We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, especially La Luna”

La Sal at Casa Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As expected on holiday, dining is a relaxed, quality experience at your Home by the Sea. Available Dining locations begin at the wine room adjacent the piano and library and continue through a covered patio out to our beach-side coconut grove. La Sal dining offers the best in Modern Asian and Western Cuisine with a focus on high quality fresh produce and is served by attentive and friendly staff. The bar offers a wide variety of wine from the old and new worlds. The cocktail list is exciting and innovative with themed cocktails around our magical sunset, pool side relaxation and post dinner period.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing, especially La Luna”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We dined at La Sal three times, each time having a different style dinner.

The first night, we had booked the La Luna dinner, where the staff set up your table away from the main restaurant and surround it with candles for an extremely romantic atmosphere. The La Luna is a set menu of 7 amazing courses with accompanying wines. I loved the little touches such as the bouquet of flowers, the menu printed with our names and the petits-four being presented in a little gift box (we had them when we got back home!). We were fortunate enough to have the most wonderful sunset that night, and it was honestly the highlight of our honeymoon.

The second night, we had a DIY barbecue on the beach. You have to book 24 hours in advance, and I think Casa del Mar should promote this service more as we only noticed by chance that they offered this. You choose your food in advance from a range of steaks, chicken and fish - we had red snapper, chicken satay (gorgeous!) and the mixed grill, along with chips and vegetable kebabs. The staff set up the barbecue for you, bring out the prepared food and leave you to it. Great fun!

The last night, we ate at the main La Sal restaurant. I had their signature prawn starter, which I highly recommend. All the food was lovely and the service was friendly and unassuming.

Definitely the best restaurant in Cenang, if not Langkawi. Well worth at least one visit here, especially for special occasions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Dirgette,

It is indeed heartened to receive such a great reviews and compliments from you on your dining experiences with us at La Sal Restaurant. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation as well, in which I'm proudly share with our team here.

Once again, thank you and with our best wishes from La Sal Restaurant crews,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    693
    237
    73
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Worth the Price”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came without a reservation but the kind manager got us a table even though they were fully booked out. Very nice. Even though we weren't guests at the hotel everyone was smiling at us and making sure we were comfy.

After a drink, we were sat down at the beach under a coconut tree, lovely! We both ordered the 3-course menu, which allowed us to pick one started, one main, and one dessert.

I started with a crispy soft shell crab, and this was average, then continued on to the main which was a risotto with king prawns and other seafood. Now, this was the star of the evening. I've had many risottos around the world, but this was perhaps one of the most delicious. Every bite was heaven on my tastebuds and I had to finish it even though I was feeling extremely full already.

Dessert was panna cotta which was also lovely. Just the right texture. Partner was also very happy with his food - soup, steak and creme brulee.

Only gripe was the slow service, but since it comes with a smile, and we were on holiday, it was no matter.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank licensed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Licensed2Travel,

Thank you for your recent patronage of our La Sal Restaurant at Casa del Mar, Langkawi! We are delighted and pleased that both of you enjoyed your evening with us and your great reviews on our food is much appreciated!

Once again, we thank you and we hope we'll see both of you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We were excited to go to La Sal for dinner after hearing and reading many positive reports. Unfortunately our experience did not meet these reviews. Some of the food was great and we highly recommend the chicken cooked in coconut husk and the lime creme brulee. These two dishes were delicious. Unfortunately the Malaysian tasting platter and soft shell crab were average. Had this review been based completely on food it would probably have been given a 4/5 but when I consider service the score drops dramatically.
We had booked a table for three and were seated at a table set for two and an additional chair and place setting were only added once we asked for it. A kids menu was not offered to our eight year old despite them having one available. Drinks and service were beyond slow and we sat with empty drinks and plates for long times. Wrong drinks were brought to the table and we had to work to get the attention of waiters. To top things off as we were waiting (again a long time) to get the bill we had asked for we saw a mouse run out from the bathroom and beside a table behind us. This just topped off an otherwise disappointing dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Jacqui W,

Thank you for your recent patronage of our La Sal Restaurant and your positive comments on our food is well appreciated. However, we are truly concerned about the shortfall on our rendered services you'd encountered during your dining with us as you'll understand this is not our standard at all. Please accept our sincere apologies on this matter, and I'll have further discussion with my staffs to further address this matter.

Once again, we thank you for your kind review and hope to see you again at La Sal Restaurant.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,652 reviews
966 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,303 helpful votes
“Had service not been so slow rating would have been 5!”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This place was ranked very high on Tripadvisor and located on the beachfront in a lovely resort down the far end of Pentai Cenang so we decided to give this place a try for lunch. The menu emailled to me was very appealing and had mixed Western and Asian choices.

We shared Entrees of Tempura Prawn with Wasabi Mayo & Snapper Fillet with Ginger Miso Dressing.

Our mains consisted of Crispy Soft Shell Crab with Cos Lettuce Tomato Mango & Grapefruit Salad on Homemade Blue Poppy Bread & Char Kway Teow.

The food was excellent with prices acceptable for this quality venue. There are cheaper options available though. The ambiance is fabulous at this higher end resort. Views are fantastic overlooking the pool and beach with a native beach bar where we started with some pre-lunch drinks. Tables are also set up on the beach so I assume that lunch can be set up there for you if so desired. We chose the restaurant to dine.

There were only two other tables occupied so they were not busy for lunch service. What was totally unacceptable was that it took over 2 hrs to get our entrees and mains. This was pointed out to staff who insisted on serving us a complementary round of drinks as compensation.

If service not been so slow rating would have been 5 out of 5.

Must visit dining venue if service is improved.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Tommomelbourne,

From all of us at La Sal Restaurant, we thank you for your patronage and compliments received on your recent dining experiences with us. We are apologetic and concerned on the slow service sequence as pointed out, and I've had discussion with our team to further improve on this matter.

Once again, thank you with our best regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AUSTRALIA
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Awesome feet in the sand tables.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Setting romantic. Arrive for drinks before sunset. Sunset awesome. Staff friendly. Can get busy and booked out. Can be a wait for food. Good wine list. Food hit and miss. Need consistency in dining. We had duck was perfect. The next time had duck in edible. Lamb twice served raw. Food can be too hot spicy. Yet soup delicious. Chocolate pudding delicious. Crab entree. Needs some work for food to match prices.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LIVETOTRAVEL8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Livetotravel8,

Once again, thank you from all of us on your kind reviews of our La Sal Restaurant!
Our very best wishes and hope to see both of you soon!

Warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sal at Casa Del Mar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to La Sal at Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing