We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's cool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Kuah
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The moment we arrived at the lobby, the view quite scenic. An open lobby with a view of the sea. The time for check-in quite late, 3.00 pm. The staff looks inexperienced, but still they try to put some good effort. There's some empty shop lot near the reception, we figured this resort might be new one. As we check-in, the room is very nice. We booked the apartment with the sea view. The sea view is cool, but you can't swim in the sea since it's quite dirty. But, there's a pool if you want to swim. We noticed there's still some construction on going. Overall, it's a good place for family.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank MohdNazriHirwant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

349 - 355 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Its really nice area it does not have its own beach but its very much recommended.
Its right on shores of ocean,
What a place to be on this earth.
Breakfast choice was good
Swimming Pool though shallow good for a family
Would recommend switch off mobile and indulge in looking at Sea opposite & feel like you are not in this world

Room Tip: Please if you are foodie then have your food ordered from out and get it warm through equipments in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aminsulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Check in on April with group of 5. We booked room with Booking.com and the booking clearly stated 2 bedroom suite with sea view. We reached early about 1.50pm and had remark to check in early but the Front Office said the room is not ready yet and check in should be at 3pm. So, we changed plan and went out for lunch.

Came back at 3.20pm to check in, the staff informed us the lift is not function and we have to use staircase to the 3rd floor.. but before that we had an argument with front office when the staff named FARIS shouting at us and said they don't have 2 bedroom in 1 unit. There is no clause show in the booking.com that the room actually 1 bedroom suite and combine with deluxe room with separate door, balcony, no door connecting and the only connected only the foyer. He asked us to take a look at the room first and yes we disappointed and out from what we expected. Its separate bedroom and the worst part the room facing construction work. Again we went down to the hotel lobby and met the manager named Shahril. The manager also a new staff there and he claimed he also attended complaint about this 2 bedroom suite. Don't you feel like the term that they use "2 bedroom suite" is supposed 2 bedroom in 1 unit..? The booking also clearly stated 2 bedroom suite with sea view and he said we paid for normal price and no seaview. Even if we didn't book for seaview he supposed to upgrade the room for guest because the hotel is not full and plus its on weekday. Anyway thanks to Shahril, he changed our room to seaview even its a separate room and we had no choice cos they don't have 2 bedroom in 1 unit. Again we was shocked actually we can use the lift and the lift function by request. What the..???

The next day, early in the morning the housekeeping keep shouting at the foyer even the "Do Not Disturb" light appeared. Felt irritated. We went out at 12pm, drop our keys at reception and leave a message to make up room and we also let the sign Make up room appeared at our room. By 6.30pm we came back to the hotel, take our keycard that takes 10minutes to them to find it, end up they issued new keycard for us and i saw Front Office staff, Faris smoking at the lobby area. That's showed they lacked of knowledge about what they Do and Don'ts as a Front Office staff. Came up to the room and the room still same like before we left. Called reception and asked, they said no housekeeping staff after 6pm. Again we disappointed and because we too tired and get fed up to argue, we just request them to replace towel and empty the dustbin.

Layout room is nice, but they didn't provide mineral water in the room, no coffee & sugar sachet, no iron and need to come down to level 2 for that. Nice view from lobby area with infinity swimming pool, they also have for ladies only swimming pool, children swimming pool and playground. Coffee House open only for breakfast, beach kiosk also not operate yet. Breakfast buffet not as what we expected.

Last day, we check out at 12pm and overall we just feel booked at this hotel is a big mistake felt cheated by them of the terms "2 bedroom suite", unless the management give full training to the staff and hired the experience staff to sit at the reception and front office and the most important not to cheat the hotel guest by stated 2 bedroom suite that they don't have.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suite sea & pool view, room 331 & 329
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awsuhaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

On approach this new imposing building and expansive reception with stylish chandeliers & wonderful view across wet edged infinity pool to the bay beyond looks impressive, but then the cracks appear.
Opened only 6months ago, most of the complex is incomplete, the staff inexperienced &/or very poorly trained and the whole experience is like being in a glamorous youth hostel.
Eg. Of 4 lifts only one was working for the whole 3 days we were there, guests asked to use the stairs with 'complimentary water' (which had to be hunted down by a maid) was the salve.
First room we were taken to reeked of stale cigarette smoke despite our non-smoking booking (which should be the default setting these days, not a request), next room on the floor below (after a trip back to reception for reissued keys) was occupied by a sleeping guest who wasn't impressed with the porter banging on his "do not disturb" door because, surprise surprise, our keys didn't worked.
Third room, after yet another walk down the stairs to reception for new keys, was a twin when we'd booked a queen bed, no coffee sachets, no glasses (that took hunting down the room attendant & playing charades before plastic ones arrived) & no more energy to keep traipsing back to reception for another round of Fawlty Towers.

Breakfast buffet was very ordinary, all plates, bowls & glasses were plastic (thankfully the cups & saucers were porcelain but they didn't improve the taste of tea & coffee with sachet creamer & no milk) but the staff friendly.

As well as many areas still subject to loud drilling & jackhammering, there were no sprinklers, no emergency signs for evacuation, & overall, the place should not have opened until all the bugs had been ironed out.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view, non smoking, specify bed type & before the porter goes make sure it's prop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReluctantCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Yes my experience of the hotel is disgusting........without even going there.......I booked a room through booking.com on the 15th of April 2014 wherein a free cancellation policy for the room was stated......a day later, with a change in program i cancelled the booking......and was reassured by booking.com that zero charges would be deducted....however we were shocked to learn that Rs 10,990.34 were debited to our credit card by the hotel.
My husband called up the booking.com 24/7 service wherein they said that it was the hotel 'policy' to 'check' the credit card authenticity and they will return the money in a weeks time,,,,,,,....fine......i am all for such precautions and policies to protect their interests........but I have two questions
1) why do you need to debit an amount as huge as 10k to check. A mere 100rs would have been enough
2) Why did the hotel need to 'check' the authenticity of my card AFTER the CANCELLATION, is beyond any logic
My advice to the unsuspecting visitors is to be ready for any such "SCAMS' and to these agents that they should not mislead the customers............and be very specific in stating the policies so that we the customers are not shocked by such actions
I hope that i get my money back.......soon

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Nigar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Visited this hotel during Chinease New Year for 4 days 3 nights with my family. Checking in was a bit disorganised but overall nice and polite staffs. Altough it is a new hotel, the view are very nice and a lot can be improved to attract more tourist. If you wanna book a room, ask for a seaview room, otherwise u will be disappointed. The rooms was nice and cozy. Will definitely come again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Rizuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed overnight at the Dayang Bay Serviced Apartments as we wanted to be close to the ferry terminal the following day (this place is 10 minute drive away). Hotel is new but very mediocre. Decoration in the Reception area are rather OTT with plastic palm trees and fake flowers. The room we stayed in overlooked the pool, to be fair it was clean and the bed was comfortable. But the details like the tiles in the bathroom still having grout on them let the place down. The pool is a good size and has a kiddies pool along side, which looked great for people with families. Breakfast was better than expected following the reviews we had read. The staff were great and extremely helpful particularly Faris who organised our ferry tickets and arrange a pickup from the hotel for us. This place is ok for an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Pick a room with seaview, rooms at back overlook wasteland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuah
1 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
570 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
7.4 mi away
The Smith House
The Smith House
#1 of 1 in Padang Mat Sirat
93 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Frangipani Langkawi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort

Address: No 15 Persiaran Pelangi, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Kuah
Price Range: £42 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort is located at the heart of Kuah Town and with facilities for children ad family. It consists of 285 rooms various from Deluxe rooms (twin bedded with attached bathroom) and Studio Suites (comes with living room, kitchenette, dining room, balcony, 1 master bedroom with King bed, 2 bathrooms), sea view and normal view. Shopping center, F & B outlets and local arts and crafts are within 10 min away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dayang Bay Serviced Apartment & Resort Langkawi/Kuah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing