We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking view of beach but disappointed experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Puchong, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Breathtaking view of beach but disappointed experience”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Hotel service is very good, although we have went to the wrong receptionist that we thought there is only in Nirwana Resort but instead they sent us to the Nirwana Beach Club receptionist. Receptionist and their staff is very friendly and always with smilling face, check-in is fast. Hotel room is not really a hotel style room but a beach wooden house. The room is moderate, not very spacious with old fashion furniture that i think might have to refurbish soon. TV, toilet and hot shower is kinda old and ages.
The beach was breathtaking with white and powder fines sand but there is a lot of black oil stain along the beach that you cannot avoid and step on it. Once you step on it, it is hard to clean from your leg which is very bad in experience. There is lot lot of seaweed along the beach and make the beach look very dirty, they might have to think a way or clean it more frequently. The time i go to the beach was in low tide, we try to walk and swim in the sea water but too much of rocks and stone at the shallow side so end up we gave up.
The facilities, restaurant and beach was shared with Nirwana Resort in walking distance included the breakfast, the breakfast in Nirwana Resort is good in term of taste and variety, swimming pool look very nice although we do not swim, and the beach at Nirwana Resort is much much better.
We love the view with blue green seawater, definitely will come back for the view but not the black oil stain.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond_Tai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi Desmond_Tai,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We have taken note of your feedback on the condition of our Cabanas, and will share them with our Management to review and improve on accordingly. Our Nirwana Beach Club cabanas are a popular choice for travellers seeking a no-frills and rustic yet still comfortable getaway. Perhaps on your next trip you could consider trying our Nirwana Resort Hotel or Mayang Sari Beach Resort – both of which are going through phases of refurbishment as part of our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better.

We apologize for the inconvenience you’d experienced at the beach. It is unfortunate that some tar from the sea may wash up on our beaches especially during and after monsoon season, however efforts and measures are continuously taken on our party to clean up the beaches daily and to inform our guests on the situation.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back, especially in favourable weather so you could enjoy your beach escape more. We hope that your recent experience does not put us in your permanent disfavour, and please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    119
    46
    18
    15
See reviews for
61
75
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

The resort is just heavenly. We didnt stay at the hotel but at the cabanas at the beach club. It was not bad for the price we paid (less than S$60 per pax which includes the ferry from sg). As a guest at the resort you can enjoy the same facilities as the hotel guests even if you paid a fraction of the price they are paying.
Its very private with lots of peace and quiet since we went on a weekday. Breakfast spread was superb.
Wifi is free on the whole resort grounds. They have a zoo and activities center which was fun. They have buses that take you around the resort for those who dont want to walk.
I will definitely come back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank arahbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Hi arahbaby,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were happy to know that your experience in Nirwana Gardens was fun and enjoyable. Your kind comments will be shared with our Management and colleagues, whom we are sure will be glad to hear them. Do check out our All-In Activities Pass on your next trip, for more fun at attractive prices.

We’re already looking forward welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens. See you soon!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This isn't a hotel, it's cool beach house style accommodations. Perfect for my liking being from Hawaii. Breakfast is still at the hotel restaurant & the facilities are all in walking distance. If you want the hotel go book the hotel, but if you like the beach lifestyle , its casual no frill. Nice pool, there is a gym and bowling of all things. Some cool iguana / lizards cruising around.

Room Tip: Not sure, its pretty spread out & quiet. March through Oct is probably best weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaliSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My Husband recently stayed here in one of the Private Villas. He lost SGD 200$ as it was stolen by the room service guys.

The front desk was of no help and until now we still have not have any compensation or explanation whatsoever.

What kind of hotel runs their business like this?!

Stay, only if you want to loose your valuables and cash.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank syltralee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Hi syltralee,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are most troubled to read that you had experienced missing valuables during your stay with us. Unfortunately we were not aware of a report made of this incident, and our Resort Manager and Management Team are currently investigating this incident thoroughly. We are committed to providing our guests with an enjoyable experience at Nirwana Gardens, and this includes ensuring security measures with our guests' safety and security our utmost priority.

We would appreciate if you could email to us in further detail of the incident and your travel details at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg, and we will follow up with you as soon as possible. We apologize for the inconvenience caused and thank you for your valuable time in writing us a review.

Thank you.

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lagoi hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
253 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a day trip from Singapore that included a ferry ride and bus to and from the resort. Overall the process was efficient and things ran smoothly.

In the morning the beach was fantastic and gorgeous. The waves were moderate and fun for boogie boarding. Snorkeling and kayaking were not possible. In the afternoon the tide went out quickly and dramatically and we were soon left with no useful beach. There was some tar and a few jellyfish but nothing horrible.

We had to negotiate to use the pool in the afternoon because the beach was useless. The pool was really nice with deep and shallow areas.

The changing areas and rest rooms were very primitive and not particularly clean.

The food was descent. The staff is friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I went to Bintan for the Metaman triathlon competition, and chose this hotel due to its location. It was very convenient as my bungalow was literally 30 meters from the finish line, not a bad thing after a 15 hour full ironman. Bungalows were also very spacious which was excellent as plenty of space to work on bicycle assembly/disassembly inside the bungalow, and organizing all the equipment needed for the race, so if you are a triathlete and come for Metaman or Bintan triathlon, I can highly recommend this hotel.

Staff were also friendly and helpful, but otherwise rooms were as mentioned a bit worn and poorly equipped, so if you are a couple on a romantic getaway and have the budget I would probably recommend one of the beach bungalows at Mayang Sari next door which looked absolutely fantastic.

Finally I would like to recommend NBC's restaurant, La Luna. It must be a best kept secret or something as nobody mentions it. It cooks up the most delicious Indonesian food I have ever eaten (and I have eaten a lot)! Forget the pizzas, the grilled mackerel is to die for!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Reading the reviews on this hotel baffles me. People have read them, still gone, then complained! If you are wanting all your luxuries that 5 star hotels provide, go to a 5 star hotel. This is a resort for people that like more adventurous hotel stays and want a different experience to the often clinical hotel chains. Enough about the annoying reviewers on this page...heres what i thought....

This hotel is part of a complex of hotels and leisure facilities called Nirwana gardens and the advantage of staying here is that you can still use all their luxurious facilities for a fraction of the cost! The rooms...yes smelt a little but you put the airconditioning on and that went...its a wooden cabin...in a humid country! The beds were comfortable and the cabins were quite spacious. The decor and furniture was quite old and worn but for the cheap price we paid we did not expect it to be new. The cabins are set in beautiful surroundings and only a short walk to the beach and all the Nirwana gardens sea recreation activities.

The Nirwana Garden complex was stunning with the mini zoo, beautiful beaches, many swimming pools and best of all Elephant Park! In with our room we purchased the activities pass which is a must for anyone staying there. In the pass you get so many activities for such a small amount of money and it is definitely value for money! The elephant ride alone i would have paid the $30 for as it was so amazing to ride through the woods with a friendly gide/(driver!? haha).

The food in the breakfast room was delicious and there was lots of choice for all tastes. We also tried the pizza in the restaurant at night.....it was delicious!

Overall we had a lovely stay at Nirwana Gardens. Even though the beach club was not the best hotel i have ever stayed in, it was comfortable, quaint and the price allowed us to still enjoy the same facilities that people in the more expensive hotels in the resort were paying much more money for!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Musicaltj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
1.8 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,539 reviews
25.2 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,495 reviews
3.8 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
3.5 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club
Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the water's edge of Indonesia's Bintan island, Nirwana Beach Club welcomes you to the ultimate rustic beachfront hideaway. Indulge in a variety of water sports, nature and the timeless traditions of a village-style living. Feel your spirits lifted amidst the spacious thatched-roof chalets, sunny beaches and a blue ocean, savouring relaxation and a boundless choice of tropical activities. Guestrooms at Nirwana Beach Club come with modern Thai interiors and wooden flooring. Each well-appointed room is equipped with a refrigerator and TV. Hot shower facilities are in the private bathroom. *Nirwana Beach Club guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Hotel Lagoi
Nirwana Beach Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club
Nirwana Beach Lagoi
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Beach Club Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing