We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was top notch and the view was just awesome..”

La Sal at Casa Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As expected on holiday, dining is a relaxed, quality experience at your Home by the Sea. Available Dining locations begin at the wine room adjacent the piano and library and continue through a covered patio out to our beach-side coconut grove. La Sal dining offers the best in Modern Asian and Western Cuisine with a focus on high quality fresh produce and is served by attentive and friendly staff. The bar offers a wide variety of wine from the old and new worlds. The cocktail list is exciting and innovative with themed cocktails around our magical sunset, pool side relaxation and post dinner period.
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We didn't make any reservation at all, assuming its just a restaurant and should be no problem at all getting a table for 2. Unfortunately, it was full, and we were the 4th couple on the waiting list. However, was greeted by the Manager and he was very helpful and asked us if we can wait and have few drinks at the Pool Bar, while he tried to get a table for us as soon as possible. After about 15 mins, we were ushered to a table by the beach. The view was fantastic, and i must say the ambiance was just awesome and that really light up our feel for the night. Foods were fantastic and their service by their staffs were spot-on. Both of us left the place, feeling contented and definitely will come back again for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Jun P,

From the crews at La Sal Restaurant, we thank you for your recent patronage and your fantastic reviews are much appreciated.

We are truly glad and heartened to receive compliments and highest recommendation from you which I'm proudly share with my team here.

Once again, thank you and we hope we will see you again at La Sal Restaurant soon.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,087)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 1,087 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

Felt cheated by good review. Go for dinner after reading good reviews and comment. Very bad service, waited for 30minutes for dessert even already ordered it early with main dishes. Finished main dishes but nobody come to pick our empty plate. Have to call the waiter to pick it up. Then dessert only come after 30minutes.
Very bad service. Bad bad service!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Miss_Dieba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Miss_Dieba,

Thank you for your recent patronage of our La Sal Restaurant, and we're glad that you accorded us the highest rating on the 'atmosphere' category.

However, we are more concerned on our shortfall of services as you'd encountered during your dining with us. Please accept our sincere apologies on this matter, as you'll understand this is not our standard at all. I've had further discussion with my colleagues here, to make further improvement on this aspect and ensuring all our guests leave with a memorable dining experience with us.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and please be so kind to contact me personally should you have the opportunity to dine with us again.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Serves your own free flow of a glass(es) of champagne,A Great way to starting my relaxing day ;) Breads are homemade and love the varieties of homemade jams as well

Thank Queeny_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Queeny_May,

We are truly glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for given us the highest rating for our La Sal Restaurant. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

With my best regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We dined at La Sal three times, each time having a different style dinner.

The first night, we had booked the La Luna dinner, where the staff set up your table away from the main restaurant and surround it with candles for an extremely romantic atmosphere. The La Luna is a set menu of 7 amazing courses with accompanying wines. I loved the little touches such as the bouquet of flowers, the menu printed with our names and the petits-four being presented in a little gift box (we had them when we got back home!). We were fortunate enough to have the most wonderful sunset that night, and it was honestly the highlight of our honeymoon.

The second night, we had a DIY barbecue on the beach. You have to book 24 hours in advance, and I think Casa del Mar should promote this service more as we only noticed by chance that they offered this. You choose your food in advance from a range of steaks, chicken and fish - we had red snapper, chicken satay (gorgeous!) and the mixed grill, along with chips and vegetable kebabs. The staff set up the barbecue for you, bring out the prepared food and leave you to it. Great fun!

The last night, we ate at the main La Sal restaurant. I had their signature prawn starter, which I highly recommend. All the food was lovely and the service was friendly and unassuming.

Definitely the best restaurant in Cenang, if not Langkawi. Well worth at least one visit here, especially for special occasions.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrsT28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Dirgette,

It is indeed heartened to receive such a great reviews and compliments from you on your dining experiences with us at La Sal Restaurant. Thank you for your kind words and recommendation as well, in which I'm proudly share with our team here.

Once again, thank you and with our best wishes from La Sal Restaurant crews,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We came without a reservation but the kind manager got us a table even though they were fully booked out. Very nice. Even though we weren't guests at the hotel everyone was smiling at us and making sure we were comfy.

After a drink, we were sat down at the beach under a coconut tree, lovely! We both ordered the 3-course menu, which allowed us to pick one started, one main, and one dessert.

I started with a crispy soft shell crab, and this was average, then continued on to the main which was a risotto with king prawns and other seafood. Now, this was the star of the evening. I've had many risottos around the world, but this was perhaps one of the most delicious. Every bite was heaven on my tastebuds and I had to finish it even though I was feeling extremely full already.

Dessert was panna cotta which was also lovely. Just the right texture. Partner was also very happy with his food - soup, steak and creme brulee.

Only gripe was the slow service, but since it comes with a smile, and we were on holiday, it was no matter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank licensed2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Licensed2Travel,

Thank you for your recent patronage of our La Sal Restaurant at Casa del Mar, Langkawi! We are delighted and pleased that both of you enjoyed your evening with us and your great reviews on our food is much appreciated!

Once again, we thank you and we hope we'll see both of you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sal at Casa Del Mar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to La Sal at Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing