We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Vibrant atmosphere - sea and lush garden"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Certificate of Excellence
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“"Vibrant atmosphere - sea and lush garden"”
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Undecided on which hotel to enjoy our 10 days in Langkawi, we split 5 days each between the Meritus Pelangi and another hotel at a different beach. This resort is ideal for folks who relish vibrancy, sea-sport activities and a colourful holiday experience; 2 large pools, long stretch of clean sandy beach, award winning landscape, several restaurants, friendly staff, and close proximity to shopping and eateries. There is a cultural show during the popular BBQ dinner by the beach,. However, 2 restaurants are under renovation. The Ramadan buffet dinner is great value at RM40.00 per person. Finding the lake view room on the ground level not appealing enough, we moved to the upper level which is pleasanter. We certainly enjoy the energetic holiday vibes, and recommend it, esp. to families.

By Chue Peng and Jeremy Savill
Malaysia/UK

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Seetohchuepeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,978 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,864
    1,371
    432
    181
    130
See reviews for
1,279
1,618
87
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (889)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
italy
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

this hotel is really a paradise and deserves its 5 stars. We were upgraded upon arrival to chalet so we had a very big room in a very nice part of the resort not far from the reception.
Only a few things should be changed : breakfast is very poor and very expensive ( 65 ringgit per person), the air conditioning is very noisy and sometimes you have to choose between sleeping or suffer from heat. No free internet connection, unless you have yr own Notebook.
TV set very old and not so many programmes for a foreign tourist.On the whole, a paradise near a beautiful sea with a wonderful beach.There are children attractions and a few swimming pools. Bar is expensive.. a beer costs about 35 ringgits, where outside you can buy in any shop for less than 2 ringgits, or drink in a bar for about 10 ringgits.If I were the property, I would at once reduce the price of breakfast and try to make it much better for quality.A normal breakfast outside costs no more than 15 ringgits.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astraitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

ok, i rad all the reviews too but i think people are being too picky. we were thinking of going to Berjaya. thank god we didnt. its miles from anything. Stay in pantai cenang trust me. we got upgraded when we arrived to a lakeview. the room was very average, their was gap in frame of front door which Im sure would of let a lot of mosquitos in. the bathroom was average and the lake is pretty average looking so we actually asked to be moved back to a garden view. hotel had no problems with this and this room was better. Still dated and need upgrading but no gaps in door frames, had separate shower and toilet. TV worked. nice little veranda overlooking walkways and garden beds which are perfectly maintained. Room was actually in better location as nearer lobby, pool, taxi rack and main street so less of a walk to restaurants etc..SO DONT PAY FOR AN UPGRADE UNLESS A POOL VIEW OR BEACH VIEW ROOM. the rooms were cleaned every day by a lovely cleaning lady. the towels replaced always. complimentary waters. bed done. Yes i think there may be lizards around and there are some strange noises in the roof at night and some droppings around outside the room and on the veranda but it didnt really upset us too much. the grounds and the pools are excellent - especially the pools, just beautiful and they are opened till 11pm which is amazing. its so refreshing to be able to swim at night after being walking around in the evening and sweating. there are singers in the lobby at night till about midnight I think. but we were close to lobby and we didnt even hear it once in our room. We didnt get breakfast in our agoda package but that didnt matter. we walked out onto the street about 10 minutes away and had pancakes, tea coffee at the breakfast bar cafe, or bacon, sausages eggs juice and tea at the pizza cafe (cant remember name but very small place). These cost us about 22 MYR for 2 people, Who wants to pay 90MYR for 2 people for american breakfast at the hotel. So to sum up, yes the rooms are a bit dated, probably around 3star, but the grounds and pools are 5 star. if you want no noise, no atmosphere and tiny pool with no kids go to a boutique hotel like casa del mar which will cost you a lot more (that is right next to Meritus and looked nice but also looked dead). Anyway I didnt see any kids creating any havoc at anytime in Meritus because the pools are massive. Have breakfast outside the hotel if money is an issue, We found nice little cafe called ROSE TEA I think. Great food, friendly, so cheap (about 50MYR for most meals including drinks) and no dodgy stomach aches. We also splashed out (about 150 MYR for fresh lobster, snapper, rice and 4 beers) at chinese restaurant called ORCHID i think. On last night we went western food and so had dinner on the beach at YELLOW CAFE - I had steak and partner had fish and both were perfectly cooked. great views. (once again about 120MYR) Cable car is nice and seven wells which you walk to from oriental village is nice too.. we went to Kuah but I wouldnt bother to be honest. we went to great spa called arun arun i think. bit more expensive but great. heres a tip, dont get shiatsu massage at any of the thai massage places. they stand on your back and im sure they put their entire weight on your back so it seems like they do not know how to do it properly. very dangerous. have a lovely time

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Onlyfools24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed 10 nights at Meritus Pelangi. Before we were due to leave England we were advised that there was building work going on. On arrival, reception was in a temporary location due to the building works but we were seen to straight away and waited about 20 minutes until our room was ready.

We had a lakeside room which was a wooden chalet with a stilted veranda on the lake and my first impression confirmed the reviews we’d read, it needed updating and modernising. That said it was comfortable with a bed big enough for 4 people! We had a couple of house lizards in the room and a few ants but no issues with mosquitos. There is an electronic repellent provided. We were also fortunate to see the resident monitor lizard and otter on the lake.

The facilities on the resort were great. The pool is huge and we never struggled to get a bed, none of this getting up at 6am to put your towel down, though can’t comment on what it is like in peak season. There is a gym, squash courts and bicycle hire, though we didn’t try them. The views and sunsets from the beach are stunning. We were there at the start of the monsoon season and saw some fantastic storms whilst relaxing on our veranda.

The staff were really friendly and would always stop to see if you were ok or give you a lift on the golf buggy, especially when it was raining. We only had one evening meal in the hotel which was a BBQ buffet. Cost about £25 each which compared to Cenang town wasn’t cheap but the food was lovely and there was lots of choice. Pool bar also does great food during the day.

The hotel is in a perfect location, 5 minute walk into Cenang with lots of shops and restaurants. We found a great little shop selling wine for about £5 compared to £20 in the hotel. Tiger beer was also about 50p compared to roughly £4 in the mini bar.

Not all restaurants serve alcohol but of those that do, prices are somewhere in between the hotel and the shop price. Cenang has lots of restaurants to choose from. Personally recommend Orchid Ria, a great Chinese seafood restaurant and also Red Sky, it’s a bit of a walk but great happy hour prices and great fajitas for when you want a break from rice dishes. Yellow café is also great.
.
Bar wise, Babylon was our favourite. Funky beach bar, everything made out of reclaimed materials. Great cocktails, great music and really chilled.

Concierge staff were great at arranging tours. Recommend the Mangrove tour, stunning scenery and our tour guide Haddi was very passionate and knowledgeable. We saw all sorts of wildlife, bats; monkeys; fish; crabs and even a couple of vipers!

The building work at Meritus is going on until November but we didn’t notice any impact on our stay and all the improvements are just going to make this resort more perfect. Great place, will definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonkeyHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We were rather disappointed with our stay here after putting a lot of time and effort into choosing a hotel. The location is great, but I came across much nicer hotels for similar prices while we were exploring the island. Our room was nice enough, but the main problem was noise. Incredibly loud music with thumping bass pumps from the hotel bar area until the early hours of the morning. My sister and I struggled to sleep every night - it got so bad that we eventually had to take sleeping pills to be able to get some rest! There was no breakfast included in our room price which i thought was a rip off given how pricey the rooms are, and towels were not changed, even when they were sopping wet and left on the floor. The cocktails were very pricey and absolutely awful, so I wouldnt recommend wasting your money on those.

Over all this is an average resort, not 5 star!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Was determined not to be biased by the past reviews of this hotel. But the minute we stepped into the room, my apprehension was confirmed. Firstly, the small pillows smelled as if the pillowcases had never been changed. Ever! It reeked of sweat. I can overlook the fact that there is rust along the bath tub's tiling or that there was hair on the floor but the smelly pillowcases...
Then, when other hotels leave chocolate mints on your bed at night, we opened the bed covers to find lizard droppings. One can overlook the fact that the hotel is dated but for it to have its cleanliness slipping, one wonders how this hotel justifies its's 5 star rating.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Hello,

I spent 6 nights to this hotel. The view is nice and you have a private beach and two swimming pool.
The bungalow is good but a little small for a five stars.
you have also activities from the hotel directly like jet sky, banana boat, parasailing, etc
you can have also cruise short or long. For example you can take a ferry to go to thailland. Not needed to go to an other place to find activities and the price is almost the same.
The main problem in this hotel is the extra cost.
Becarfull you don't have the free wifi and only 6 channel at the tv (don't forget that sometimes it is raining a lot, and it is good if you have to stay in the room)
If you want VOD one movie is arround 28 rm (7 eur), the wifi is 50rm per day (12,5eur). It is really expensive and not normal.
The restaurant is aslo expensive for the area (for 4 persons arround 300rm 75 eur for only a main plat and fresh juice)
The other activities are also very expensive (tennis, squash, bike rental) etc...
We had a problem with the bathroom (a leak coming fron upstairs) and the maintenance team arrived 1h after the first call and i had to call them 4 times (in compensation we gave me the wifi for free suring all my stay)
In conclusion, this hotel is good for extranal activities, and the view. For the lunch the diner you have to go outside (good place like The mexican, red tomato etc.. )
If you don't care about wifi during your vacation no problem too, otherwise better to have a sim card and to use it (otherwise go to te lobby for exceptionnal zapping)
Good place, but i think it should not be a 5 stars hotel, but more 3 or 4 , means a little expensive compare to the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakarta_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pantai Cenang
6.0 mi away
Berjaya Langkawi Resort - Malaysia
5.4 mi away
The Danna Langkawi, Malaysia
9.5 mi away
The Andaman, A Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Tanjung Rhu Resort
Tanjung Rhu Resort
#8 of 104 in Langkawi
1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
Casa del Mar, Langkawi
#1 of 16 in Pantai Cenang
2,342 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Datai Langkawi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi

Property: Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi
Address: Pantai Cenang, Langkawi 07000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Kedah > Langkawi District > Langkawi > Pantai Cenang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Pantai Cenang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi 5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the style of a traditional Malay village, Meritus Pelangi's 355 guestrooms and suites are housed in wooden chalets that are spread across 35 acres of lush landscaped gardens along a stretch of white sandy shores. Be ushered into a world of ethnic charm and tropical tranquility at this award-winning resort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Hotel Pantai Cenang
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort And Spa, Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Pelangi Beach Resort Langkawi
Meritus Pelangi Beach Resort & Spa, Langkawi Pantai Cenang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing