We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's a revisit, and will be back here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lagoi
Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“It's a revisit, and will be back here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our previous visit was in 2008 and we missed the beautiful sea and soft sand, hence we were back again.

From Singapore to Mayang Sari, you need to travel via sea. Ferry tickets are on sale online (www.brf.com.sg). Collection of the boarding pass will be at the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. There isn’t much choice of food at the terminal, so you would want to have a proper meal before heading there.

Communication with the resort staff was a breeze, I got their response in 2 days. Having read that some rooms had completed the upgrading works, I emailed to the resort and requested for the new room. They managed to fulfill our request. Days before our stay, we received the email on food discount for dining at Spice Restaurant.

After the Bintan customs, keep a lookout for staff holding the Mayang Sari sign. They will inform you which coach to board on (FOC). Mayang Sari is one of the resorts under Nirwana Group hence the coach will go around the vicinity to drop the guests, and Mayang Sari is the last resort for drop off.

We arrived 3 hours before the check-in time (Bintan: GMT +7). We went to the Spice restaurant for our lunch and ordered the set meals that were available in the dining privilege. I loved the okra set! The okra was cooked soft but not mushy. A tad spicy which opened up your appetite yet doesn’t burn your tongue.

We were brought to our seaview chalet in a buggy, cool! The room was still exceptionally huge, no problem to put another king bed in there. Walls were repainted, bathroom refurnished. The room looked brighter compared to our last visit. I would wish they changed new TV set. It was still the old, small CRT television, I couldn’t really see well from the bed. No shower screen in the bathroom (just a curtain) so the water will splash to the dry area.

You may explore the Nirwana group of resorts in their free shuttle bus service. It arrived in every 30mins and I could tell you, it was VERY PUNCTUAL. Be at the pickup point earlier to catch it. This time, we went to the recreation centre and had some fun in the archery range. For SGD10, you will get to shoot 25 arrows.

Dinner was at The Kelong, where they served Chinese food. Portion was generous, little too much for the 2 of us, nevertheless we cleaned up all the 3 dishes.

We checked out the next morning with regrets, should have booked another night and we did not get a tan. The hotel staff has already helped us with the boarding pass the day before so we collected from them before hopping onto the bus to the ferry terminal. We would definitely be back, there is so much more in the resort vicinity we have yet to explore.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spoiltbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Spoiltbabe,

Warm greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking your time to write a very detailed review about your recent stay in Nirwana Gardens.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed our beaches and the view from your chalet. Our Mayang Sari beach is definitely a highlight and your chosen Chalet is a popular choice amongst our guests for the privacy and relaxation it has to offer.

Our refurbishments are part of our ongoing efforts to ensure our guests of an enjoyable stay with us and we're glad that you had one. We hope you managed to catch the sunset from your veranda and tried out the various activities around the resort, too. Your kind comments on Spice Restaurant will also be passed on to our Head Indian Chef, which he’ll be pleased to read.

We appreciate your feedback on our room facilities, and they will be forwarded to our Department Head for further review. We hope the next time you visit us, you would be able to experience the full variety of facilities and services that Nirwana Gardens has to offer.

Feel free to share your holiday experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan. Thank you for your ongoing support and we look forward to your next quick escape with us!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    254
    103
    26
    26
See reviews for
188
237
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

A gorgeous looking beach facing Mayang Sari hut provides an excellent romantic experience to honeymooners. The South China Sea facing property is part of the Nirwana Garden Resorts in Bintan, Indonesia, which is a 45 min catamaran ride from mainland Singapore. Also a weekend destination for people from mainland Singapore.
About the hospitality and experience:
Nirwana Garden property is self sufficient for all types of Holidayers (Children to Retirees) with Excellent non pocket pinching prices for facilities. Visit Nirwana Garden site for more details. http://www.nirwanagardens.com
The hospitality was excellent and extremely friendly. The beach side hut was comfortable and very airy providing a feeling of freshness all throughout. They provided us with a customized candle lit dinner experience with a honeymoon momento to take away and remember.
About the food; u can get all sorts of food from Indian, Chinese, Japanese, Thai, Italian etc. A lots of themed restaurants are spread across the entire Nirwana property with all the above food to be experienced. Nirwana properties provide shuttle bus services across all of the huge area of the resort so that any type of holidayer can get a feel of the entire property experience.
U can experience various sea sports along the various beach fronts on this island. Inland sports can also be experienced in the Multi speciality Sports and Recreation centre within the property.
Away from the Resort property you can experience paid village tours, market tours and Mangrove tour at reasonable rates. The Nirwana group arranges for such tours through their sources for holidayers wanting to wander out too.
Other 4 Nirvana resorts within the 330 acre property (other than Mayang Sari Beach Resort):
Banyu Biru Villas
Indra Maya Pool Villas
Nirwana Resort Hotel
Nirwana Beach Club

Please note each resort is self sufficient and provide a great holiday experience for every type of holidayer.

For a typical Indian Holidayer like me, you could take a Jet Airways / Indigo flight to Singapore. Go to Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal and travel to Bintan Islands, Indonesia by Catamaran (45 mins travel time). Indonesia has Visa on Arrival for Indians, so pay 25$ for your Indonesian Visa for the stay time in Bintan. Singapore citizens do not require Visa for Bintan travel as the entire Bintan Island tourism is jointly developed by Singapore and Indonesian governments. U get transfers from the Bandar Bentan Telani Ferry terminal in Bintan to the Nirwana Properties owned resorts.
Prefer travellers to make advance booking for the resort holiday as they provide attractive deals for advance bookings. The ferry journey can also be booked in advance to avoid last minute hassle.
The accepted currencies are : USD, Singapore Dollar and Indonesian Rupiah all along this island.

Hope this experience and review will be useful for all.

Room Tip: If Mayang Sari - prefer beach side huts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prashantp_2281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Prashantp_2281,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us and a congratulations to you and your spouse, on behalf of the management at Nirwana Gardens, on your newly wedded bliss.

We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your special stay with us, especially your experiences with our dining and activities offerings. We will share your kind comments with our Department Heads and the Nirwana Gardens teams, which we are sure they will be glad to know.

Your feedback is very much valued as it aids us in our ongoing efforts to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience throughout their stay at Nirwana Gardens. Your travel information will no doubt be helpful to our other guests who are travelling from India as well, thank you.

We hope to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise soon, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

There are lots of nice aspects to Mayang Sari - The beach huts are spacious and the high ceilings are really lovely, beds were very big and comfy - Our bathroom seemed to have been newly renovated and was nice and functional. The beach is aesthetically very beautiful and the water seems clean. However the tar on the beach was a bit of an issue and got everywhere, I realise this is out of the control of the hoteliers as are the issues with jelly fish (warning signs all along the beach) of which we saw none but only spent a short amount of time in the sea for fear of getting stung.
It wasn’t a problem not having a pool at Mayang Sari, the main hotel amenities are only about a 5-7 minute stroll away and it was quite nice to have the choice of sitting on the quiet beach or by the pool where there was a little more going on.
The hotel itself is quite dated, it felt like the kind of place that had perhaps been popular in the 1970’s but had long since been forgotten. The décor, holiday camp like set up and restaurants were caught in a time warp and the food was average at best (although the Japanese restaurant was pretty good).
I’m not sure if it’s because we were there in low season but there were only a handful of guests in the whole complex and whilst it’s nice to have some peace and quiet it just felt eerie.
The staff were friendly and helpful but even in vast empty restaurants with more staff than guests, the service was inattentive. One evening we took a stroll to the Calypso bar, a fantastically placed little bar at the end of a jetty – although it was open there were no other customers and nobody behind the bar, we waited for about 15 minutes before having to go and find a member of staff in the Seafood restaurant nearby to come and serve us. Maybe this type of ‘resort’ is just not something I’m use to but overall I came away thinking I probably wouldn't repeat the visit. However, I do want to say a big thank you to the lovely staff at Mayang Sari for their warm welcome and friendly attitude.

Room Tip: The beach front huts are very nice and you can hear the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rfbharper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Hi Rfbharper,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you very much for writing your review and feedback on your stay with us at Nirwana Gardens.

We were delighted to know that you had enjoyed the beautiful beachfront location of Mayang Sari Beach Resort. Seems like you had managed to experience our newly refurbished chalets at Mayang Sari Beach Resort! Our rooms are currently going through phases of refurbishment, in our ongoing efforts to ensure our guests of an enjoyable experience with us. Your feedback on them is very much appreciated.

It’s unfortunate that tar may occasionally wash up on our beaches, especially during the monsoon season, however we do our very best to ensure that our beaches are cleaned daily. We hope that this didn’t dampen your beach getaway too much.

Thank you once again for your feedback; it is very much appreciated and valued as it helps us in our ongoing efforts to improve our standards and to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience. We hope that your recent experience does not put us in your permanent disfavor, as we would like to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens.

Please feel free to contact us directly at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Gorgeous beach, wonderful and friendly staff and amazing weather made the weekend getaway an absolute treat. Nice to see the rooms have finally gotten a much needed makeover making our stay at one of our favorite places in Indonesia a delight. Glad to be back and look forward to more quick escapes.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in either the bumble bee or black ant ensemble..that way you still get gorgeous ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fuzzyM_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi fuzzyM_70,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to have known that you enjoyed your stay with Nirwana Gardens and the upgrade was up to your expectations. Our refurbishments are part of our ongoing efforts to ensure our guests of an enjoyable stay with us and we're glad that you had one. We hope you managed to catch the sunset from your veranda and tried out the various activities around the resort, too.

Thank you for your ongoing support and we look forward to your next quick escape with us!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We have spent two nights at Mayang sari from 16-17 Dec 2013.It was our first stay, the best part about the resort was its location.just 30 steps away from the sea, you clear out the curtains of your resort and d beautiful sea is there.Hotel staff was courteous.The other added advantage was their "SPICE" restaurant, they have a full variety of Indian food.The vegetarian food was delicious and we ended it with "Kulfi". A beautiful,nice, peaceful place it was and yes the resorts are beautifully constructed (spacious, clean & have all facilities)..Love to go again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neetu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi NeetuMGupta,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us last year.

We were happy to know that you enjoyed your overall experience with us on our little slice of paradise. Your kind comments on Spice Restaurant will also be passed on to our Head Indian Chef, which he’ll be pleased to read.

Did you manage to give our activities a try? We hope that when your future travel plans bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan, we’d be welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

It was my first time @ Mayang Sari Beach Resort from 22-23 Mar 2014. I paid SGD236 per night via hotelclub.com. It was recommended by my friend for a short getaway and I would return the next time I go to Bintan. If you prefer a quieter beach to relax at, I think this is the resort to go to compared to the others like Bintan Lagoon Resort. We got the sea view chalet at one end. Food there is average. The seafood is nothing to shout about although the view at the kelong is beautiful. There were 2 places that were closed for private functions unfortunately during the evening we were there leaving us a little disappointed not being able to explore more. If you'd like to go for massage @ Spa Anindya, remember to reserve your preferred time slot beforehand and double check your reservation upon your arrival at the resort to avoid any disappointment.Lesson learnt for me. URL, http://bintan-resorts.com/visitors/resorts/

Room Tip: The sea view villas are fantastic. We stayed at the other end, Starfish. Spa Anindya is just right b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cinteo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi cinteo,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed our beaches and the view from your chalet. Our Mayang Sari beach is definitely a highlight and your chosen Chalet is a popular choice amongst our guests for the privacy and relaxation it has to offer.

We appreciate your feedback on our food and spa, and they will be forwarded to our Head of F&B department and the Anindya Spa management to review and improve on accordingly. We hope the next time you visit us, you would be able to experience the full variety of facilities and services that Nirwana Gardens has to offer.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Nirwana Gardens, should your future travel plans bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed at mayangsari 5 times since 2008 , always always love it
Love the location so close to nature and love the beach, it's just perfect !!! So romantic and relax , just be lazy by the beach all day long , we will be back next year on June 2015 this time with our kids

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsMorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Hi MrsMorelli,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

It’s always a pleasure to welcome back a familiar face and an even greater pleasure to know that you had many good experiences with us at Nirwana Gardens. Thank you so much for your ongoing support over the years.

We’re looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to our little slice of paradise in 2015!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,473 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#4 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Village Resort Grand Lagoi Bintan by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Property: Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Address: Jalan Panglima Pantar | Bintan Resorts, Bintan Island, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing