We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”

La Sal at Casa Del Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: As expected on holiday, dining is a relaxed, quality experience at your Home by the Sea. Available Dining locations begin at the wine room adjacent the piano and library and continue through a covered patio out to our beach-side coconut grove. La Sal dining offers the best in Modern Asian and Western Cuisine with a focus on high quality fresh produce and is served by attentive and friendly staff. The bar offers a wide variety of wine from the old and new worlds. The cocktail list is exciting and innovative with themed cocktails around our magical sunset, pool side relaxation and post dinner period.
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here and decided to go for the 7 course dining on the beach experience for our final night in Langkawi. The weather had been a little changeable over the day but the staff still set us up on the beach with some shelter by the nearby Palm trees.

Firstly the food. I have eaten at many high class restaurants including during my stay in Malaysia and this was without doubt the best food I have had for quite some time. Every dish was superbly presented and there was a very good selection of wine to complement each dish. The lamb signature dish was exquisite and I also absolutely loved the king prawns served on salsa verde. Delicious.

The service was also superb, Soffian waited on us hand and foot. He was always careful to check our drinks were topped up and also not to rush between courses. Robert the food and beverage manager also came to check on us and was happy to chat which was very nice.

This place is truly an experience and is worth spending that bit more if you want a romantic setting to end a holiday.

The only word of warning with a serving of wine between courses my wife was a little tipsy by the end of the dinner but she absolutely loved it nonetheless.

1  Thank BlazeyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear BlazeyP,

From the crews at La Sal Restaurant, our heartfelt thank you to both of you for your fantastic reviews and highest recommendation given to us! We are delighted that both of you enjoyed your dining experience with us! Once again, thank you for sharing with us...

With our best wishes,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,070)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

417 - 421 of 1,070 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

Food isn't much to shout about. All the five stars you see here on tripadvisor are probably due to the ambience at sunset, which is probably the only pro of this place. We came here and was seated at a table next to the beach by a waiter. The (head?) waitress came up to (presumably) take our orders. She was incredibly rude and caustic.
Her: "You know we close at 10pm right?"
Me: "OK we'll be out of there by then"
Her: (Making toxic face) "OK, what do you want?"
Me: "Can I have a watermelon cooler and ..."
Her: (Cutting me off) "You know that this table is already booked by another customer right? He's showing up at 1030pm"
Me: "Ummm... didn't you just say you close at 10pm?"
Her: "Yes, we're keeping the restaurant open for them.."
Me: (Unsurprisingly perplexed) "Umm ... OK ..."

Long story short, if you're making such a great effort to get people to *leave* your restaurant, why sit them in the first place? If your waiter made a mistake, maybe it would've been better to take the matter up with them, instead of taking it out on your customers in with passive aggressiveness no? We were looking forward to coming here after the numerous positive reviews we read online, so it was quite a disappointment to be received in such a manner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank thetrystero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear thetrystero,

With first instance, please accept our sincere apologies in regards to our shortfall of services during your recent patronage of our La Sal Restaurant. We are deeply concerned on this matter as you'll understand these are not our standard of services at all, as proven and credited by our loyal fans reviews! I've had details discussion with my crew to address this matter immediately and with corrective measurement are in place.

Once again, please accept our apologies and we hope this one-off incident will not deter you from visit us again.

On behalf of crews at La Sal Restaurant,
Warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

A few bland dishes, but the Malaysian sharing platter is well worth a try. Absolutely delicious!

Afternoon tea is also great, especially while on the beach.

Thank WheresMyShirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear WheresMyShirt,

A big thank you from the crews of La Sal Restaurant for sharing your dining experiences with us and we are delighted to receive your approval and recommendation in return. Once again, thank you and with our warmest regards,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect location, on the beach. The food is fabulous, service attentive and friendly. A must do at Langkawi.

Thank mandrtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Mandrtravels,

From the crews at La Sal Restaurant, we thank you for your kind compliments and highest recommendation given to us. Once again, thank you for sharing your dining experience with us at La Sal Restaurant.

Warmest regards,
Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

The location is what sold us. We were strolling along the beach and this place just drew us in .
Amazing setting beachside all table with crisp white linen tablecloths and napkins . And a mild evening with a slight breeze .
Not to hot.
Well presented menu .
We opted for satay sticks for entree the chicken was nice and the salsa that was with it was fresh and flavoursome.
My partner ordered beef tenderloin on top of mash with beans .
I ordered chicken tika with lentils , potatoes
My partner said his steak was delicious. And cooked perfectly .
Mine was tasty also .
The only let down was that our drinks didn't arrive until we had almost finished our mains mane two or three mouthfuls to go . After asking three time about there where abouts. This was certainly a let down .
But we were not charged for them . I still would have liked to enjoy a drink with my meal .

Thank delishldish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-PatrickNg, General Manager at La Sal at Casa Del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear Delishldish,

Thank you for patronage, and your fantastic reviews especially on our served foods. We are delighted that both of you enjoyed your dining experience with us. We have taken note of the lateness in serving the beverages and rest assures we will address this matter with our staffs at La Sal Restaurant.

Once again, thank you and with our best wishes,

Patrick Ng
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Sal at Casa Del Mar also viewed

Langkawi, Langkawi District
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Pantai Tengah, Langkawi
 
Langkawi, Langkawi District
Langkawi, Langkawi District
 

Been to La Sal at Casa Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing