We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Seems to me that the facility really needs a huge renovation. Everything, and then I mean EVERYTHING, is in need of some maintenance work. We had two rooms and they were run down, both inside and outside, with a lot of things missing that you would expect to be ok in a 4 star place. Lampshades were missing on some lamps revealing just the bare bulb, all towels missing upon check in, the bathrooms had seen much better days and the lobby and restaurant areas as well. Having that said, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was quite ok, even though it was on the expensive side (but with nothing else around, who would expect anything else?) It seems that the management found 2 sea stars on the beach and plastered them on the wall beside the other 2 stars making it a four star resort. All in all, it was just not what I had expected even though I am quite aware that the pictures on the webpages are normally not showing what you will get.

Room Tip: Don't have to spend the money on a seaside location. Although nice, the garden view is just as n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (619)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 619 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2014

We recently stayed at the Mayang Sari hotel in Bintan. We booked the flight and ferry ourselves and the room through 'the worlds largest online travel company.' Everything was going well until we arrived at the ferry port in Bintan. The hotel had laid on a free shuttle bus from the ferry to our hotel but there was no record of us on their list of guests. No matter, we showed them the printout of our Expedia booking and they happily took us to the hotel anyway. At the hotel reception we tried to check in, only to find they had no record of us either. They hadn't received the room booking from Expedia.

At this point things could have been very awkward but the receptionist was great. The room we were suppose to have stayed in was already taken so he honoured the booking and put us in a sea view room for one night. It had just been done up and was amazing. An truly enormous room (you could have got 6 kingsize beds in it) with a soaring pitched roof that must have been 18ft tall. The fixtures and fitting were all beautiful and we fell asleep to the sound of crashing waves.

The next day we moved to the garden room we had paid for. Everything was the same but without the facelift, waves and beautiful touches. The room was very tired but fine and we ate very well at the hotel restaurant. The headchef was totally charming and obviously loved looking after his guests. It was the best Thai food we've had in ages and we enjoyed talking to him in evening.

The Mayang Sari is going through a makeover and it needs it, especially the communal areas where it looks old fashioned and a bit unloved, but don't let this put you off. It's a lovely location with a small number of individual cottages overlooking a fine sandy bay. The food is very good and so are most of the staff.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished sea view room, the extra cost is worth it.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Janeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I should be happy today as it is Christmas but my holiday experience at the Nirwana Gardens was horrible and it has been so traumatic. My Christmas has been badly marred by the behavior of the staff at the hotel.

My family of 8 stayed at the Indra Maya villa in Nirwana Gardens. We contacted Bintan Resorts to arrange for a short tour of the Mangrove to see the fireflies on 23 Dec and we were going for a dinner before the tour outside the hotel. The car arrived to pick us up at 5 pm. The hotel staff refused to let them come into the Nirwana Gardens main lobby to pick us up. I spoke to the reception, the security and the info counter. They all pushed the request to one another . Finally, I requested to talk to their manager. A staff called Hellen came to talk to me after a long wait (10-15 Minutes). Then she said no, the car could not come in because it was not registered with the hotel. I gave her the car plate number and the driver's name and she spoke to the security but still they do not allow the car to enter the compound pick us up at the lobby. Hellen and other staff said that we can book fireflies tour at the hotel and not directly with the operator. The car was still at the security post 1. I was getting very frustrated and we already spent more than half an hour at the counter already and we were late for the dinner. I asked how we could get the car in. Hellen said it could not come in so we had to go to the security post. And she said we had to pay for the transport out to meet our driver, and we could hire the car from the info counter! We asked if the shuttle bus could take us out to meet our driver and she replied ok but we had to pay per head for the supposed Free Shuttle bus and it would be $10 per person. I was flabbergasted and replied that this was ridiculous and asked for the GM to come to the counter. We had wasted one hour of our precious holiday time by now just standing at the info counter, and lots of money on the phone making calls to our Bintan Resorts driver and contact person. And Hellen's attitude and attempt to extort us was simply unbelievable! It was only when I showed I was very angry and raised my voice to shout to say what she was suggesting was ridiculous, she finally spoke to security and told us the car can come to the lobby to fetch us. We were one hour 15 mins late for our activities because of this drama caused by the staff at the info counter.

Our little children and elderly parents were all waiting and hungry. We were emotionally drained by the incident.

We are a well-travelled bunch and have stayed in well-known and lesser known hotels and resorts in almost every part of the world. We have been to Bintan many times and this is the first time to Nirwana Gardens. We had the prior impression it is a decent establishment. After this incident, we do not think we will ever set foot in this resort again. It fails at the basic courtesy of treating resort guests.

The HR and PR staff came to our villa to understand the situation after I insisted to meet the GM the next day , and we spent an hour with them on 24 Dec and again we feel we have wasted our precious holiday time. The HR director said that because it is the holiday season, he needs more time to investigate to revert to us. Our Christmas holiday is all ruined because of the terrible experience at the hotel, we have been terribly harassed and disturbed mentally. And now we were told "thank you for your feedback and we will come back to you after the holidays and it wouldn't be soon because everyone is enjoying themselves". I sent him an email but no one has replied.

None of the staff made a little extra effort to make our remaining stay at the hotel better.

How would you feel if you are in our shoes?

The wifi in the resort is also weak, no connection possible most times, and the breakfast spread is not comparable to five-star hotels, although they charge a 5-star hotel rate for the Indra Maya villa. It is truly a bad experience.


I am very unhappy hotel guest...

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Donnabelle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Had a pleasant experience in the island...room service was really good and people there are so helpful... they allowed us to check in at 1pm although real check in time was 3pm...since we went on Sunday, the resort was empty nd felt like we own the entire place.... the morning buffet was excellent with many variety of foods....we went to a small island (by walk) located at the extreme right end of the resort to enjoy the sunset....also enjoyed the sea foods at Kelong restaurant nd had lunch at olea olea restaurant which is some 10km away from the resort....enjoyed swimming in the pool at nirvana resort and in the crystal clear sea....there are many entertainments in the resort like small zoo, pool, slow bowling, banana ride etc...sometime in the middle of the nights, my sweety bit scared of the deep dark ocean and sound of the waves (silly).... bt it was absolutely safe there... as it is in Indonesia (Tsunami), most of our friends nd relatives did not recommend to go there... but we found it does not come under ring of fire (earthquake zone).... the rooms are well renovated with clean wash room....
Well, now the negatives......
1.Only 2 (1ltr) bottles of water free per room per day
2. Need to pay extra for most of the entertainments, incl GYM
3. Foods in the restaurants are bit costly
4. Still CRT TV is in the room
5. Ground tiles in the bathroom are pretty old and shaky

As a whole, we had a very memorable honeymoon trip in the beautiful island.....

Room Tip: Prefer sea facing rooms.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Agustuss R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The hotel is located about an hours ferry ride from SIngapore. Visited this earlier this year and quite liked the calmness away form the hustle bustle of the. The property itself has enough activities to ensure you dont need to get out into Bintan. The beach ok but you can't get any better in singapore. The island itself is much better than Batam which is very commercial. The hotels is a few restaurants and offers different cuisine. Found them to be reasonable priced. The hotel accepts both SGD and IDR so no need to change currency.

Room Tip: Must take a sea-view room. It is worth the extra price and can make for romantice dinners in the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy123S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Comfortable villas set on a beautiful beach, ideal for a quiet retreat. The villas are presently being completely renewed which was really needed. Ours was still on the waiting list and despite the fact that it was in acceptable condition, it really needed improvement. The beach is clean, but not as inviting as in other tropical islands.
The restaurant is simple but good and the staff is wonderful. A good choice in the Nirwana Gardens property.

Room Tip: Choose a room not too close to the reception/restaurant area for more privacy and quietness. Ours wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

This was my second time visited to Nirwana Gardens. First time was during this Chinese Lunar New Year.
My personally found that the whole resort really great And that why I was suggested my another group of friends visited on Last month October.
I like the infinity swimming pool so much. It was very clean and nice. Besides that, the beach and sea also not bad very clean.
I quite happily with Nirwana Gardens got so many different type of restaurants like local cuisine, thai cuisine, Japanese cuisine, western cuisine and seafood. So you no need to worry what to eat. But all the charges in SGD.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank johnlim5509@yahoo.com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,640 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 37 in Bintan Island
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 37 in Bintan Island
615 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
192 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 37 in Bintan Island
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £105 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing