comments and excellent rating on our resort. We are committed to providing our guests with warm Indonesian hospitality and an enjoyable stay, and we were delighted to read that you had a great experience over-all - arrival, your time at the pool, our beach (our Mayang Sari beach front is a highlight, do check that out the next time!), our various recreational activities and the food at Dino Bistro.

Please feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise. Do email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to Nirwana Gardens.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    581
    323
    82
    58
See reviews for
480
449
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our family of five stayed at Nirwana Gardens over New Year's for six nights. We were disappointed on arrival to find no welcoming dance or drink as we entered the main foyer like we were expecting. Had the camera ready too! During our stay we witnessed the routine often when new guests arrived, so not sure why our group missed out? No chance of early check-in either, but that was ok. We understood it was a busy time of year. After reading online reviews prior to arriving, we knew not to expect clean, rubbish free beaches during monsoon season. It was still a bit of a shock as to how bad it actually was. We ended up leaving with less luggage thanks to tar stained clothes and shoes that had to be thrown away. The rooms were very clean and spacious. As for the restaurants, service was slow and meals overpriced but were enjoyable. Only ever had one cocktail with each meal as we were never approached or offered additional drinks. The Nirwana New Year's Eve Gala was amazing. It was certainly one of the best New Year's our family has ever had thank you. The kids loved the various activities around the resort and we enjoyed swimming in the huge pool every day. The elephant show and ride is a must do as well as the buggy hire. Special thanks to the kid's club ladies. My youngest would always beg me to take him back to the nice ladies. The kids still have the kid's club artwork they created as a reminder of the fond memories there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Karen d,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us over the New Year's celebrations earlier this year.

We were delighted to read that your family had enjoyed the New Year's Eve Gala, our various activities and facilities especially our infinity pool and Jumbo Park, and that your kids had a great time at our NABLEZ Kids Club.

That said, we were troubled to read your unpleasant experiences with the beach and your disappointment at not being greeted with a welcome dance upon arrival. We apologize for the lapses in service during this busy period and will be sure to forward your concerns with our Resort Manager and Management to review and ensure that such lapses do not reoccur.

We are humbled to know that it was "the best New Year's" for your family and that your kids have fond memories of Nirwana Gardens. Do feel free to share your holiday photos with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back here soon, perhaps for this coming New Year's Eve if you can join us in welcoming 2015 with a 'Super Heroes' theme - a fun evening of dress-up, games and food for families. Please feel free to email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
660 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 468 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The resort is very nice located on Bintan Island in the secured touristic zone. has direct access to incredibly beautiful beach. place is very quiet and You can have a great rest there. But: food is really aweful - You have variety of food at breakfast time but in real nothing to eat. But the worst thing is that You have nothing to eat at the whole facility of the resorts: no good restaurant, no any bars, nothing. It could be great place for family vacation but beach is not secured and guarded. There are a lot of jelly fish so swimming is even dangereous. The situation is very starnge because there is nothing to do in this hotel and Bintan resorts but laying on the beaches.
I think that the food and the beach are big failure of management and what I can not understand why someone who put some tens of milions dollars in such investment can not invest in managemen.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JacekBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Jacek J,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you had found your stay to be a relaxing one and had enjoyed our beaches - the Mayang Sari beachfront is one of ours, and Bintan's, highlights.

That said, we were concerned to read your feedback on the food quality you had experienced and your difficulty of swimming at the beach. We do our best to ensure that our beachfronts and the nearby ocean vicinity are swept through for the safety of our guests. Additionally our staff are on hand should our guests require any medical assistance. The security of our guests is also our utmost priority and rest assured that entry to Nirwana Gardens required authorization from our security personnel, if they are not guests.

We will escalate your concerns to our Resort Manager and Department Heads to review and improve on accordingly where necessary. We appreciate your feedback as it aids us in our ongoing efforts to provide our guests with an enjoyable stay with us. Should you have any further concerns, please email to us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg. We hope that you will not be deterred from returning as we would love to have the second opportunity to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed there for 4 days and i felt great. The staffs's attitude were excellent, the surrounding view were awesome. At day one i thought it was boring cos' there aren't anything around to see, and the local market is miles away from the resort but i found variety of things to keep myself occupied there. We hired a golf cart ( buggy ) to ride around the resort, and i tried almost everything: the ATVs, the flying fox, the battle skirmish ,... And the swing pool was great, with the jacuzzi and the nature rock there make swingmin' a whole different experience. And the surrounding restaurant were great too, we tried the poolside, the kelong restaurant and the calypso bar. All and all, it was a wonderful experience. But i just recommend this resort for the people who want to relax on the beach and enjoy light activity because there aren't anything around to see

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazymonkey20082001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Crazymonkey20082001,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were glad to know that you had a wonderful experience with us and had managed to give our various activities a go. Nirwana Gardens is an integrated resort with over 50 land and sea activities for our guests' enjoyment. Hope you managed to catch the view of the sunset at The Kelong Seafood Restaurant and The Calypso Floating Bar as well!

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff's service, which we will share with our colleagues. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable stay and to "serve with extra (s)miles". Please feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens for another relaxing and peaceful holiday.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Basic resort looks like it was build in the 60's. Clean and lovely location on the beach.

Everything is priced in Singapore $ and expensive by Indonesia standards.

Helpful staff.

Wouldn't pay full price and certainly only grade it at 3* at best.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank urbandivaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Hi urbandivaLondon,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your feedback on the prices at the resort and the overall exterior, and will share your concerns with our Management to review and improve on.

We are pleased to inform that we are going through phases of refurbishment and hope that you will have the chance to experience our newly upgraded Deluxe and Deluxe Premier Rooms at Nirwana Resort Hotel or at Mayang Sari Beach Resort on your next return.

Apart from that, we hope you had enjoyed your time at the beach - the beachfront at Mayang Sari is one of our highlights - and thank you for your kind comments on the staff's service.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens in the near future, should your travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan. Please feel free to email us next time at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The experience for my wife and I can clearly be summed up as a hotel with the “hardware” but lacking sufficient “software”. We stayed 3 days 2 nights. Even though we enjoyed various activities offered by the resort and the surroundings/layout/infrastructure offered a relaxing and rejuvenating feel as desired, service was a clear problem.

Pros:
- Infrastructure – great pool, great beach (although there could be more deck chairs added) and great room (we had a suite). The resort offers many activities such as quad biking, shooting, archery etc.
- Contrary to the hotel staff, the staff at the Anindya Spa were stellar. My masseur was phenomenal in fact as a frequent customer of massages, I can safely say this was one of my best. So good that I booked it twice through my stay.

Cons:
- Each day we had to call housekeeping and reception to stock the room with bath/hand towels which were always missing. On the first day we called thrice, no delivery, left room and upon returning after 6 hours there still were no towels
- Buffet Breakfast, despite a good spread, was of average quality. Strictly ending at 10:30am apparently meant that my wife could not even order a second cup of coffee after this time as “breakfast time over” – absurd…
- Rigid on late checkout times. Despite departing on a Sunday, the receptionist would only extend our check out by an hour (1pm) sternly saying that the room would be chargeable thereafter.
- Boarding the hotel bus to take us to/from the ferry terminal, the staff would instruct us to board without us seeing whether our checked in luggage had actually been loaded or not. This was unnerving.

All in all, an “okay” experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Globetrotter0305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Globetrotter0305,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the lapses in service and the unpleasant experiences during your stay. We are committed to serving with extra (s)miles, and agree that the certain lapses you had encountered are unacceptable. We have taken note of your specific feedback on the bathroom amenities, buffet breakfast quality, check-out experience and shuttle service. We will share them with our Management and Department Heads to review and take the necessary action for improvement. Your feedback will aid us in our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better and to ensure them of an enjoyable stay with us.

We will also be sure to share your great experience at Anindya Spa with the spa management and are glad that you had enjoyed your massage treatments, your time at the pool, our Nirwana Suite and the activities that we have to offer.

We hope that you would not be deterred from returning to Nirwana Gardens, as we would love to have the second opportunity to serve you better. Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Booking the hotel via facebook and having pre-book promo really helps save some money. The place really good for young children - beach, swimming pool, kids clud and the all-day activities. Buying the all-day activities packages are cheaper and worthwhile. Though food are expensive and quality of food not worth the price. The shops in the resort are way too expensive than other resorts that we have being to in Bintan. Pity that I didn't get a chance to try on the in-room spa, though had book it for 2 nights. As the kids sleep early,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tjoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Tjoanne,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review and your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you had a great family holiday and had enjoyed our Facebook Fans Special and pre-book promotion. It is great that you had managed to experience a variety of the activities available at Nirwana Gardens despite only having stayed for 2 days - perhaps on your return you can stay for a while longer to experience our in-room massage and all the other dining and activities options we have to offer.

We have also taken note on the issues you had mentioned for us to improve on. We will forward these to our Resort Manager and Director of F&B to review and improve on accordingly.

Stay tuned on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan for more exclusive promotions and feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us there as well. We hope to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise at Nirwana Gardens soon.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HostelWorld, Priceline, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing