We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Club Med Bintan Island
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$389
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cassia Bintan(Lagoi)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$614
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angsana Bintan(Bintan Island)
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,683)
Filter reviews
3,683 results
Traveller rating
2,422
882
213
90
76
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,422
882
213
90
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscircus teamchef de villagewaterfall restaurantspecial thanksaqua aerobicsnightly showsfriendly gosflying trapezemichael jacksonfamily holidayray rayspecial mentiongreat holidaynew friendsevery mealbintan islandfree flow
Filter
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 3,683 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 14 nights at Club Med Bintan, only arriving home yesterday (Jan 2014). This was our second Club Med family holiday, the first 2 years ago at Lindeman (Australia), just before it closed. We travelled as a large family group with 6 adults and 4 kids. Our room was perfect for our needs (2 adults and 2 kids), an interconnecting room with beautiful sea views, looking over the trapeze – which meant we could watch our kids at circus school if we wanted from the balcony.

The three buffet meals a day are very tempting and the food was excellent. Head chef, Simon, was extremely polite and happy to help. The GE team in the restaurant are very helpful and make dining a relaxing experience, even with kids.

There is plenty to do and a great opportunity to relax. We were there in monsoon season so our options were more limited (kayaking and wind surfing are closed during, there was only ½ day of sailing available during the whole 2 weeks we were there due to the weather). The gym and pool do not open until 7, which I found strange (as I prefer to work out before the kids wake). Being Australian and very comfortable in large surf, I would have gone swimming, however there were quite a few blue bottles around and the surf was quite large most days. That said, if you walked/ ran 100 m down the beach you had it all to yourself (or your family) and there were wonderful rock formations for the kids to play on and around. Having seen the photos of what it is like during May to October, if you are looking for a beach holiday this would be a better time to go.

The mini club (kids club) staff were FANTASTIC. They made our children feel welcome and included and went out of their way to accommodate my daughter’s health requirements (she is 5 and has type 1 diabetes). I cannot thank Natalie and Min and the whole mini club team enough for the wonderful job they do! My kids loved going to kids club and we took them in and out during the day so we could do family activities or work in with kids club activities that they wanted to do. If you have a child under 8 and they are confident in the water, do be aware that they won’t be able to swim in the main pools when they are at mini club (under 6 and they have to wear floaties). Our kids refused to do any swimming at mini club for this reason. I had forgotten to warn my kids of this rule in advance and they were frustrated. We spent plenty of family time in the large pools though (and the bar is nearby – so they loved having a mocktail sitting a table nearby to sip on!). The mini club night shows were also excellent and our kids loved the chance to be part of the shows (on some days they rehearse during the day and then dress up for the show at night – super cute and lots of fun!).

The staff as a whole were so friendly and very accommodating. From the bar team our family adored Yoli, Eriko and Sahir. Wayan offered great advice when we (poorly) attempted to practice our golf swings and Edo made archery one of the favourite activities for our family. The trapeze/ circus school team, led by DJ (Dejero) gave our 5 year old confidence to get up on the trapeze and encouraged our 7 year old to do some fabulous tricks. Mei pulled the GO and GE teams together and seemed to effortlessly always be around.

Our small family unit was in L block on the 2nd floor in an interconnecting room. I can highly recommend L block. It is convenient without being too close to the pool and potential noise, yet with an amazing view. The rooms could do with a refurb; however we didn’t plan to spend much time there and really Club Med is more than a hotel room.

We visited the spa four times during our stay and I have never experienced such a beautiful location. It was very atmospheric given the season – with waves crashing outside the beautifully appointed spa rooms. We had individual and couples treatments – and both were amazing.

Thank you, thank you, thank you! We will be back!

Room Tip: Our small family unit was in L block on the 2nd floor in an interconnecting room. I can highly recommend L block. It is convenient without being too close to the pool and potential noise, yet with an amazing view.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jac_Invigor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

The rooms only deserves 2stars. As a couple, we were allocated a room further away from the main complex.
Pro: Quiet at night espercially when the night activities are going on.
Cons: Monkeys infested and mouldy smell. We had to keep our balcony doors firmly shut to keep out the monkeys and as such, the mouldy smell lingers in the room consistenly! We booked a queen size bed room but what we got was actually two single beds push together. The TV screen was small and reception was poor.

The facilities were generally just medicore. The furnitures and doors esperically are in dire need for a upgrade. As it was the monsoon season, many of the sea activities were cancelled daily. As such, you see many of the GOs just lazing around. The buffet spread daily looks promising but in actual fact is honesly cheaply put together. At one point, I saw eggs from the dinner buffet from the previous night appearing for the breakfast buffet the next morning. Totally horrible and unacceptable. From previous reviews, I knew the GOs will try to join ur table during meals. Even though we kindly reject their request, some of them refuses to take no for an answer. So much for quiet time together as a couple.

An event that made us decide never to return to ClubMed Bintan again was a burglary incident. We left one of our handphones in the room and checked out after that. Upon realising the handphone is missing, we informed the front desk immediately. It was a short duration between. However, they insisted that their housekeeping team checked the room with their security team and nothing was found. What was odd was they were reluctant to let us search the room ourselves. The manager of the resort was least apologetic.

All in all, it was an awful experience for the price we paid and we are certain never to return to ClubMed Bintan.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank footypoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great way to start the new year and really, any other day of the year!

Perfect for people working in the cities who want a retreat out of the hustle. Though it was monsoon and I didn't get to enjoy sea activities, it was enjoyable anyway - thanks to the beautiful private beach, professional spa services, fun resort activities and entertaining shows put together by the GOs.

Special shoutout to Johny, Vux, Guy, Jordan the sailor, the legend (Filipino singer), the kind electrician and our super awesome Massage gurus who made us so comfortable and lazy after the spa (Room 1141, 3 jan 3.15pm slot) - sorry to forget their names but we were extremely impressed with them! Most of the club med team were very helpful so thank you for that.

If you ask me, the only improvement I wish for is.... better ice cream!

Aquagym Video (super cute) -
https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10151765636841442

Photos (hope it helps!) -
https://www.facebook.com/chillthemangosteen/media_set?set=a.10151767587591442.1073741829.627226441&type=3


Didn't wanna leave....

Room Tip: Many families with kids so if you want a quieter stay, remember to put in a request in advance so they can try to arrange.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolle_Loh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Club Med Bintan still rox no matter how many times I've been here. Was here during Dec 2013 and stayed for 3 days with my best friend. Unfortunately we can't stay for NYE celebration n had to leave on 31st dec evening. However the cocktail session was beautifully done.. n at least we had a feel of nye.

When we arrived, as usual we were welcomed by happy faces from the GOs. Furthermore this time our room was slightly sea facing with a side lounging area and we loved it!
Housekeeping was prompt when we needed to have the two combined beds separated into 2 single beds. Excellent!

Although the weather wasn't too good. .but the GOs kept us entertained all the time with indoor activities n games.

Performance every night was entertaining as always! Mike frm Australia was comedic n hilarious in his performance on stage n very hospitable off stage as well.

Due to rain last day, we've decided to follow Johnny (fitness instructor) for abs training in view of burning away all the sumptous buffet food we've devoured those days! Indeed he was professional with his training and encourage us to go all the way!

It was nice to chat with the many talented GOs all over the world. . Manage to chat with Guy frm SA n realised he could speak so many languages making everybody so happy to hear their native language frm a foreigner.. such as japanese, korean, mandarin..

Overall the guys were very hospitable n made sure we enjoyed our stay in clubmed. We will always come back here! !

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirumie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Monkeys, eagles, squirrels, starry nights, music, dance, shows, mountain bike, flying circus, mini club for my daughter, the quiet paths in the village with tropical trees and flowers on both sides – all these made my holiday a perfect one.

GOs are really gentle, nice, hardworking and enthusiastic. To name a few, Laurence-Land sports, Ada- China PR, Mindy-mini club. Also, those whose names I did not know. The Japanese girl who works in the flying circus. The slim girl who dances really well and shows up every night on the stage like a superstar. Those leading dancers in front of the swimming pool and on the stage at the bar. It is THEM who make Bintan Island a place that I would not forget.

Food is good- with such a variety and display, esp. the new year eve lobster dinner.

You do not have to worry about anything. Just RELAX and HAVE FUN!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xin2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews