We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort”
Review of White Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
White Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“comfort”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

nice place to stay,, good rate,, good servis,, willing to come again

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azimat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    126
    65
    20
    7
See reviews for
58
102
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Location
Motel is located on the Pantay Chenang beach behind the road very close to Underwater world (300-400 meters). The hotel territory likes a triangle with chalets on 2 sides and studio under reception on the 3rd. Very quit green small territory. The new construction between the road and the hotel is not visible from the hotel. Works there are very slow (2-nd floor started). No any discomfort.
The nearest beach is in 400 meters. Just cross the road and go straight through the territory of other motels. The beach is sandy. A little beet dirty what is depends on the sea tranquility. No chairs on the beach. The option is to buy bedding in tourist shop and use this in time of ebb. When flooded sand is covered by sea and no place to lie. For me best time for swimming is ebb time. Water is low, the sea floor is flat and waves are small. Behind waves sea is quite. More comfortable beach located behind the Underwater world (take from the right side of the building).
Room
The difference between deluxe and superior rooms is in condition of the room. First was constructed earlier and has old furniture, lamp TV. Second are new constructed and now are fresh. I’ve booked deluxe room but when arrived decided to change to superior. Difference is 30 RM a day.
As this is my first experienced in 2 star I’m a little bit captious. Room is large enough for 2 persons with very good wide & tough king bed; air condition ;small desk with mirror, flat 22”TV with 2-3 Malaysian channels; no sat; small quit refrigerator; tea table with kettle, 2 cups & 2 glasses, tea spoons; very small musty clothes locker with wire hangers. Sound proofing is poor. No place to dry clothes except of 3 chairs.
Bathroom is large enough. Shower installed rigidly on the wall; personal water heater; small wash basin, bowl with shower. No shelf, small shelf for bath sponge only . Shampoo was kept on the floor.
The small terrace in front of the chalet with 2 chairs with no table for superior room (deluxe has one).
Room is supplied with toilet paper, soap, daily coffee 3-in-1. Towels are changed daily (only 2 bath towels). Bed sheets in good condition (more probably daily change). Daily cleaning.
Internet connection is very poor. Every 2-3 minutes you need to repair this. Very often is out of service.
As for me I had very good stay. Nothing prevents me to relax. A lot of cafes around.
Prices
Exchange rate in Langkawi is higher that in KL airport (2.87 vs. 2.82 for US$)
Taxi from airport is RM20, to Kuah town is RM24; laundry costs RM4-6 per kg (w/o ironing); 1 liter if Chivas Regal 12 yo is RM65; 0,33 of Carlsberg is RM1,60; massages are quit expensive comparing to Thailand and Bali, is approx. RM80; Rent a car with automatic gear is RM80 (low season), petrol is RM2/litre.
Weather in September 2011. Rain is 1,5 days from 8. Some rains in other days despite that forecast was terrible. Very comfortable season.
Tips
Bring coffee with you. Nescafe classic and 3-in-1 are available in local shops only, fumigator and cord to dry clothes are desirable. Plug adapter, umbrella are available at reception. Yogurts are available in beach duty free. To get to the fruit shop turn the left from the hotel by main street.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Kolyasik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Really pleased to have found this motel after reading other reports here on Trip Advisor. I stayed for 4 nights in one of their Deluxe rooms, which was very clean, a comfortable bed and well equipped room. Nice TV, although no International channels present in English. Useful to have a fridge to put in your own provisions, a nice touch! Bathroom big with a powerful shower. The resort is in a nice secluded location and the path up to it is well lit at night, feels safe and is only around a 2 or 3 minute walk to the main street. A really great place to stay. Rates can be quite high (compared to other nearby places) depending on season, however this is probably one of the best motels in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loyalty-Club
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

From Georgetown, it's a 2-3 hr. ferry ride to Langkawi. If you are visting Penang, this is a highlight not to be missed. From the ferry dock, it's a 40 min. taxi ride to this resort area. (Ask what the fare will be...the rate wasn't dirt cheap, but reasonable for 3 people. The roads are new and condo development is soon to happen so go within the next couple of years. White Lodge is tucked away off the main street so it was a little difficult for the taxi driver to find. Eateries and the beaches are 5-7 mins. away - it's an easy walk. Lodge owner was very gracious and there was no problem getting into the room when we arrived. We booked via the internet a couple of days ahead - $38/night for a large, clean room with fridge + coffee maker. Make sure to take the Geopark tour. Check around and take the tour that lasts about 6 hrs, lunch incl. Other Geopark tours were 3-4 hrs, no lunch and the same price. Shuttle picks you up at the lodge.

Room Tip: learn a few Malay words, smile and be gracious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

From the moment we arrived here the staff were great with us. We arrived early but were allowed to check in straight away, they also gave us tips about where to go and how to book our onward journey. There is a very secluded beach just opposite the hotel which we would never have found without the help of the staff- it is much more beautiful than the main beach at Pantai Cenang. The room was a good size and very clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

A fab little location in a quiet, quaint setting with only a few little chalets. A stroll away from the beach and the main resort with beautiful beach in the day and fun, lively feel at night. Our room would have been fab but basic but VERY disappointingly our third bed was merely a 'yoga' mat on the floor! EXTREMELY uncomfortable and I had to put up a big fight just to get another 'yoga' mat to attempt to make it halfway comfortable. The poor guy on reception was bothered about getting into trouble with his boss and wanted me to sort it in the morning but I was not prepared to sleep for even one night on the thin foam 'matress'. I understand that we paid next to nothing to have a third bed but I would have happily paid more to have had a proper bed! - There was plenty of room for it in our room. It seemed strange to have a superior room with a less than adequate third bed option. I think they would be better off not offering a triple room option. The shower was also disappointingly cold. Breakfast at the Red Tomato is a great option and a nearby supermarket was fab for cold drinks etc.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bronzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for 4 nights.
Overall it's a good place to stay if you're on a budget and don't need a pool.
Hotel location is decent despite not being on the beachfront - it only takes 5-10 mins to walk to either beach, and being away from the road means that it is really quiet at night.
Our room (#17) was large, had A/C, bed was huge (but firm, good for the back but a bit too hard if you sleep on your side), bathroom was decent size for budget accom. Not a lot of natural light though, and a quiet night depends a bit on your neighbours.
Staff were excellent - friendly and helpful. And the room was serviced daily.
Interestingly we seemed to have a resident toad who could squeeze under the door and returned to the room despite regularly expelling the little fella!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grantosphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
8.0 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort
Sunset Beach Resort
#4 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Motel

Property: White Lodge Motel
Address: Jalan Pentai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — White Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your White Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Pantai Cenang
White Lodge Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing