We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay for all... but a little over priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Was there last year... this is a nice place to stay... i brought my two kids and my wife. We got the beach facing unit and it was really nice. Price is a little high but it's Bintan...everything is at higher than Singapore prices.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelKSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
There are newer reviews for Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

473 - 479 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2010

Had to "upgrade" to Mayang Sari as Nirwana was fully booked then. I gathered that I'm paying more for the exclusiveness of the hotel since other than the fact that Nirwana is more crowded, I can't be sure why this would be deem as an upgrade. There is no pool in this hotel (have to take the free shuttle bus to use the pool at Nirwana) and most of the activities are near to the Nirwana Hotel too.

The only things to do in the hotel would be relax by the beach (rather private spot) & a spa salon available in the hotel premises. Any other activities would require transport. You can hitch a ride from the buggy drivers (do remember to tip them) at the hotel and some even ask if we need them to pick us back to hotel. Note that Nirwana does not provide this service though - I tried asking for a ride back to Mayang Sari after a swim at Nirwana but was informed that their buggy is only for within the hotel premises.

The room are single storey hut- styled & I like the room for it's roominess (a king size bed with a day bed). You can even add an extra bed & yet still have lots of space. There's also washing point outside the hotel to rinse off the sand before you enter your room (well thought of!). The front porch with garden tables & chairs are wonderful for adults to sit around & watch their kids play outdoors.

The breakfast selection is not fantastic & there are flies hovering around the food but it's open concept just next to the beach so you can enjoy the view while you eat. Kids can play at the beach & yet within our sight as we have our breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2010

Our stay was a family outing, priority on a kid friendly environment and beach. We have three children, 5 yrs, 3 yrs and 2 yrs. The resort is very family friendly. There were many families there; the restaurant staff were very accommodating of the kids. Chalet is one big room with a king bed and a day bed. Both beds were horribly uncomfortable and affected our sleep and physical activity in the day. Room was clean but sparse and old. Bathroom and closet area are **abysmal** I can't stress that enough; I'm a backpacker and this is worse than a hostel by a lot. Read review from January; that is accurate. Room cleaning is more of a wipe down than an actual cleaning. We called to housekeeping to come back to scrub the bathroom floors- it smelt like trucker stop. The patio of the chalet is great; good chairs and table. A foot washing tap for each 2 chalets to help cut down on the sand. The sliding door of the chalet is very new and nice. AC worked well. TV is mid-80's. The view from the front row chalet to the beach was *fantastic* and exactly what we were looking for. The children played all day in the waves; no under toe worries, waves were gentle, sand soft, beach gentle grade to deeper water, perfect for our children. Our chalet was farthest from the club so little noise disturbance from the music. Desk staff were friendly although not very informed of things. We didn't go off of the resort during our stay. We tried to sail via the water sports centre but both sail boats were broken. We did sea kyaking instead- good experience. The water is gentle so not very strenuous paddling. Nirwana Resort and Resort Centre are different buildings. Nirwana Resort has a fantastic pool. Big shallow pool for children that is roped off from the larger/deeper pool. Bigger pool has Infinity edge, swim up bar, large living rocks the children jumped off of into the pool. Larger pool also has a gradual incline edge so kids could wade or swim. Perfection. Great pool side service. Resort Center is awful. Partially built and mainly deserted- rather creepy. Has an elephant show- elephants looked very sad and we didn't stay. Pony rides were awful- steeply inclined trail and I had to make a big deal about making the children's feet reaching the stirrups. It was like the horse handlers hadn't ever ridden one. One of the horses was a stallion. I refused that one for the kids ride; I was stunned they had one there. Firing and archery range were okay but very small. Bungee jumper was okay but the kids were too small to really enjoy. Gift shops were stuffed full of a thousand replicas of 5 items; weird and unappealing. No shirts available for the children; pricey. The Resort offers a Kids Club- it is a joke. A small room with a few easels and chairs; expensive. Transfer buses to the Resort and Resort Centre should run at 15 min intervals but do not. Mostly the front desk staff would take us over in a golf cart; took about 5 mins to get there. I wouldn't recommend walking; there is a side walk but it goes through dense (although scenic) jungle full of mosquitoes. The natural beauty of Myang Sari makes me want to love the resort, but I only like it.....just. I wouldn't go back. For Nirwana Resort, the pool is excellent but the beach is far from the accommodations and the grounds are not as well kept. I would recommend Myang Sari to a friend but with caveats and a firm understanding of what to expect (like the bathroom!!!).

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Live_frm_AsiaPac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Went on my year-end birthday trip in the last week of Dec 09 and stayed for 3D2N. found the best online rate on the web and paid $320 nett for one person, included 2-way ferry, transport to and from the resort and 2 days of breakfast.

1st day -- reached mayang sari around 1230pm (bintan time) and had to wait about 2 hrs to get the room key as the official check in time is set at 3pm. at least we managed to get one hour 'extra'. while waiting, we could not do anything except wait in the lounge and then get lunch at the resort's cafe. Expensive food, as a plate of chicken rice cost SGD$14. of course, we opted for some local fare and paid a total of SGD$36 for two persons. went on to walk along the beach and take in the sea breeze. returned to the lobby and went to the tour desk to ask the staff what we could do, as we saw some posters on activities we could do. Staff was knowledgeable and recommended a massage parlour outside of the resort that was cheaper. Resort's spa pricing was too exorbitant, nearly SGD$100++ for a body massage. the external spa 'Martha Tilar' only charged us SGD$45 for one person's body massage. Staff recommended that we rent a private car for a short 'tour' to Tanjung Uban' - a small town about 45 minutes away -- for SGD$80 nett for the two of us. He said the food outside the resort would be cheaper. If we took the packaged half-day tour, it would be $55 for one person including lunch (ie $110 for the two of us.) hence we took the private car option, proved to be disappointing..

2nd day -- went for the half-day tour in the private car, driver was not very friendly and did not talk much throughout the trip unless we asked questions. there wasn't much to explore in the small town of Tanjung Uban. i wanted to buy clothes for my nieces and nephews but all the shops seemed to have had the stocks since the 1980s as they were all old and unappealing. really nothing much to do in this small town. made me wonder how the locals managed to survive till now. we finished the 'tour' in less than 2hrs. went to have lunch at a seaside restaurant (Sebung) and realised they charged SGD$3 for the prawn crackers they put on the table as soon as we sat down. We didn't even eat or take away the crackers. Advice from me: tell the staff straightaway that you don't want the crackers or get charged for it... we had three dishes (not very fresh seafood) with rice and paid SGD$31 in total. so food is not really cheap, as recommended by the staff at mayang sari,.. should have taken the package from the hotel... the driver asked us if we wanted to go on the next day tour with him to a further town Tanjung Pinang (1 and a half hr drive each way) but we had enough of the tour so we declined. evening time, we walked about 15 mins to the swimming pool at Nirwana beach resort cos mayang sari doesn't have a pool. it was crowded cos nirwana is more popular but at least we had fun.

last day -- chilled out at the beach and checked out at 12pm. waited for the shuttle bus service for the 1pm trip and it was back to home sweet home!!

the staff at mayang sari is friendly but i got the sense that they treat caucasians better. while we had breakfast, staff did not voluntarily come to attend to our needs like refilling our coffee and tea as often as they did for the caucasians. could be that i'm overly sensitive but this is just what i noticed. the view of the sea is better than nirwana and if you are just looking to suntan and relax with your fav book, then i would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SporeChichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2009

The first inkling that the 3 day 2 night reservation we had booked at the Mayang Sari would have been 3 days 2 nights too many was when we pulled up to a front desk that had seen better days in the 80's. We were introduced to a beachside chalet that was as disappointing in the interior as the exterior's peeling paint and lopsided chairs sitting on the patio indicated.
Calling the room low-rent would be an understatement, third-world chic may more accurately describe it with its collection of a wonky bed, cheap mattress, 2 inch thick pillows, stained cushions and dusty daybed. The saving grace of the room itself was that its spartan furnishing reduced our exposure to more possible poorly crafted eyesores.
The bathroom especially deserves special mention with a single temperature tap, intermittently flushing toilet with a broken seat (that was a nice touch) and complimentary cockroach waiting to welcome us in the bathtub. The towels were similarly stained a nice shade of curious brown. While I am all for saving water, the dribble that we barely managed to coax from the shower barely constitutes being able to be called taking a bath.
Moments within checking in we decided to wander around to check out the other facilities that the resort had to offer. Our first stop was the beach sports rental centre where we thought we might indulge in some jet-skiing or maybe take up kite-boarding. Our ski-boy as he was known, introduced us to the pricing which was SGD 80 for 15 minutes and SGD 120 respectively. Usually holiday recreational activities don't require you to take out a small loan to participate so we promptly moved on to check out the food instead.
The food could be summed up pretty succinctly. Expensive, poorly prepared and marginally appetizing. There were too many instances over the 3 days where we were left nauseous after our meal. One particularly memorable experience was when my partner threw up the cheese pizza that she ate not less than 15 minutes after consuming it. The smell of vomit lingered in her hair the rest of the day which I must give the Mayang Sari special thanks for, they know how create memories.
Anyway long story short, if you want value, comfort, affordable recreational activities and great food you're looking in the wrong place. TURN BACK!! This would rank #1 in my worst holiday in terms of price paid for such a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evolutionxv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Got bored in Singapore so decided to take the weekend away to Bintan Island.... even though it's in the Monsoon period Oct-March, still decided to take my chances and looked around in the internet for deals mid-week. Finally booked Mayang Sari Beach Resort after reading through the reviews in trip advisor. Got a deal on internet booking for beach front chalet @SGD$288/night (weekend rate inc/taxes) and arrived on Friday.

Requested for a Double Bed + Sea Turtle Chalet preference during booking.. however, after I checked in, I found that got the Stingray 1 w/ 2 Twin Beds instead! Not to mention it's also the closest chalet to the beach club on the right which I know on fri/sat night I'd be shaken with music next door til 2am... was a little upset. so anyway I gave 50k RP tip to the buggy driver who took us to the chalet and asked him to find ways to move us to any beach front Chalet with Double bed. but he came back and said no can do... (guess tips doesn't always get you what you want) so I figured I can't ruin this weekend like this so head to the front desk and explained my frustration to one of the manager. He was actually quite patient and helpful and spent some time to look around for other options... finally he said all the beachfront chalet with double bed is fully taken but suggested the blackant 4 (behind dolphin & octopus chalets) with partial seaview, and can refund $32/nite for us. Took a look and that seems to be okay so I took it, as it's not that much further away from the beachfronts if you are okay with the partial view.

Room was old but clean and spacious, and really being so close to the sand beach was already worth every penny spent! did still feel some vibration at night from club next door but acceptable. lucky the weather wasn't as bad, and only rained a couple of hours during the afternoons we stayed. there are still a bit of washed up debris on the beach, but at least they are mostly wood/seaweeds. so still enjoyed quite a bit on the beach.

Walked around the resort and survey out the most ideal beach front chalets I'd stay would be Dolphin, Octopus, Stingray(just not no. 1 which is closest to the club/parking lot) as they are the only 3 chalet quadplexes right infront the sand beach w/ great sea view (some with small bushes in front). I might consider Starfish w/ more privacy on the left but the bass echo is known to be most felt on fri/sat among all units. I would recommend just to stay away from fri/sat stays... unless you opt for more inner units like i did/ or don't care about the vibrations of wooden floor during those hours/ or simply have the energy to join the beach club during late-nite hours.

Aside from enjoying the beach and listening to the ocean waves to vegitate on your front porch...take one day to do the discovery day/night tour on good weather. and another day aroma day spa (which they provide 2-way transportation FOC) and shop/eat in Oleh Oleh across street for value.

BTW, if you are a big breakfast person, head for breakfast at nirwana resort w/same coupon, more selections.

Oh, free WiFi access, get your login/password from lobby. but got to stay closer to the units next to the lobby (am guessing seahorse, lobster, bonefish, dragonfly, ladybug...) or else you'd have to be out on the beach for good signal.

That's all! Enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaBa0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The Seafood taste very good and very cheap. Clear view of the sea and good spot for fishing at Hotel... Hehe

Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
1  Thank Candyeleecw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#5 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,597 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#2 of 36 in Bintan Island
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 8 in Lagoi
180 reviews
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#4 of 36 in Bintan Island
592 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#6 of 36 in Bintan Island
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Bintan Regency, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Regency > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range: £100 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing