We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great weekend trip destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
singapore
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a great weekend trip destination”
Reviewed 31 August 2009

i initially wanted to stay at mayang sari because of the good reviews but as it was fully-booked, i decided to book nirwana resort hotel instead. check-in time was 3pm and we got there around past 10, but since the room was already available we were able to check-in early. upon arrival we were welcomed by a local dance and some welcome drinks - which could have been great with some more sugar and ice.

the room is pretty decent, quite spacious than i expected and everything was working fine. i had no complaints, i think i got what i paid for. we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room anyway. the hotel has a nice 1.5M infinity pool and a pool bar where we spent pretty much the whole afternoon. the beach is a mere 2 minute walk from the pool. the waters are clear and lukewarm, and very calm (no waves). at night the place is very quiet - if you're on a party mode - you can go to la luna beach in NBC where they have a live band and 'sexy dancers' until 3am - arranging for transportation to get there was hassle-free.

the only caveat would be the food prices in the hotel restaurants - ridiculously expensive. and it would have been ok if the food was great, but it wasn't. but that aside, i think our weekend trip was very relaxing and well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candlebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    581
    323
    82
    58
See reviews for
480
449
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, U.K
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed at the Nirwana resort hotel in early July 2009 for 5 days. The easiest way to get to Bintan island is by boat from Singapore, which is clean and efficient. Immigration was very quick, but it helps to have US dollars to pay for the visa.
Once past the baggage reclaim belt, we were greeted by representatives from the resort, who took us there in an air conditioned bus. The drive took approx 1/2 an hour, including stops at various other resorts on the way.
Rooms:
The rooms are nicely decorated, and have all the ammenities one would require. Of course there are small details which would not make this a 4/5 star resort, but these are extremely minor, amd for the price paid, completely irrelevant.
One word of warning though: If you are not a big fan of tropical nature this may not be the hotel for you. Come evening time, the hallways were full of lizards!
Hotel Grounds:
The hotel grounds are lovely, especially the pool area,which was the main highlight. There are various places to eat around the resort, and there are shuttle buses leaving every half hour or so to the other hotels, and restaurants. We missed the bus on 2 occasions and the staff at the hotel were kind enough to drop us off at our destination using the private car. There is a small food court located next to the sports centre, which is ideal for those who don't wish to spend a lot of money on lunch or a snack. It was suprisingly empty every time we were there, and I think this may be due to the fact that most people don't know it exists!
There are plenty of activities within the vicinity of the hotel, such as water sports, badminton, tennis courts, and a gym, all of which were virtually empty! There is also a beautiful outdoor bar/ club with a live band performing on Friday and Saturday nights.
Staff:
The staff were by far the most helpful and courteous staff I have come across in all of my travels! Whenever there was a problem with our room or we required some assistance, they were quick in their responce.

Overall, I would highly reccommend this hotel for a relaxing getaway, or a family holiday.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sleepi321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

I was there on a business planning trip with my colleagues for 3D2N. Upon arriving at the resort, we were greeted by dancers dancing to traditional music and were served a non-alcoholic drink.

The room I stayed in was located on the ground floor and I found it to be clean and quite well-equipped. The infinity swimming pool was nice and over-looking the sea. The jacuzzi was a nice touch too. The beach is pretty much tranquil through the day and you can watch the sunrise with your significant other.


The buffet spread at breakfast was very good. The kelong restaurant nearby the resort serves pretty delicious seafood.

We played team building games which were conducted by the resort's recreation staff. The games were very fun and creative and even though it rained half way through the session, we still enjoyed ourselves.

The staff rendered good service and I would definitely come back when I visit Bintan again.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraveLoverSGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Nirwana Resort Hotel is a great place if you need a quick getaway. A short ride from the ferry terminal, pasar oleh oleh (market catered to tourists). Free shuttle buses can take you around the other resorts in the area, mayang sari, etc. A wonderful mini-zoo, a watersports centre, a recreation centre (archery, shooting, ping pong etc) are within walking distance of the hotel.

Activities are not free, except during certain times (refer to the hotel's program for the day). The stretch of beaches is great; clear calm waters, though not suitable for snorkeling as there arent any corals, and few fish. My personal preference is the beach right where the watersports centre is.

The hotel arranges for several tours; riverspa (massage, kampung tour, lovely trikora beach, lunch) SGD60+, snorkeling trip to mapur island SGD40+. The riverspa is a quaint spa on stilts, abt 1 hours ride from the hotel, non air conditioned, but they give lovely massages. The stretch of beach is very beautiful, but not exactly for swimming, and the kampung lunch was very good homecooked, simple fare. As for the snorkeling trip, it is good enough, but not superb (possibly due to rain the day before). Guides are friendly and helpful.

Food is a letdown, because of its very average standard, but high pricing (even at makan makan, one of the "cheaper" places to eat). Baan Arya, and the kelong restaurant were exceptions though. Free ride to and from hotel, better value for money than the rest.

The hotel itself had clean basic rooms, good enough. Swimming pool was above average as it overlooked the sea, was huge with a few jacuzzi areas, and had a bar.
Buffet breakfast some hits and misses, as with many other hotels I have stayed in. Staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful.

The mosquitoes and sandflies are very irritating. Do not leave the room without them! The hotel has kindly provided repellant, but i suggest bringing more because you will need it!

Spa - recommend Martha Tilaar (value for money, new spa, free ride to and from hotel). Talk to the guy at the hotel provision shop.

All in all still a great trip. Would recommend this to big groups and those with kids.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittymew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Entrance, Australia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2009

15 mins by taxi from Singapore towards Changi is Tenah Merah ferry terminal, from which a 45 min ferry ride south will get you to Bintan Island [Indonesia].
Nirwana Resorts are on the east coast facing really beautiful beaches. The Resort is pretty well self-contained with great shopping nearby. Facilities are very good, food is great & the atmosphere very peaceful. A great spot for a Singapore stopover, or to finish off an Asian holiday which can be hectic.
For an alternative look up Pulai Resort, Desaru, Malaysia.
Drawbacks for Bintan are:
1. Wine is exhorbitant & even more expensive than the rest of Asia at $A100/bottle.
2. Customs require check-in at the terminals 2 hrs before sailing.
3. Outside the resorts things are definitely third world [but worth a day trip to the capital].

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We had 4 nights here, The staff were great the food was very good and cheaper than I expected. Our room was very clean but could do with an upgrade. Fantasic pool and loads to do. The following week we stayed at the Bintan Lagoon Hotel while the room was nicer the food was not good.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itsallgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 May 2009

On arriving at this hotel we were greeted by dancers and musicians and offered non alcoholic punch that was sweet and refreshing. We then checked into our room which was immaculately clean and nicely decorated with good in-room amenities. We then walked down to the pool area which was also very clean. The pool area was gorgeous with about 3 jacuzzis and a bar that you swam up to to get drinks. The beach is about 15 metres down a grassy slope from the pool and was beautiful with white sands. It stretches on for about a mile and was pretty much deserted so we had it to ourselves.
The various restaurants around the resort where we had our meals served beautiful food and the service was impeccable. Our favourite was the Kelong which did fresh seafood and huge portions (a small soup is big enough for 3 people! ) and also the Rin, a japanese restaurant that served the most beautifully presented food I've ever eaten! The food quality was of the highest quality in all the restaurants so it's just down to your preference on the type of food you prefer.
We stayed at Nirwana Resort hotel for 7 nights in total and can honestly say it is the best holiday we have ever had. The staff are so friendly and polite and really cannot do enough to help you. I also recommend you try the Spa as I had a coconut hair treatment done and had a wonderful experience.
Overall I would definately go back to this hotel and would recommend it to anyone who wants a hotel that is laid back with impeccable service in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ilikeniceholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
1.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
25.1 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
3.6 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
7.2 mi away
Bintan Lagoon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirwana Resort Hotel has 241 guestrooms including 29 suites, all with sweeping sea, pool or garden views. Full modern amenities and facilities are available to guests, and our ensemble of restaurants and bars will satisfy the most discerning taste buds. With a full and comprehensive range of activities lined up for guests, diverse interests and pursuits are matched with top quality facilities and services. *Nirwana Resort Hotel guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotelopia, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing