We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Tummel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tummel Bridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Loch Tummel Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tummel Bridge
Certificate of Excellence
St. Andrews, Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

If you are contemplating booking this hotel then I feel you can do so in complete confidence that you will have a most enjoyable stay. My wife and I spent a 4-night break here from 27th. September – 1st. October, 2013 and would not have the slightest hesitation in making a return visit.
The hotel is in a stunning location at the Western extremity of Loch Tummel with panoramic views from the front of the building in an Easterly direction down the loch with the hotel grounds fronting onto the lochside.

The hotel services were faultless in every respect and carried out by cheery, helpful and obliging staff. There was a good menu choice for every meal with table service for wine orders in the restaurant. If requiring other drinks with your meal you were requested to purchase these at the bar before coming in for your meal. A glass of house wine costs £2.60 which must be the cheapest glass of wine in the UK with a bottle costing £9.85. We were given a choice of mealtimes on our arrival – either 8.00am or 9.10am for breakfast and either 6.25pm or 7.30pm for dinner. The reason for this is to ensure the best possible service in the restaurant and to tie in with coach schedules. It was 100% successful and the service was slick and efficient.

Entertainment was laid on each evening with a wide variety of music and humour to cater for all tastes. There is also a sizeable dance floor for those who enjoy tripping the light fantastic.

Room heating is on a timer and was just perfect. If for any reason you may be spending time in your room during the day, then a portable heater may be borrowed from reception. There were coffee making facilities in the room however please note that shampoo and conditioner are not available in the bathroom. Our room was a fixed shower head over bath scenario with good water pressure and temperature. Fresh towels daily.

Gratuities – on the final day of your stay a basket is placed outside the restaurant at breakfast for any contributions you may care to make. After enquiring, I was advised that any housekeeping gratuities should just be left in your room as it is the same person who services the room during your stay.

The hotel has some 28 resident mallard ducks who frequent the extensive grassy area in front of the hotel. Packets of duck food are available on the reception counter for a contribution. Guests are requested not to feed the ducks in the vicinity of the front door for obvious reasons. They will follow you out onto the grass as soon as they see the white bag. Guests are also requested not to feed them bread, toast or similar as it is bad for their diet. Feeding these ducks brought pleasure to many of the guests.

Finally, if you are on a self-drive basis, the hotel entrance could be better signposted especially if approaching from Pitlochry along the north bank of the loch and over the small bridge at Tummel Bridge. After crossing this small bridge and after a mile or so keep a sharp lookout on your left-hand side for the entrance. The hotel nameplate is tucked in off the road and only on one side of the entrance. Previous reports have indicated overshooting which could be easily done.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carimakan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    77
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
67
256
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Booked this as a self drive 4 night break with Lochs & Glens as a self drive. 27th September to the 1st October 2013. Was so glad we did. We had a wonderfull visit. We cant fault anything. The food was excellentt, the service for breakfast and dinner was excellent. served in the good old fashioned way, with good choice and served just at the right temperature. We were seated at our own table despite this hotel catering for coach tours. so although there were 4 coaches visiting it was so organised there was not the typical coach tour rabble.We noticed that the hotel run everything with precision engineering, and it worked very well. This company have pretty much got this working very well. Our room was facing to the river which was very comfortable. The hotel is situated in the most stunning location. The staff couldnt do enough for you.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Loch if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holly010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick on Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We can recommend this hotel to anyone, we stayed for 4 nights and really enjoyed our time there. The staff were very helpful, good food and the location and views were fantastic.
Looking forward to visiting again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

This was my first time with Lochs & Glens but will certainly not be my last, the whole experience was first class. The staff were efficient, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. I asked for an extra tea bag, cos I like my tea extra strong, and ever morning at breakfast there was 2 extra tea bags in a dish for me, this is going the extra mile. The hotel is set in an amazing setting, the views are splendid. Bob our driver was most informative and extremely courteous, making sure we were well looked after.

Room Tip: All rooms have a Loch view, so all are a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oonagh442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

The Tripadvisor 2013 badge of excellence is displayed at the front entrance, together with the rack rate of £50 b and b and £60 d, b and b. We arrived by coach and the General Manager came on to the coach to welcome us and hand out our room cards, already sorted into our seat order. Our cases were taken to our rooms, although one case was missing for over two hours and another lady noticed the wrong room number had been put on her case. Someone, who had stayed at a number of Lochs and Glens hotels, reckoned that Loch Tummel Hotel was the best.

The food was of a generally high standard with waiter / waitress service at both breakfast and dinner. You could ask for a small portion, which seemed to be a popular option for porridge and soup. Someone with a large appetite had two separate dishes at breakfast and two desserts at dinner. The precise times that we were allocated for meals (ie 8.20am or 9.15am, 6.30pm or 7.30pm) meant that our dining room was quiet and the service was very efficient. On our last morning both dining rooms were full and noisy and there was a restricted menu. There was one table for a group of twelve people, but all other tables were for four. If water was requested at breakfast on the first morning, it appeared on the table every day. Jugs of water were provided on every table at dinner. Some people changed their order of coffee to tea after tasting the coffee. The local menu options, e.g. stovies and cranachan were deservedly popular and both meat, especially the beef, and fish were of better quality than some more highly rated hotels. Drinks prices were reasonable, e.g. £2.60 for a glass of house red wine and £9.85 for a bottle of house white wine. At lunch time soup and sandwiches could be purchased in the bar for £4 and tea or coffee for 50p.
Ground floor bedrooms were available, where the only disturbance was reported to be from the ducks gathering under the windows. Bedrooms at the front of the hotels had beautiful views of the loch. Beds were comfortable with duvets rather than sheets and a heavy quilt. Blankets and extra pillows were available on request. Biscuits and toiletries were not provided and could be purchased from Reception, but the towels were very good and were changed daily. The coffee supplied in the room was of poor quality. The small flat screen T.V. had a good picture and a minute remote control. The hair dryer was powerful. The bathroom was well designed with thermostatic controls for the bath water, but a fixed old-fashioned shower. A rubber mat was provided for the bath.
There were plenty of seats in the hall / lounge and function room. The evening entertainment consisted mainly of a singer / instrumentalist, one of whom kept playing bts of Christmas carols! Bingo was popular on one evening, as was a lady piper. Although there was a T.V, I did not see it switched on and it apparently had no Sky coverage, (which disappointed some football fans). There was a daily general knowledge quiz, available from Reception, which a lot of people enjoyed attempting. A book exchange box was also available, but there were no board games or jigsaws. The library area of the lounge had imitation books and locked cupboards of condensed books! Newspapers could not be ordered, but were delivered every day between 8.30 and 9am to Reception. It was the only time of day you would see queues there.

Room Tip: Even numbers tend to be at the front of the hotel, but low numbers, eg 102, 104, 106, 108 are at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My partner and I have just returned from our first Lochs and Glens holiday based at the Loch Tummel Hotel. It is set in the most beautiful surroundings imaginable and the hotel itself has been designed to fit to those surroundings perfectly. The rooms are very comfortable, the meals are very good and the staff, who are all very young, are well trained and really friendly. Our driver, Stewart, is a great lad and a first class driver. There was a problem when the bus broke down but it was handled well and didn't mar the holiday at all. We are already planning another trip for next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kinosha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham uk
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

we had been recomended loch tummel hotel whist we had been to port patrick hotel with shearings a few weeks ago and the reports were true .The views w ere marvelous and the surrounding area was just the same a marvellous sight around eve ry bend in the road (and there were hundreds of them ).The staff worked very hard and were very pleasant , the meals were very good and served very quickly , much better when we were on Cunards flag ship when it took a mininum of 90 minutes to be served . We arrived by car and had trouble finding the hotel having driven past it without seeing any sign .it wasnt until we turned around a few miles down the road and came back did we see the sign . The other gripe was that they started to cut the grass at 7am but other than that we had a great time

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bazdurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tummel Bridge
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
Macdonald Loch Rannoch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kinloch Rannoch
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
10.6 mi away
Knockendarroch Hotel & Restaurant
10.0 mi away
Fonab Castle Hotel
Fonab Castle Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Kenmore Hotel
Kenmore Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kenmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
7.2 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#12 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
10.9 mi away
Atholl Palace Hotel
Atholl Palace Hotel
#8 of 18 in Pitlochry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Tummel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Tummel Hotel

Property: Loch Tummel Hotel
Address: | Tummel Bridge, Tummel Bridge PH16 5SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Tummel Bridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tummel Bridge
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Loch Tummel Bridge
Loch Tummel Hotel Tummel Bridge, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing