We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Cheap”
Review of Cenang Rest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cenang Rest House
Reviewed 7 December 2013

the appropriate location, the room was ok, front door parking only .. feel more secure and swiming pool 24 hours, laundry facilities, as well as hospitality of the staff there, the hotel also manage our activities, Kahuna cafe that serves food very tasty and reasonable price, our holiday full of meaning and away from home .. ideal for family and group vacation because the hotel offers its own travel services. jai everything so much easier ..

Do not expect 5 star service like because you pay a cheap price, and service on offer here is very satisfying for the middle class.

Room Tip: rooms at the beach site or bungalow is more better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faezmahmud36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

First of all, I want to make clear that my journey was a low budget one and that I am used to bad accomondations. For me it is something to cope and live with if you have not that much money you can spend.
Cenang Resthouse was disappointing because of the so-called service. All of those who "worked" there were VERY unfriendly. Once I asked for the pool they are advertising with in front of the resthouse (with pictures!). The guy told me that he had to charge me for using the pool and that it's only free for those guests with rooms which are 5 Ringit more expensive. If I hadn't paid the room in advance I would have departed immediately.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frauwup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The 5 nights stay at Cenang Rest House was okay. Air conditioning is functioning well even though there is water dripping sometimes. It is next to Babylon bar which is sooo crowded at night that you can hear free loud music when your sleeping. The saddest thing for this trip was the water shortage throughout Pantai Cenang and Pantai Tengah. We gave the location a 5 because all the shops, stalls, marts are just within walking distance with this motel and of course it is by the beach side. You have to pay for room cleaning service. Cleanliness a 3 because the room is not as clean as what we thought it would be. Service a 2 because we believe that service provider should have prepared water for emergencies.. And you have to keep reminding the manager that they have agreed to give discount for your stay or else you'll be charged the normal room rates. We were charged RM85 per night. In overall, service wasn't that satisfactory but in terms of location its superb.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoiNoi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed at the Cenang Rest House just one night, the Rooms are very basic, no view, no Pool although they show one in the 1. picture? Staff not very friendly and welcoming, accommodating, hot water not working. 95 Ringgit a night not worth it better values to be found.

The Beach nearby is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank leo888_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We booked a family room for 4 as all were full (we booked the room online) it was facing the beach but no heater and below basic amenities and it was very noisy ourside.. we asked for a room change and got one in the new building but one can hear everything that happens outside the room, very very soft bed and very flimsy curtains (easily outside people can view into your room) good for backpackers but not families..

Room Tip: The new building rooms are better in terms of safety and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZMB_1428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

The rest house is along Jalan Pantai Cenang, and relatively easy to spot. There's limited area to park that is shared with residents at the neighbouring motel, but you can easily park along the roadside and walk down. Reception area reminded me of a laundromat, with huge stacks of fresh-smelling laundry being folded there when I walked in. I'd booked and paid online so check-in was barely a few seconds with just being handed the key.

I stayed in the family room, which is opposite an outdoor local restaurant. The restaurant was closed on that day, so we had no complaints about sound. The beach is just around the corner from the room, although the room does not face the ocean.

Room was relatively large, with two double beds and an extra mattress rolled in a corner if needed. A small television is also available in the corner, but we didn't use it as the beach is much more entertaining! Bathroom was very basic, with a shower and a toilet. There was no sink, just a pipe with a rubber hose next to the toilet for your washing needs. Bathroom door lock wasn't working, so we had to improvise by putting something in front of the door to keep it shut. Only two towels were provided even though the family room is supposed to house 4 persons. Room is air-conditioned, not too cold though.

Overall, the room is, as depicted in the name, nothing more than a house for resting, and not a hotel. As long as you are aware and okay with this, then you will be relatively satisfied with your stay - a bed to sleep on and a bathroom to keep yourself clean. Location-wise, it's excellent for your night strolls on the beach. There is a beach club nearby and a lot of people taking night strolls until the wee hours, so it's quite safe being less than a few steps away. The night stalls and plenty of eateries along Jalan Pantai Cenang are all within walking distance, so again, plus points for convenience.

Also, I didn't notice any swimming pool nearby, even though it's being shown on the picture here ?

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IzzyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

we check in on 22nd December 2012 about 2.30pm for 2 person, rm95/new room. We paid the balance amount of room rate and went to the room. sadly the room yet to be cleaned up with messy room. We have had asked do they provide clean towels and they say they will.

we decide to leave the room key at the receptionist so that they can do the housekeeping and we went out for shopping. about 10.30 we went back to the rest house, took the room key from receptionist and straight went back to the room. again sadly we found that no towel provided but the room is already cleaned up. we asked the receptionist and the receptionist said she didnt know anything because she only start working from 6pm. she didnt even try to look up new n fresh towel and let us nagging and didnt do anything.

finally we have to buy a towel for ourself rm25. who's gonna pay for that?

Room Tip: chalet near to the beach and beside the main road, please find room near beach because its quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soulvacation01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pantai Cenang hotels
0.2 mi away
The Cottage Langkawi
The Cottage Langkawi
#9 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
140 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Crowded House
The Crowded House
#4 of 25 in Pantai Cenang
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pondok Muara Chalet
Pondok Muara Chalet
#13 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boxpackers Langkawi
Boxpackers Langkawi
#10 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
11 reviews
0 mi away
Bohok Guesthouse
Bohok Guesthouse
#8 of 43 in Pantai Cenang
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mali Mali Beach Resort
Mali Mali Beach Resort
#12 of 25 in Pantai Cenang
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cenang Rest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cenang Rest House

Address: Jalan Pantai Cenang | Pantai Cenang, Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 Speciality Lodging in Pantai Cenang
Price Range: £12 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cenang Rest House 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cenang Rest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cenang Rest House Langkawi/Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing