We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of White Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Lodge Motel
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed from 19-22/7/14 overall we have a pleasant stay here. Wifi was fast the garden was nice. Just within walking distance to the beach. Rooms are cleaned everyday. Staff service was good. Will recommend to others and stay here again if we're back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank pinkpinkpinkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for White Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We prebooked this hotel beforehand and chose to stay the second half of our holiday here and the first half of the holiday in Tengah, so we could see what it was like to spend time on both beaches.
It can be quite difficult to find this hotel due to the entry being a lane through a construction site. Although, the location is actually quite good and central.
We payed more to have one of the more superior/modern rooms. The chalet style buildings are very dark, even when all the curtains are opened. The walls and windows etc are very thin so you can hear neighbours, stray cats etc very loudly.
There was a storm nearly every night of our holiday in Langkawi and although, we had barely heard it in the Tengah chalet we stayed in, here it sounded so bad that it always disturbed our sleep. The wind whistles through the large gap under the door and through the bathroom window so the bathroom door (which couldnt be shut tight) slams open and shut constantly and the rain on the roof is extremely loud.
The room wasnt cleaned to a good standard. When we checked in the drain in the bathroom was full of hair and we couldnt put things on the shelf in the wardrobe as you could write your name in the thickness of the dust. Our front door had two large spiders nests on the front of it that were clearly visable but had not been removed.
Even though the cleaners came in to our room a few times through our stay, they never cleaned these areas and only seemed to empty the bin. We had moved here from a cheaper hotel where we spent our first half of the holiday and wished we could have gone back there.
Plus points for this hotel are location and friendly reception staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nata1ie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

It is a clean and basic Motel.We were given new rooms next to the huge field.Before we booked we we had the impression that it was near the beach but you have to walk to the main road and cross the road and walk more.We hired a car when we arrived and I think this is the best way to explore the island. Langkawi is a beautiful island with plenty of things to do..

Room Tip: Old rooms have a big garden new rooms next to the big field.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustinK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

White Lodge is decent value for money, considering the price of other properties that are not as well maintained. The reviewers on here that state it is a 10 minute walk to the beach were clearly walking in zig-zags, as it is only a few minutes' stroll away. Ok, there is building work going on in front of the hotel, but you cannot hear it, nor does it impede your view from your chalet. We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 year old and were very happy with our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mateysgirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The room was a "u get what u paid for" room but this gets 2 stars because of the horrible attitude of the owner towards us when we were there. It was astounding how any hotel owner would treat his guests the way he did.

But first, an honest review of the hotel premises and the room. The hotel isn't easy very to find as u have to enter through a small road beside a a building under construction. Location was ok, since there r restaurants nearby; but while its address says Pantai Cenang, it is *not on the beach. To get to the beach : cross the road, and walk through the small paths between some of the motels/ restaurants and u'll see it. Not difficult to get to tho. We booked a room here because it was inexpensive and looked decent from the pictures. But the room we got was not the ones that are shown in the pictures here.. it had poor lighting and very little sunlight coming through the windows. The bathroom was new and clean but the shower (which did not have curtain or divider) was right beside the toilet paper holder so our toilet paper got drenched on our first night.

The bed was hard as marble and there was still water left by the previous guest in our water boiler. TV (as another reviewer mentioned) only had 4 or 5 channels and aired local programming most of the time.

As i've mentioned that the bed was hard as marble, we obviously did not get a good night's sleep. By the second night, the lack of sleep from the first night coupled by the day's activities and another night of poor sleep quality, we were exhausted. My partner went to the reception to complain to the owner abt the horrible bed quality and to our astonishment, the owner not only got defensive but confrontational. It soon boiled into an argument and then---the owner walks out from the behind the counter and stands chest to chest with my partner, staring at him in the eye the entire time---. WHO DOES THAT TO A CUSTOMER WHO WAS COMPLAINING ABOUT A FREAKISHLY HARD BED? He was smiling in a condescending and threatening way the entire time and saying "my hands are still behind me".

This was an incident that happened more than a year ago, but as u can tell, it is still very fresh in our minds and disgusting to say the least. We have travelled to many places all over the world and stayed in all kinds of hotels, both cheap and expensive and NEVER have we encountered an owner who would treat ANY customer the way he did. Absolutely HORRIBLE.

Room Tip: Stay in another hotel where they will treat you like u matter
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank catspyjamaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is NOT on the beach. I was under the impression that it was either at the beach or close enough to get the sea breeze. Neither is the case. It is across the main street of Pantai Cenang, and behind the row of buildings facing the street. So, the walk to the beach from our room was at least 500mt, about a 15 min walk.
The room was clean and the bed comfortable, and it had hot water and wifi, and free water and a refill station at reception, and a fridge. The TV didn't have any English channels and poor reception. Breakfast is not included, which we prefer, as it allows us to have our fruit in the mornings.
The main thing we didn't like about it was the location, behind a construction site, and too far from the ocean. It did not get any sea breeze, and therefore was very hot, so to be comfortable you had to be inside the room with the air conditioning on. We prefer to sit out side in the evenings when we come home from a day out.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

First of all, this is a cheap hotel so do not expect any luxury. That said the staff are very friendly and helpful. After a long day at the beach they arranged a shower for us to wash up before going home.
The entrance to the motel is very dodgy and it does not look very nice, however the garden where the rooms are placed are very nice and there is no noise from any bars or street.

Rooms were nice and clean, but very basic. We stayed 3 tall and big guys in one room (1 single + 1 double bed). Bathroom was ok, but nothing more than that.

The motel is very close to the beach and restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
7.1 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
8.5 mi away
Bayview Hotel Langkawi
0.4 mi away
Tropical Resort
Tropical Resort
#1 of 3 in Pantai Tengah
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Adya Hotel Langkawi
Adya Hotel Langkawi
#1 of 17 in Kuah
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
favehotel Cenang Beach - Langkawi
1.0 mi away
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Motel

Address: Jalan Pentai Tengah, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £30 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — White Lodge Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your White Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Pantai Cenang
White Lodge Motel Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing