We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced old resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lagoi
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“overpriced old resort”
Reviewed 28 August 2007

Nice location right on the beach. Friendly and efficient staff. But the resort looks so old and tired! Food is absolutely terrible and prices are on the high side! We ordered drinks and snacks on the beach. The smiling staff brought us the order wrapped in plastic bags and take-away boxxes with no glasses. At 60 S$ for 3 beers and some chicken wings, they must be dreaming! I stayed 3 days and spend over 400 S$ just in lousy food. Will not come back, for sure!

  • Liked — the clean and superb beach
  • Disliked — prices on the high end not justified
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank frenchinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    263
    104
    27
    28
See reviews for
201
246
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

We stayed in Bintan for 3 nights at the end of a 3-month trip to Australia and New Zealand.

The accommodation was good, but not exceptional. The "chalets" are certainly very spacious, with comfortable beds and decent bathrooms. We had booked a double bed and were given twin beds. We moved the two beds together, but with a thick wooden frame it still couldn't work as a double. The hotel's solution was to roll a blanket to lay in the gap between the mattresses. This worked OK.

Beach was nice, but the sand had an odd texture. I believe they treat it every so often to repel the mosquitos. No shortage of loungers and hammocks.

Food was very disappointing, so we ate two nights at the Thai restaurant, which I recommend.

Whatever you do, DO NOT go on the cultural/shopping trip to the authentic village. This is a village set up 100% for tourists. All you will find is fake Ralph Lauren tops, trashy souvenirs and a few restaurants. There is nothing to do there.

Note: Singapore residents get a much better rate. You'll need to provide a Singapore address when booking.

Overall, I would say it's a nice get-away for Singapore residents, but never a destination for anyone outside Singapore. South East Asia has so many better places to offer, and it's not a patch on Thailand or Malaysia.

  • Liked — Quiet.
  • Disliked — Lousy food.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Rob076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

We recently hired two triple-bed beachfront chalets at Mayang Sari after a friend of our who lives in Singapore advised us to make the booking. These five days came at the end of our holiday and it turned out to be the perfect conclusion to a rather hectic schedule. Having read some of the other reviews about the Mayang Sari I would have to concur with some of the views presented: the grounds and overall ambience of the resort is very relaxing: great beach, warm water, blue sky. The resort staff were very welcoming and couldn't do enough to make our stay a pleasant one. However like other reviewers it's probably the bathrooms that need the most attention here. They aren't exactly 'comfortable', but it's only a minor problem! We would certainly go back to Mayang Sari again but with one difference - we would ensure that we had exchanged our money to Singapore Dollars whilst we were IN Singapore. You'll get a much better exchange rate there than you do on Bintan.

  • Liked — That it was only about ten metres from the beach!
  • Disliked — The bathrooms
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kiwitraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2007

We live in Singapore and we stayed in the Mayang Sari before. To be honest we really liked it. The beach is very nice, the hotel staff friendly, the beach huts a bit run down but quite and with a fantastic view of the beach.

Unfortunately, the club next to the Mayang Sari (the former Mana Mana Beach Club) has been turned into a beach disco that blasts out techno music on weekends till about three in the morning. Unfortunately the club is very close to the Mayang Sary and the music very loud also inside our beach hut (--> no sleep till three in the morning).

If you like to listen to techno parties till three in the morning this is a great hotel if you prefer to sleep do not go to Mayang Sari.

  • Disliked — Very loud music till 3 in the morning from neigbouring regular weekend beach party
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roterbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lagoi
0.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
2.0 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#6 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,559 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#3 of 35 in Bintan Island
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#5 of 35 in Bintan Island
577 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 5 in Lagoi
171 reviews
4.1 mi away
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
Grand Lagoi Village Bintan
#8 of 35 in Bintan Island
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort

Property: Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Panglima Pantar, Lagoi, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island > Lagoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lagoi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lagoi
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lagoi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leave the world behind as you cruise to Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan - a rustic resort tucked away in a pretty little cove on Bintan Island. Set in unspoiled nature on the northern coast of Bintan Island, Mayang Sari Beach Resort offers the perfect haven for a brief respite or a long weekend. Wake up to fresh sea breeze and the lush beauty of a tropical beach. Each air-conditioned chalet is equipped with modern amenities and also has an attached bathroom and a private veranda that commands either a garden or sea view. *Mayang Sari Beach Resort guests have access to all facilities and restaurants within Nirwana Gardens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirwan Gardens - Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Lagoi
Mayang Sari Beach Bintan
Mayang Sari Beach Hotel Bintan
Nirwana Gardens Mayang Sari Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing