We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“A peaceful stay”
Reviewed 2 August 2008

We rented two rooms, one double, one twin. They were clean and tidy with everything provided that we needed.

The rooms in this hotel are large chalets with room for an extra bed or two for those who want to share (they don't interconnect though). They're in blocks of four and most have a sea view, or partial sea view for the garden rooms (second row).

We were very happy with this place, the staff friendly and helpful, the rooms were good, the food was better than expected and the sea and beach were lovely.

We stayed mid-week so it was peaceful. There's a disco up the beach (at the cabanas) which is supposed to be noisy at weekends, but it didn't affect us.

All in all, a very good few days.

  • Liked — beach, chalets rather than hotel rooms, proximity to the sea
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigSis2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    263
    104
    27
    28
See reviews for
201
246
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The little wooden beach chalets have an amazing view over the ocean, from your veranda it is about 20 metres to a large, not crowded beach.
Perfect for small children as the water is very shallow.

However, the beach chalets nearly fall apart: my son opened the tv cabinet and the door fell to the floor immediately, thankfully not lending on his toes.
The next day the balcony door could not be closed anymore.

The restaurant is a buffet with a singing lady by whom you will try to stay away as far as possible.

The most horrible part is their usual Saturday Beach Party - they do not inform you about it but you will notice. At 10pm the music starts so loudly that you can literally feel the beat in your wooden floor. There goes your good night sleep with the sound of the waves in the back.

Service was as expected - not good. Just told us there was no chalet available when we arrived. When we pushed a little more, there was a chalet available.....
We left our son's favourite pillow case in the hotel, we send them an email but no one even bothered to reply.

Needless to say, next time we will book a better hotel in Bintan....

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariken v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2008

The Mayang Sari is right on the beach itself and a good place for some peace & quiet.

We booked the beach chalets that were facing the beach and just a few steps away from the sea. The room were relatively clean and the gardens were very well-maintained.

Breakfast selection was pretty good & wide.

A slight problem was no swimming pool at the Mayang Sari. Apparently, we had to walk 5-10mins to use the shared pool in the Nirwana Resort.

However, do take note that Bintan is not the place to go to if you want lots of partying and shopping.

  • Liked — It's right on the beach!
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed March 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pingishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2008

Mayang Sari is a nice and basic resort and you cannot go wrong in picking this place.
We stayed for 3 days and enjoyed it very much.
Stayed in room seahorse which was opposite the beach.
Everything is clean, staff were friendly and local restaurants were great. The thai is a must! Best thai i have ever had and try the pineapple dish.
Try out the watersports too but they might be a little pricey. Also the other lodging nearby (Can't remember the name) for a thai elephant ride. great and well worth it!



Overall had a great stay at mayang sari. Worth travelling from UK.

  • Liked — the beach
  • Disliked — no nearby shops
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2008

I just spent July 4th weekend at Mayang Sari, Bintan. The location is great and very close to the ferry. The beach is nice and fairly private though shared with the low end market, Nirwana Beach Club which is a major problem I will address later. Unfortunately, trash and cigarette buts on the beach were a common sight. It is shocking to me that people still litter in this day and age. However, the water was clean, calm and inviting. The guests were nice and quiet and the resort is very serene during THE DAY.

Thanks to the Nirwana Beach Club resort down the beach, the night time becomes filled with 20,000 decibels of dance music and bass that does not stop until 2am. So after a relaxing, quiet day spent on the beach and the porch of my beachside cabana, I was subjected to the equivalent of sleeping above a NYC nightclub until 2am every night. For this reason alone, I would not go back to Mayang Sari.

But wait...there's more !!!

When I checked in (they made me wait for 20 mins in my work suit in 92 degree heat), my cabana was a mess with trash left in the dresser, a pool of water on the floor from a broken AC unit, hair on my pillow, and debris on the floor. It was a joke. When I complained to the front desk, the pseudo-manager could not bridge the gap that this should be considered a problem and he simply offered to clean the mess up and keep me in the room. A Holiday Inn in Syracuse, NY would understand that this was unacceptable service yet a supposed mid-market resort does not ?

There was also the incident where they messed up my lunch order but refused to take it off my bill. I spent S$1,000 at Mayang over 2 days and the restaurant manager was harassing me over a $20 lunch tab that THEY got wrong. It was unbelievable. Any resort worth its brand would have immediately offered to comp my lunch and apologize for the mistake. But not the folks at Mayang Sari ! They fought for every nickel.

Despite the abhorent customer service - the location, the beach front cabanas, the convience from S'pore, and the quiet daytime atmosphere would bring me back there. BUT, the nightclub on the beach is a TOTAL DEAL KILLER. Paying $280/night for sleep deprivation via trance music is not my idea of a vacation.

In all fairness, Asep (on-site manager) was excellent and I suspect that he could succeed in the hotel business with any international brand. And the bell hops were friendly and helpful. But in general, Nirwana Gardens and Mayang Sari are 10 years behind Thailand in understanding what customer service truly means. Needless to say, I will not be going back.

  • Liked — beach front cabana
  • Disliked — the night club on the beach that blasted dance music until 2am
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2008

I stayed at the Mayang Sari for 2 and a half weeks. I found the resort clean, safe and comfortable. The room was massive and right on the beach, and the staff were friendly and attentive. The activities are plentiful and well priced. I felt that hearing the waves from the beach the most relaxing thing ever, and the experience unforgettable. This is a place that I intend to visit again, and would not hesitate to recommend to others looking at their options. The room price was definately affordable and good value for money.

  • Liked — The way it was set out on the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lauzieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2008

Much better than stay box hotel, enjoyed this place.

Foods are great, friendly stuff, Just love it.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eastcost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,560 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 38 in Bintan Island
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 38 in Bintan Island
577 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 38 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Property: Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing