We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, inexpensive, walk right to the beach”
Review of White Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Lodge Motel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From Georgetown, it's a 2-3 hr. ferry ride to Langkawi. If you are visting Penang, this is a highlight not to be missed. From the ferry dock, it's a 40 min. taxi ride to this resort area. (Ask what the fare will be...the rate wasn't dirt cheap, but reasonable for 3 people. The roads are new and condo development is soon to happen so go within the next couple of years. White Lodge is tucked away off the main street so it was a little difficult for the taxi driver to find. Eateries and the beaches are 5-7 mins. away - it's an easy walk. Lodge owner was very gracious and there was no problem getting into the room when we arrived. We booked via the internet a couple of days ahead - $38/night for a large, clean room with fridge + coffee maker. Make sure to take the Geopark tour. Check around and take the tour that lasts about 6 hrs, lunch incl. Other Geopark tours were 3-4 hrs, no lunch and the same price. Shuttle picks you up at the lodge.

Room Tip: learn a few Malay words, smile and be gracious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 182 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

From the moment we arrived here the staff were great with us. We arrived early but were allowed to check in straight away, they also gave us tips about where to go and how to book our onward journey. There is a very secluded beach just opposite the hotel which we would never have found without the help of the staff- it is much more beautiful than the main beach at Pantai Cenang. The room was a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A fab little location in a quiet, quaint setting with only a few little chalets. A stroll away from the beach and the main resort with beautiful beach in the day and fun, lively feel at night. Our room would have been fab but basic but VERY disappointingly our third bed was merely a 'yoga' mat on the floor! EXTREMELY uncomfortable and I had to put up a big fight just to get another 'yoga' mat to attempt to make it halfway comfortable. The poor guy on reception was bothered about getting into trouble with his boss and wanted me to sort it in the morning but I was not prepared to sleep for even one night on the thin foam 'matress'. I understand that we paid next to nothing to have a third bed but I would have happily paid more to have had a proper bed! - There was plenty of room for it in our room. It seemed strange to have a superior room with a less than adequate third bed option. I think they would be better off not offering a triple room option. The shower was also disappointingly cold. Breakfast at the Red Tomato is a great option and a nearby supermarket was fab for cold drinks etc.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bronzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights.
Overall it's a good place to stay if you're on a budget and don't need a pool.
Hotel location is decent despite not being on the beachfront - it only takes 5-10 mins to walk to either beach, and being away from the road means that it is really quiet at night.
Our room (#17) was large, had A/C, bed was huge (but firm, good for the back but a bit too hard if you sleep on your side), bathroom was decent size for budget accom. Not a lot of natural light though, and a quiet night depends a bit on your neighbours.
Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. And the room was serviced daily.
Interestingly we seemed to have a resident toad who could squeeze under the door and returned to the room despite regularly expelling the little fella!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank grantosphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We liked the proximity to the beach, the bars and stalls,
The best French coffee place is a short stroll away, la Chocolatine ,
With all home made croissants,
Then in the evenings go to Oasis bar to watch the sunset over the sea,

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poloin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Maybe i expect more from this motel. Anyway, it's cheap compared to other hotels. Maybe this is what i can get with the price.
Although it's near to the beach, personally i think if you want the one really on the beach, maybe you can try AB motel or Malibest. But i don't try AB motel and malibest yet, so can't compared for the moment.
It's raining season for the moment. So coincidently there was a thunder striking the morning we reached. No wi-fi for the three-day staying.
I think they could provide more towels, as there would be sands on the floor especially after the first day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eliz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Loved this place. Set back on the opposite side of the road from the beach if is extremely quiet, rooms are clean and spacious. Free wifi - only rooms closest to reception will get to use Internet in their rooms, air con, tv, daily maid service. Great value for money and five mind from the beach. Lots of restaurants and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snibbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
511 reviews
0.1 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
1.0 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Motel

Address: Jalan Pentai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £29 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your White Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Pantai Cenang
White Lodge Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing