We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and clean room but...”
Review of HIG Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HIG Hotel
Ranked #1 of 33 Kuah B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel because there's a lot of positive reviews on this hotel.

Journey was about half an hour from the airport. Upon check-in, we were not greeted with a smile. The receptionist was having an unhappy face while attending to me. When she asked me for my IC, she took it from her left hand which is not a good thing.

The Hotel should trained the staff in customer service, I think thats the only thing that the Hotel is lacking.
Need to deposit RM100 for 2 rooms.

However, the bellboy changed everything because approached us with a smile and even recommended us at the places that we should visit in Langkawi.

Booked 2 rooms for the seaview and we got the back alley view, so I think no point paying extra for seaview because its a waste of money.

Room was really clean and big. Housekeeping was fast too.
The only downside was that if you need extra towels, pillows or any other more things, there's extra charges.

I would go to this hotel again in the near future but hope the customer service can be improved.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Senorita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel. The location is great in Kuah town area. For shoppers, this location is indeed perfect; the shopping complex for most of the things shoppers would tend to buy in Langkawi is just next to the hotel. Parking is not a problem at all. This is another factor that we like most about this hotel compared to some that we have stayed before in Chenang Beach area. We could just drive off without worrying where would we park the car on our return to the hotel.
Breakfast, however, is not that commendable as there were not many choices.
The room is spacious and comfortable. Checking in is fairly quick. We were presented the TV remote controller, in addition to the key card. Perhaps, this small gadget for the TV, is a favourite 'souvenir' among guests. Wifi is fast and free.
We would stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NKR17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

new hotel with spacious room in Kuah Town with reasonable pricing.
front desk services need to be improved with politeness. They having problem on my booking via booking.com and delaying my check in process. Aircond not working and the technician cant do anything on it after took out the filter and wash it, wet my toilet during the process and didnt cleanup. When call for housekeeping to ask for extra pillow at 1130pm, they mention house keeping closed and locked up.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwintcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

One night stay for the purpose of shopping only. The hotel location is very strategic. Near the jetty, pekan kuah, shopping complex, foodstalls. Spacious parking lot. The staffs very warm and friendly. The bellboy very helpful. The room very comfortable and i love the bathroom shower so much! They also provide Al-Quran in the drawer for muslim guests (this is the only hotel i ever found this).

I'm sure will coming back to stay here in the next visit.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Raudzah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed for about 3 nights and enjoyed every bit of this hotel. The breakfast is great. The rooms are huge with sofa and tea kettle. This is near the eagle square and shopping here is open till 11 PM. There is a complex right next to the building. I loved it and would book it again if I go to Langkawi!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank medihaaziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed in HIG in April for 3 nights and it is a place you get what you paid for. Nothing more, nothing less. Rooms are large and things are in order. Did not see anything at the wrong place/ wrong way. Though you book a sea view room do not expect it to be fantastic, it is not. You will see the sea, bit far though! Any way if you want to be on the beach you should not book here. The breakfast is not the best, they could add bit more things to the list.

There are some good people. The bellboy Anzinan is a very pleasant and good person as well as the F&B manager who went beyond his call of duty to prepare food for our little one. The lady chef who was there on 9th April afternoon was also very helpful. She was quick to understand our requirement and then attend to it. Those things make your stay a pleasant one.

Kuah is away from the "happening" area of Langkawi. As they say stuff in Kuah like the chocolates and alcohol are cheaper than other parts of the island. There are few eateries close to the hotel, these places sell street food, pretty tasty, loads of variety. This include the famous bakery just in-front of the hotel. You must try their stuff.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirantha k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

this hotel is located in a good location nearby to kuah town for duty-free shopping. Rooms are spacious and good enough.Need to improve more on breakfast selection though. One of the staff, Ismail was very helpful when we requested him to help us to arrange for next day early morning taxi to telaga jetty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahtan85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuah
0.7 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
526 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Asia Langkawi
Hotel Asia Langkawi
#3 of 17 in Kuah
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
12.9 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.7 mi away
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
Cenang Plaza Beach Hotel
#2 of 24 in Pantai Cenang
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HIG Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HIG Hotel

Address: Lot 1852 Jalan Penarak, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Kuah
Price Range: £33 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HIG Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your HIG Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
HIG Hotel Langkawi/Kuah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing