We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice surroundings, average food”
Review of Putumayo

Putumayo
Cuisines: Chinese, Fusion, Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Situated in Pantai Cenang,the resort centre of Langkawi.We specialize in Asian Fusion and fine Chinese Seafood cuisine.Our menu is varied,you can enjoy live seafood dishes freshly made daily for lunch and dinner. From live lobster to fresh seafood cooked to your taste,we cater to your needs.Our facility can also accommodate parties, both indoor and outdoor.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice surroundings, average food”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This place was recommended by the lonely planet guide, so we gave it a go. The surroundings were lovely and the service was good but the food we had was a bit disappointing. I ordered a fish curry and it was SO SALTY. And I like salty food. Other food may be better so perhaps worth a go.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    179
    75
    38
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had dinner here on 2 evenings of our 3 evenings that we were here in langkawi. The food is fantastic and couldn't fault it once and service was also good and I would highly recommend this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali-TheTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KNP
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Had fried fish and noodles...however...fish was quite good and well cooked with very delicious sauce...noodles however was not that great....suprisingly a simple lime juice was better than my 5 star resort, i was staying at......:)

Helpful?
1 Thank fahadahsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Quality food and good service”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Really nice food, simple menus and excellent value. Very nice surroundings and atmosphere. Uncomplicated but what it serves is quality.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LenandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing!!”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Myself and my wife went to this restaurant hoping it would live up to some of the reviews. Unfortunately the food was very poor and pretty tasteless. The restaurant itself looked pretty clean and was well laid out and decorated. The menu was simple and looked appealing. We had chicken satay to start and I must admit the price had me worried to begin with - at RM10 we should have known it was not going to be all chicken breast - instead it was like a chicken kebab skewer made up all all various chicken parts. We barely touched it. For our main we had Sesame Prawn and Sizzling beef with rice - the prawns (x4) came shelled and the sauce was not good. The beef dish was also poor and the sauce tasted like packet sauce- again pretty tasteless.

We did notice other people in the restaurant seemed to enjoy their food so maybe we just ordered the wrong thing. I can honestly say this restaurant is in my top 10 worst of all time and sadly will remember it for that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jayzilla2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Putumayo also viewed

 

Been to Putumayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing