We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel because of one man Zai.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Waterfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bella Vista Waterfront
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kuah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel because of one man Zai.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Great hotel...staff were great... Had a great time with Zai and Ku who worked there and would recommend this hotel to anyone... No reason to hesitate..
Zai is great man and will help anyone experiencing problems.. His knowledge of the island is great..

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uzair786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaLangkawi, General Manager at Bella Vista Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Uzair786,

Many sincere thanks for your appreciative words and we are indeed delighted to learn of your positive stay experience. Your gracious compliments will most certainly inspire and motivate all our associates to continue giving their best to consistently meet or exceed guest expectations. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Zack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    159
    162
    94
    123
See reviews for
163
160
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Booked and paid for 2 executive suites but given just 1 executive suite which consists of 2 adjoining rooms . Also asked if we could have extra towels , we're told we had to pay for extra towels.

Breakfast -  the selection of food dishes were always left empty and not automatically replenished by staff where too busy chatting to one another.
When asked for croissant - told to wait 10 mins as  it is in the oven but when displayed  it is cold - maybe staff need to know how to operate the oven 
As the morning progressed the coffee tasted just like dishwater... Seems like just topped up with hot water so no coffee taste left. Butter/margarine is a health risk as it has lost its    make up -the butter and milk has already separated and should not even be on the breakfast table.

Coffee cups were disgracefully stained so much so that all hotel guests simply turn the cups over showing the stains and not using them all.....did not make staff any the wiser as it happens everyday

Rooms were very dusty on day of arrival , housekeeping argued that room has been cleaned, so we asked for a broom for us to clean the rooms  ourselves, reluctantly housekeeping returned with broom that just shifted dust from one corner of room to another.


2nd day room was not cleaned and housekeeping excuse was we had switched on do not disturb which we  dispute as switches were the same as previous day 

swimming pool opened to non residents who were supplied with towels even though they were told they do not stay at the hotel.

When we  raised a complaint , we were told nothing can be done as duty manager was on holiday.... What will happen during an emergency.... Wait till duty manager comes back from holiday? At the time of writing this review the complaint is still unresolved although the duty manager was back on the 26th August.
Hotel supposed to be refurbished but our room leads to unfinished dusty and unsightly alley.maybe it is still  a work in progress and should not have been let out to paying guests.
The extractor fan in one of the toilets did not work at all .

Room Tip: Make sure you make as much noise as possible until you get what you have paid for and not be fobbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaLangkawi, General Manager at Bella Vista Waterfront, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Dear Boon C,

Thank you for providing your valued feedback. I sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and the points thoughtfully highlighted will be reviewed with the respective heads of department for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

Warm Regards,
Zack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuah hotels

Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

We - 10 of us - traveled all the way from UK and USA to meet up here. We paid for 2 Executive (Studio Suite) Max Occupancy: 5 adults for each Suite.
We checked in and were given: 1 Studio Premier (Max Occupancy 3 adults) and 1 Studio Deluxe (Max Occupancy 2 adults) for the 10 of us. We thought the extra beds/bedding and extra towels would come later.
The extra beds/bedding and extra towels never came. We rang room service and were told to pay more if we needed bed or extra towels. We went to the front desk, and were told the same thing. We were only given 4 towels for 10 people. Our 3 night stay was very crowded and uncomfortable. After the stay - we did some research, we were given the wrong type of rooms! We were given half of what we entitled for. We booked through Air Asia, and they admitted that it was a mistake and contacted the hotel. But we have not heard from the hotel. And it is 3 weeks after our stay.
The servers in the restaurant are like from the street vendor. We observed a food worker refilling milk (breakfast buffet), using his teeth, biting open the milk cartoon. (Is the restaurant lacking a pair of scissors?) We wonder if he had the ethics to do that in front of us, what he would do behind us.
Overall the front desk staff was unknowledgeable about the hotel room type. The staff did not try to help us resolve our room problem.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you paid for. Not just the "Title" of the room but the detail desc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaLangkawi, General Manager at Bella Vista Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear aljabri2013,
Dear LL C,

Thank you for your valued feedback. I sincerely apologize for any dissatisfaction and the points thoughtfully highlighted will be reviewed with the respective heads of department for improvement and bettering our guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.

Warm Regards,
Zack
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Very dirty hotel. Rude and aggressive staff. The lobby is not organized, no AC, they r using fans. The rooms r extremly dirty, old, taps r full of rust, the AC was not working, door was not properly closing, safe box is not working at all even when they send technicians but still didnt work. The lift used by guests is the same one used for garbage

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JamHZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaVistaLangkawi, General Manager at Bella Vista Waterfront, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Jamal Abdullah,

Thank you for providing us with your valued feedback and thoughtfully highlighting your points, which are certainly appreciated.

All concerns raised by you will be reviewed for improvement with the departments concerned.

I deeply regret the unpleasant experience during your stay and apologize without any hesitation for not meeting your expectations. I have personally discussed your observations with the Departments concerned to make sure of no future complaints.

We would like to reassure you that the shortcomings are certainly not reflective of our usual standards and sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.

We hope to welcome you back again with a more positive stay experience.

Warm Regards,
Zack
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

and thats it. the room was dated and rather old but there was quite a bit of renovation (not much noise or dust though)... no wifi in the rooms... staff was rude... I think there are significantly better choices to choose from.. while I must still give some credit that there is some updates here and there and this might be a good place to go sometimes.. next year maybe?

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffin_jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have read all the negative comments about the hotel, but I am of the view point that some people have a very unreal expectation of what they should get for their dollar! Before our first stay at this hotel, we were on a cruise that docked at Langkawi for the day, so we hired a motor bike and went to check out the hotel, while we still had time to cancel the reservation and find somewhere else to stay if necessary. We were shown a room and looked over the rest of the property, the internet rate I had booked for was very reasonable (and cheaper than the walk-in rate). When you compare the rate charged at other hotels on Langkawi (lots of them without any character or view) , this hotel is very good value for money. Breakfast daily: at least eight different hot dishes; full egg station; European styled cold cuts and salads; cereals; fresh fruits; breads, toast, rolls and pastries; fruit juices, tea, coffee. We were polite to staff and they were polite and helpful to us. We found it to be exactly the same two years later on our next visit, with many of the same staff.
If you are looking for a ‘Resort Holiday’ where you spend most of your time just at the resort, this probably isn’t the place for you, dig into your bank account for at least double what it costs to stay here and find a far more expensive hotel on a beach somewhere. It is however a great base to do day outing’s, and relax in the evenings. Car hire is very cheap on Langkawi (about 25% cheaper than mainland Malaysia), and it is only 45km to the furthest point on the island. The food at the restaurant is good, but the menu isn’t extensive if you are eating there a lot. There is a great restaurant behind the resort called ‘Wonderland’, it is always busy, very good food and very reasonable prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrayNomadsBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

After reading the mixed reviews from TA, where the negatives far out beat the positives one, we came to this hotel with just the slightest expectation. As the saying goes, surprises creeps in when one least expect, which is true in our case, no pun intended.

As a start, after reading all the negatives reviews, I decided to exchange a few emails with the hotel executives which is not my norm to do so, but to play safe, I did call and write to them to ensure we have a newly renovated, higher floor room, and I would to ensure the hotel 'reserved' to us a queen size room instead of 2 single, because we will be only checking in near midnight due to a late night flight into Langkawi, although the former room is combined with 2 single beds.

Due to our flight delayed, we arrived at the hotel near midnight and the check-in was very smooth. I did request for a higher floor room but they can only accommodate us in the 1st floor, which is also the lowest floor for the guest room, but as a consolation to our utterly dismayed, we do get a newly renovated queen size room, having a seafront view.

The deluxe room is just average in size and fit comfortably with 2 adults with a small wardrobe to stow a piece of medium sized luggage. Literally, there is no much space left to move around in the room. It is ashamed that we can only partially see the magnificent seafront view in the day time because its blocked by some of the trees and it will be a perfect picturesque if we were to stay in the higher floor.

The room is clean and the bed is firm. There is basic tea and coffee making facilities and the minibar functioning well too. As the hot shower is operated using the solar power system, it takes about 3-5 mins to heat up the water. The water pressure is good and the hot shower works perfectly.

The surrounding of the hotel are well kept and clean especially their garden and pool area. The room comes with buffet breakfast. The breakfast has limited choices of food, and the quality and taste of the food can be further improved. There's omelette station, which the omelette are perfectly done. As we are putting 6 days in the hotel, we simply just can't eat the same food on the 4th day, so we decided to just eat outside on the remaining days. It will be great if the resort able to provide options for the guests to either book the hotel room which comes with or without breakfast.

We've encounter a hiccup when comes to housekeeping service on our 1st night. We've placed the "Please Makeup the room" sign outside our room before we went out in the morning. We were astonished when we see the same sign hanged outside our room later in the evening and to my disappointment, our room is not cleaned for that day. I called the housekeeping around 6pm and the staff told me our room is not cleaned because there is a "Do not disturb" sign hanged outside our room, which is not the case. They must have mistakenly read the sign and further to that, she said all the maid has gone back and basically we would have to wait until the next morning to get our room cleaned. I asked if she can just get someone to at least send us the fresh towels and bath gel and she promised she will try to get someone to do it later. The second surprises given by the resort for the evening was there's still no fresh towels and bath gel after we came back from dinner around 11pm. I called the housekeeping n there's no one picking up the phone, and I have no choice but to call the front desk and the staff told me the housekeeping is closed and she is not sure she can even get us fresh towels as the storeroom is locked. I have to explain the whole incident all over again and the housekeeping staff literally didn't keep her promise. After an hour of waiting, the staff is kind enough to send us fresh towels and bath gels. We've learnt from our bitter lesson and for the coming few days, we just don't hang any signage outside our room and to do a reminder at the front desk every morning before we go out to ensure our room is cleaned for that day.

The water of the infinity swimming pool which facing the seafront is clean. The pool size is average and the pool area can be quite noisy and crowded especially during the evening. The resort have basic facilities and if you are looking for a luxurious and relaxing holiday resort with sandy beach, this is definitely not the right place for you. Nevertheless, it is definitely suitable for holiday makers who just need a clean room to sleep and not more. Overall, the resort shall deserve between a 3.0 to 3.5 points and not beyond that.

Room Tip: Try to request higher floor room with seafront view for nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LWilsonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuah
0.4 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.3 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Kuah
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
12.5 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Resorts World Langkawi
Resorts World Langkawi
#22 of 106 in Langkawi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aseania Resort & Spa Langkawi Island
8.3 mi away
Century Langkasuka Resort
Century Langkasuka Resort
#79 of 106 in Langkawi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Waterfront

Property: Bella Vista Waterfront
Address: Persiaran Mutiara 2 | Pusat Dagangan Kelana Mas, Kuah, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia (Formerly Tiara Langkawi Hotel)
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Kuah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Kuah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bella Vista Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Langkawi, the tranquil Jewel of Kedah, offers a unique blend of Asian cultures which is reflected at the Bella Vista Waterfront. Situated in the heart of Kuah town, amidst lush landscaped gardens and overlooking the clear blue waters of the Andaman sea, the resort is the perfect getaway for the discerning international pr domestic traveler whether on business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Bella Vista Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Langkawi Hotel Kuah
Bella Vista Hotel Langkawi
Langkawi Bella Vista Hotel
Bella Vista Waterfront Langkawi/Kuah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing