We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clam, quiet and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of three friends and we stayed for two days in the resort. We had a garden facing chalet. The room was huge and cozy. Staff is also very friendly. The resort is very close to beach so you can relax on beach whole day and night. The beach is also neat and tidy. The only thing to keep in mind is the garden insects but I think its common near the beaches and open resorts. Overall its a true four star experience.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Abhinav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Abhinav S,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you and your friends had a relaxing stay at our resort. We were glad to know you had enjoyed our rooms and beach, and thank you as well for your kind comments on our staff's service.

Being a beach resort, we do have some friendly 'neighbours' within the grounds but our friendly staff are always on hand to provide any assistance to our guests should it be required.

We hope to have a second opportunity to serve you again and to welcome you back to our little slice of paradise. Perhaps you could experience our newly rejuvenated rooms at Mayang Sari Beach Resort or Nirwana Resort Hotel, the next time your travel plans bring you to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

We arrived at the Bintan wharf from a very busy and noisy Singapore after 55 minute ferry ride, to find there is a bus waiting for us and our bags were all looked after. After a relatively short drive including other people being dropped off at other hotels in the Nirvana resort, we were at our hotel. As we arrived a little early for official check in, we made our way to the beach bar, which has the same menu as the main restaurant called Spice, the bar food being supplied from Spice, (I will do separate review on that later, but food was good). Lunch and a beer or 2 later we went back to reception where 3 people behind the counter were all eager to serve us and then a quick, (easily could have walked it) buggy ride complete with our bags, we were shown to the room. We booked a Beach View and that was exactly it, (I recommend paying a few extra dollars for that), just 30 metres from the white sand beach, chalet style in blocks of 3 with very high ceilings, obviously recently refurbished, quiet air-con units and very comfortable beds - firmish, no sag, but a nice soft topper and nice linen. Also with a small deck with a comfortable day bed/lounger plus table and chairs.
A quick change into the swimming gear, some beach towels from the towel hut nearby and we are swimming in quite clear warm sea water, then lounging on the beach chairs on the grass just by the beach. Not too many people and quiet apart from the odd local boat passing by and the mosquitoes didn't seem to be a problem even at dusk. The rooms have a supply wipe on repellent if you are concerned. A nice dinner at Spice and then next morning the sunrise comes straight into our room, then up for a really nice breakfast (at Spice) and back to the beach.
Only 2 things I didn't like about the place was the lack of proper blackout curtains in the rooms and the peeling paint on the chairs and furniture at the beach bar (oh and the Thai Restaurant within the Nirvana Resort - NOT recommended!).
This resort has a number of other activities or you can visit other hotels within the grounds and use their services or restaurants/cafes/bars and charge it all back to your room. It also has a Spa and massage services at two other places. While my wife went off on a snorkelling trip I had a "Traditional local" massage, definitely not much of a soothing relaxing style of massage, but my back felt great the next day. The rest of our stay revolved around the same pleasures of just relaxing by the beach, reading books or e-readers/ipads or connected to the free WIFI, or happy hour at the beach bar. Would I come here again, Yes Yes Yes!

Room Tip: Get a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi gplim,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you had a relaxing holiday experience with us and had enjoyed the our dining options, our beach and resort facilities overall. We will share your feedback on the in-room amenities with our Rooms Division Department Head and the points raised on the maintenance of furniture at the beach bar with our F&B Department Head to review and improve on accordingly. We will also highlight your feedback on Baan Aarya Thai Restaurant with the Baan Aarya management.

We strive to provide our guests with an enjoyable experience at Nirwana Gardens and your feedback will very much help us in our ongoing efforts. Do like us on Facebook /nirwanabintan or feel free to email us directly should your future travels bring you back to our little slice of paradise - we are already looking forward to your return!

Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

There are not many rooms at the resort so the beach is not crowded at all. We only saw a few people swimming and tanning at the beach. Right place if you want to have a quiet getaway from the crowd. Room is big but too bad the bed is queen size (have requested for king size), they should have put king size bed in all rooms since the room is big enough. Didn't sleep very well because the pillows are too soft. We stayed at garden view room which is also near to the beach so it's not necessary to stay at sea view rooms which are more expensive. Not much activities at the resort except jetski and banana boat. There is a beach party going on at Luna (walking distance from Mayang Sari) on Sat night but it looks more like a wedding banquet (boring), anyway we didn't expect much from the beach party. We also tried an 1 hr massage in our room at S$40 per pax (this is promo price already). Massage was just okay. Everything at the resort is charged in SGD and not cheap, eg. a coconut drink cost S$7! Overall, the stay was pleasant but a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LollapaloozaSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi LollapaloozaSG,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We were glad to know that you had a peaceful and relaxing getaway at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, as we aim to provide our guests with a haven for a recluse from the bustle of city life. We have taken note of your feedback on the rooms and in-room amenities as well as the resort's prices, and will forward these to our Resort Manager and respective Department Heads to review and improve on accordingly. Your feedback on the massage treatments has also been shared with the Spa Management for their further review and action.

There is a variety of land and sea sports available, more of which you can enquire about from our Guest Information Centre or our website. We do have special "All-In" Activity Passes as well, providing guests with an all-round experience of our activities at great value.

We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens again soon for another relaxing getaway. Please feel free to visit our Facebook page /nirwanabintan or email us directly should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This is a beach getaway targeted primarily for Singapore residents. Decent value here as there literally is no beach in Singapore. (excluding the apology that is Sentosa).
Booked online and also booked the BRF ferries to get there. The ferry ride is about 1 hour. I will review the ferry itself separately and get some tripadvisor badges (for what it's worth).
At the destination, the resort has a shuttle that will pick you up and that ride lasts about about 20 mins.

Resort;
This resort is organised as two rows of chalets - first sea facing, and the ones right behind those called garden facing. You could pay a premium for sea facing; the only advantage i see is that you could sit in your balcony and look at the ocean and feel like Socrates. At the center is the Spice restaurant + reception. The chalet was nice - especially the renovated ones. I stayed in an older one. It was functional - nothing to complain.

Food:
Spice restarurant's main menu is Indian food and it was good. Having said that this is one among the multiple restaurants around. For e.g there's a Thai restaurant in a walkable distance. You can always take the shuttle and go to the restaurants at other resorts. Everything in the property is priced in SGD. So no need to change IDRs.

Shuttle: The service runs every 30mins or so. It can get frustrating waiting for the shuttle. The other option is to hire the golf buggys, but they cost 30SGD an hour. There's a main resort where you need to assemble to go out on tours etc. That's one of the other reasons why you need the shuttle. It is also possible though to ask the tour guy to pick you up from your resort itself.

Water-sports: Beach was clean enough. Like some other reviews mention, there's that occasional tarball (candy sized) that washes up on the shore. But nothing that felt negative. You can hire water-sport equipment if you're into such things. You can also walk from this property to the main one where there's a nice swimming pool. Kids might like that.

Activity center: The elephant show was nice. Kids can go on the nice long elephant ride (unlike the one in Singapore zoo). Plus you can pet/feed the elephant. Overall this part was nice for the kids. You also have a pony ride, bowling alley, shooting/archery.

Tours: The mangrove tour was nice as was the firefly tour. Both tours take you to the same waters -- one in the morning and one in night. It's worth doing once if you've never done it before ever.

Cons: The only reason not to stay in this resort would be the need to take a shuttle for everything and lack of a swimming pool. But i guess you're in a beach resort to be near the beach. It might be perfect for folks who just want to relax and laze around. Staff was otherwise courteous and good overall.

Room Tip: Choose ones nearer to the Reception so that you can get rush to the shuttle if needed. Further away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Archerxtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Archerxtreme,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We appreciate the time you had taken to provide your feedback to us in detail and according to the various categories. Your comments will aid us in our ongoing efforts to serve our guests better, and will be shared with our Resort Manager and Department Heads to review and further improve on accordingly.

All our Nirwana Gardens are welcome to patronize the various facilities and experience the activities available within the resort grounds. A complimentary shuttle bus is provided at a 30-min interval from the main resort lobbies for our guests to get around the grounds. Although the Mayang Sari beach is one of our resort's highlights, you are more than welcome to patronize the infinity pool at Nirwana Resort Hotel or the swimming pool at Banyu Biru Villas.

We are also pleased to share that our Mayang Sari Beach Resort has completed its phase of refurbishment and that all our chalets have been upgraded. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back, for you to experience our rejuvenated rooms.

Do like us on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan or feel free to email us at marketing [at] nirwanagardens [dot] com [dot] sg should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

We stay 2 nights in sea view chalet to celebrate my birthday, me and my husband really like the sea and fine sands, water really clear and room the wind not so strong like othes beach, the view super nice, u will feel so happy if u are there!
The room just renovated, we are very lucky , aircon is newly also!

The water heater sometimes not work well , made the water cool, we cannot shower as water too cold, hope to check probably , and my birthday is tmr, before I leave here, whether the resort will bring me a cake, I don't know, I hope so, and for a good service , the resort should be prepare this kind if service to guest !
I will come back again with my parents!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Shermaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Hi Shermaine B,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We were very happy to know that you had chosen Nirwana Gardens as your vacation destination to celebrate a joyous occasion. We hope you had thoroughly enjoyed your birthday getaway with us.

We will forward your feedback on the bathroom's water heater to our Rooms and Engineering Department Heads to review and rectify accordingly. Thank you for sharing your feedback with us as it aids us in our ongoing efforts to ensure our guests of an enjoyable holiday experience.

Feel free to share your holiday photos and experience with us on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan and on Instagram @nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back soon for another beach getaway when you can also experience the variety of activities we have available at our resort.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The nirwana resort is at an excellent beach with clear waters and secluded from noisy hassle on beaches. The rooms are nice and spacious with good service, the staff is friendly and the food is good.

its a perfect weekend destination.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ankitpri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Hi Ankitpri,

Warm Greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay with us.

We were very pleased to read that you had a relaxing trip and that you had enjoyed your stay with us overall. Our beaches, especially the one at Mayang Sari Beach Resort, are definitely a highlight at the resort and we aim to provide an enjoyable experience for our guests - taking them away from the bustle of city life and giving a taste of paradise.

We will share your kind comments on our food, rooms and service with our Management as well. We are pleased to share that our Mayang Sari Beach Resort have successfully completed refurbishments and we look forward to our guests experiencing the upgraded rooms.

Do feel free to share your holiday experience and photos with us on our Facebook page /nirwanabintan. We hope to welcome you back to Nirwana Gardens for another relaxing weekend, should your future travels bring you back to the beautiful island of Bintan.


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our previous visit was in 2008 and we missed the beautiful sea and soft sand, hence we were back again.

From Singapore to Mayang Sari, you need to travel via sea. Ferry tickets are on sale online (www.brf.com.sg). Collection of the boarding pass will be at the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. There isn’t much choice of food at the terminal, so you would want to have a proper meal before heading there.

Communication with the resort staff was a breeze, I got their response in 2 days. Having read that some rooms had completed the upgrading works, I emailed to the resort and requested for the new room. They managed to fulfill our request. Days before our stay, we received the email on food discount for dining at Spice Restaurant.

After the Bintan customs, keep a lookout for staff holding the Mayang Sari sign. They will inform you which coach to board on (FOC). Mayang Sari is one of the resorts under Nirwana Group hence the coach will go around the vicinity to drop the guests, and Mayang Sari is the last resort for drop off.

We arrived 3 hours before the check-in time (Bintan: GMT +7). We went to the Spice restaurant for our lunch and ordered the set meals that were available in the dining privilege. I loved the okra set! The okra was cooked soft but not mushy. A tad spicy which opened up your appetite yet doesn’t burn your tongue.

We were brought to our seaview chalet in a buggy, cool! The room was still exceptionally huge, no problem to put another king bed in there. Walls were repainted, bathroom refurnished. The room looked brighter compared to our last visit. I would wish they changed new TV set. It was still the old, small CRT television, I couldn’t really see well from the bed. No shower screen in the bathroom (just a curtain) so the water will splash to the dry area.

You may explore the Nirwana group of resorts in their free shuttle bus service. It arrived in every 30mins and I could tell you, it was VERY PUNCTUAL. Be at the pickup point earlier to catch it. This time, we went to the recreation centre and had some fun in the archery range. For SGD10, you will get to shoot 25 arrows.

Dinner was at The Kelong, where they served Chinese food. Portion was generous, little too much for the 2 of us, nevertheless we cleaned up all the 3 dishes.

We checked out the next morning with regrets, should have booked another night and we did not get a tan. The hotel staff has already helped us with the boarding pass the day before so we collected from them before hopping onto the bus to the ferry terminal. We would definitely be back, there is so much more in the resort vicinity we have yet to explore.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spoiltbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NirwanaGardens, Management Team at Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi Spoiltbabe,

Warm greetings from Nirwana Gardens! Thank you for taking your time to write a very detailed review about your recent stay in Nirwana Gardens.

We were thrilled to know that you enjoyed our beaches and the view from your chalet. Our Mayang Sari beach is definitely a highlight and your chosen Chalet is a popular choice amongst our guests for the privacy and relaxation it has to offer.

Our refurbishments are part of our ongoing efforts to ensure our guests of an enjoyable stay with us and we're glad that you had one. We hope you managed to catch the sunset from your veranda and tried out the various activities around the resort, too. Your kind comments on Spice Restaurant will also be passed on to our Head Indian Chef, which he’ll be pleased to read.

We appreciate your feedback on our room facilities, and they will be forwarded to our Department Head for further review. We hope the next time you visit us, you would be able to experience the full variety of facilities and services that Nirwana Gardens has to offer.

Feel free to share your holiday experience with us on Facebook /nirwanabintan. Thank you for your ongoing support and we look forward to your next quick escape with us!


Warm Regards,
Management Team
Nirwana Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,624 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
186 reviews
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
597 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £102 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Fastbooking, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing